We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TownePlace Suites Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$116
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$95
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$134
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington(Williston)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$94
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Burlington(Colchester)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,517)
Filter reviews
1,517 results
Traveler rating
707
420
196
127
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
420
196
127
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classculinary resortchef's tableculinary instituteoutlet malltavern restaurantmain buildingthe outdoor hot tubsteam roomtennis courtscouples massagegrounds are lovelyroom was largefitness centergreat weekendcookiesburlington area
Filter
Updating list...
1,420 - 1,425 of 1,517 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We stayed at The Inn at Essex for a weekend and had a very nice stay. The staff were very courteous and the Inn was very clean. We attended a wedding and reception at the Inn which were very well done. The Green Mountain Coffee in the lobby each morning was a nice amenity, and the front desk staff were very accomodating when my husband and I asked if we could print our boarding passes at the front desk (since there is no business center there that we knew of). There is a walking trail close to the Inn which we enjoyed. We would recommend The Inn at Essex to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in the Burlington, VT area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank peacefultravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We stayed on a 3 night package the first week of October. I'd have to say the Inn was nice, but nothing great. The room was kind of basic, not a lot of decorations, but OK. I guess I was thinking it would be more like a bed and breakfast, but it is an Inn. (You don't get a breakfast) They seem to cater to both conferences and also bus tours - there was buses arriving and leaving (get a room away from the parking lot if you want to sleep in) everyday and also a conference going on in the building we were in.

The gourmet dinner by the Culinary Institute folks was great! As was the Tiny Thai restaurant in the nearby plaza. I would also highly recommend the pastries they sell in the lobby - delicious.

We also played "free" golf as part of our package. Free means you pay $40 for 2 for a cart - by the way if you walk you still pay $40. It is a nice Executive course, but you could get bored after playing a few times.

All in all I'd say there has to be better places to stay. I'd look around.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

This is a mediocre, but expensive property. Check-in was satisfactory, but questions about directions and local information could not be answered by the non customer service oriented young man at the desk. The room was clean and acceptable, but not worth the rather expensive price.

Most of the employees did not seem to like their jobs and were not friendly. Dinner service and food prepared by the New England Cuinary Institute was good, but the portions were extremely small. At breakfast, it took 3 staff members more than 15 minutes to locate 1 English Breakfast tea bag. The scone served was the smallest , flatest,and most tasteless one I have ever eaten. I was never offered a second cup of tea and it wasn't even served in a pot, just plunked in a mug. The $9.00 resort fee that was tacked on to the expensive bill was certainly not warranted, since we neither used the facilities nor were advised as to what and where they were.If you are looking for a special place to celebrate an anniversary as we were, this is not the place.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank countessjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Got a GREAT deal via Travelzoo for a 3-night package.

PROS: Great deal. Very nice stay. The location is great and the room was large. I know it is a culinary resort, but we only ate in the Tavern once - good food. The pool was lovely. The staff was helpful and nice. Lovely gas fireplace in our room.

CONS: No major complaints. The bed was a bit squishy and saggy, and only queen-sized. The bathroom was a bit worn. The grounds smelled like onions and other cooking foods often. If you don't know the area well it is hard to get in and out of Burlington without getting a little confused.

A great stay. I will go back if the price is right again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed for three days, one with a Links package. The Links course is excellent, very well maintained and quite challenging with sand and some water. We really enjoyed the Links course! We also played Vermont National, which is another great course in the area. Dinner at Butler's was very good, and the sunday buffet was also delightful. Make reservations. We also ate twice across the street at Tiny Thai, as recommended by the hotel, and it was fantastic. Try the Drunken Noodles! We didn't get to use the pool because it was cooler weather, but it looked well maintained. A hot tub would have been appreciated, but there isn't one. The gardens are small but lovely. There are at least six tennis courts and they had some competitions there when we stayed, yet it didn't seem too crowded. The mini suite we stayed in was newly remodeled with blue/purple/green and bed was comfy. Although a bit pricey, overall a wonderful stay. I would have liked to learn more about the Culinary Institute, but our waiter didn't have much to say about it. We did take a wine tasting course about Reds that was excellent, and we met the chef one morning at the local farmer's market to buy and tour. I would stay again, next time I would try to take a cooking course!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews