We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Vermont, great golf package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were very pleased with our vacation at the Essex. It is so quaint, and also very friendly. The grounds are lovely, the golf is across the street and they let you go there with a borrowed golf cart. The bonfire every Sat. night, the close proximity to Burlington Church Street and the Marina - the shopping outlets are walking distance, and there is a movie theater also walking distance to the Essex. Many activities and spa features but all at an extra price. It was very peaceful. The rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slovakianchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for one night September 1st in 'The Mansion'. Loved the clay tennis courts that you can play on any time they're aren't lessions going on. Also enjoyed the lap pool and outdoor hot tub. The staff was great and I slept really well. Desserts in the lobby are awesome and well priced. They will pack them to go as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We enjoyed a very relaxing week at The Essex and plan to return next year. The staff are uniformly friendly and helpful, our suite was very comfortable, the food at Amuse is creative and delicious, and there are amenities for everyone - pools and hot tub, hammocks for lounging and reading, tennis, a spa, golf, and on and on. We did not use the spa or take a cooking class, but we likely would have if we had stayed longer. There is a shopping centre with cinemas nearby if you are looking to take in a movie. Mornings were quiet, for those of us who like to sleep in, and you can get breakfast late - heaven!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I got the room for $128 off hotwire. For that price it was pretty nice. Everything was very clean. The grounds are pretty. The furnishings in the rooms and molding and carpeting could use a little updating. The front desk staff was nice. The cookies and lemonade in the lounge were delightful and on Friday one of the chefs was making peach crepes in the lobby which were incredible.

As per some of the other reviews, I asked on check-in if I could have a room with a newer mattress and the front desk changed the room I was supposed to be in. The mattress was very very soft, but I like that so I slept well.

All good so far. Then things started getting pricey. Spa prices were very expensive, I didn't see any discount for guests nor did the spa tell us of one. After a long day my fiance and I split a burger, salad, and beer in the tavern - $30 for so so food. It would have been nice if the server told us there was a split plate charge, because we would have been fine eating off each other's plates. The next night we skipped the tavern food but brought drinks back to our room - of course the bartender chose to use top shelf liquor. Then we rented a late night movie - Bridesmaids - $17.99. We also got the opera cake from the lobby which looked great and wasn't overpriced but also wasn't worth it - highly disappointing.

We were about a 15 minute drive from Burlington. I would only stay here again if I could get the room for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICanBeCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Lots to do in the area, but also a great place to just relax and do nothing. The spa is fantastic, I highly recommend it. The food at both restaurants was fantastic. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. I loved the set up of the Resort. It was just a perfect 4 days.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the outdoor pool which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotdotdash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

the customer service was great. It was clean and our room was spacious. The hot tub and pools were very nice. We got a deal on the room, and thought it was worth every penny - had a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne_baal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Well we were given a room on the third floor of the mansion. The air conditioner just blew air not in the least bit cool. We opened the window, sweat all night. We mentioned it at the main desk, within a few minutes a plumber said it was all frozen up. He got it working. Then it started making really loud noises. They then upgraded our room (which was very spacious and gorgous! They said that it was a major job to fix the noise. I called down to the desk a few hours later because I hed lost my glasses. They said they couldn't check the old room because it was rented to someone else! Needless to say I found my glasses. Done with the negative, The conference and food was amazing! The food servers were attending to everyones needs. The towels were nice new and luxurious. There were lots of pillows. Dont drink the bottled water in the room without expecting to pay for it. The pool facilities were very nice. I went out to see the hot tub, I thought it looked green, just then a man came out with a bottle of bleach, Yeah I was ready to soak in bleach?? I was just wondering about the "greeness" of the resort. There were regular light bulbs being used.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
710 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
16.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
797 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,688 reviews
18.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range: $131 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing