We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eden Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eden Mills
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“What an amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Our family rented both cabins with friends for a weekend of dog sledding and fun. Jim made us feel so welcome, including our dogs. We took dog sledding lessons and mushed our own dogs on the beautiful trails. The cabins were clean, cozy and perfect for a getaway up to the north country. The staff and dogs at Jim's learning center were welcoming, friendly and so helpful. I feel like we lived a "Discovery Channel" experience - one the adults and kids will never forget! I'd highly recommend this beautiful spot and can't wait to return for another adventure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenmtlodge, Front Office Manager at Eden Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
So glad you and your dogs had fun! We like to take care of our four and two legged guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Foxglove cabin during our 4-night New Year holiday vacation. The cabin was very clean and cozy, and the kitchen has all the necessary utensils, heated floors throughout the cabin. There is a washing machine and a dishwasher, and a brand new gas cooking grill. The running dogs are all very friendly and one of them - Luna - regularly came to visit with our dog and they got along quite nicely. Needless to say that our son loved the dogs and the dog sled tour as well. A special "thank you" to our host Jim who made us feel right at home, and who immediately came to our rescue when I foolishly followed my GPS and skidded off the ice-covered road which Jim recommends to avoid as it is not maintained by the town.
We loved the place, and we will be back in summertime.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

What an amazing place, a true cabin in the woods complete with wolves (well ok, dogs, really friendly, lovely, enjoyable dogs) running around.

You should have seen my husband's face as we were driving up to the rather rough roads to the lodge, I think he thought I'd lost my mind and booked us in to some dodgy shack in the middle of nowhere. As soon as he walked in though he loved it, in fact it was his favourite place out of the 8 places that we stayed in on this road trip. It also helped that he LOVES dogs.

We stayed in Larkspur and for what is a very reasonable price you get a whole cabin with 2 bedrooms, a bathroom with washing machine and dryer, a fully fitted kitchen and a large sitting room with real log fire all to yourselves.The views are beautiful, especially in fall when we were there and the owner could not have been more friendly and accomodating without being intrusive. He even took the time to recommend a route for our sight-seeing which proved to be a lovely drive.

This is a dog place and the owner lets 2 or 3 of the dogs out at a time to run around, now I am a little nervous around dogs but these guys are lovely and very gentle. They also make this a really unique place.

If you're in this area, go off the beaten track and give this place a try. Stock up at the store, load the fridge when you arrive and settle in for real peace and quiet, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We spent two nights at the Foxglove cottage which is one of two cabins located on the Eden Dog Sledding property. The cottage consisted of two decent size bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a nice wood burning fireplace, large kitchen and nice sized living room. We brought our own food for cooking since Tammy (who works there) told us there weren't many restaurants in the area. We enjoyed the nice large cooking area and the gas stove (heated by propane). We also liked the fact that there was plenty of wood provided to make nice fires in the fireplace at night. My son loved watching the flames. There was also a full size washer and dryer in the closet if we needed to do laundry. Even though the cabin was clean, we were in the countryside, so critters such as ladybugs, flies, and spiders were to be found. We also loved being near the dog sledding barn so my son could hang with the doggies when he wasn't sledding. The owners were kind enough to give us one of their dogs for the weekend who slept with my son and was his constant companion. We loved it there and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susaneobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

A friend and I rented the Larkspur cabin at Eden Mountain Lodge for a week-long excursion to Vermont. It was just what we wanted: A clean, rustic cabin with a large fireplace and everything we needed for the week. The cabin has a washer and dryer, full kitchen with a dishwasher, microwave, stove and fridge, two large bedrooms, and a wonderful tub that was perfect for a candle-lit bubble bath. The owner, Jim, was very gracious and helpful. He was there for anything we needed but left us alone to have privacy unless we needed him. I loved the fact that they didn't come in to clean while we were there. It made it feel like the cabin was truly "ours" for the week with no interruptions or feeling like someone we didn't know was milling about our stuff.

A word about the cleanliness - Because this is an older, charming log cabin you can't expect perfection. There was a little dirt here and there and everything was not what you would find in a modern 5 star hotel, but it was quite acceptable for a cabin. I didn't have any complaints about the cleanliness at all.

Although, we rented this cabin with the intension of doing day trips every day and just using it as a place to sleep, my friend and I actually found ourselves wishing for a rainy day so we would have an excuse to stay in the cabin all day! Thankfully we did have one day of rain and enjoyed having a roaring fire all day, watching movies, reading and just enjoying the place.

You need to be a dog lover to truly appreciate this place. There were 30 mushing dogs on the property. A few of them are allowed to roam the property and are more than happy to come make your acquaintance if you allow them to. If you bring your own dog or don't like them for some reason, Jim will keep his dogs away, but that's no fun!

I would love to come back in the winter and experience a dog mushing trip with Jim and the dogs.

All in all, I couldn't have been happier about the time we spent at Eden Mountain Lodge. I'm looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keepmoving11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eden Mills
16.7 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
19.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
20.0 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
10.2 mi away
Fitch Hill Inn
Fitch Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Hyde Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
17.3 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Mountain Lodge

Property: Eden Mountain Lodge
Address: 1390 Square Rd, Eden Mills, VT 05653-9747
Location: United States > Vermont > Eden Mills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eden Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two beautiful, pet friendly country homes: Larkspur and Foxglove cabins. Located in a peaceful mountain setting of 140 acres, our lodges are the perfect place to "get away from it all." Lovingly furnished, each home-away-from-home has all the modern conveniences - full kitchens with dishes and cookware, wireless internet, laundry, DVD, covered porches where you can relax and unwind, and a fenced dog run so your pets can enjoy the outdoors too! Come hear the birds sing, enjoy a campfire with friends and family, and see the sunrises, sunsets, and starry night sky. Only 45 minutes from Stowe, Smugglers Notch, and Jay Peak. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eden Mountain Lodge Vermont/Eden Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing