We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Service, Great Ambience”

Chantecleer Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dorset, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Ambience”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Food is amazing and I love the cozy dining room. My husband loved the Dover Sole, and they make the Caesar Salad table side. I had the Filet Mignon and the sauce was amazing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbbbbbbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    24
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Elegance in an old dairy barn”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Once upon a time Chantecleer was a dairy barn, turned restaurant. The food was good and kept us coming back. Over the years Chantecleer has been upgraded to an uber-elegant restaurant. It is pricey and we go there to celebrate special occasions. However, they go all out for the holidays and just walking in puts you in a festive frame of mind. New Year's Eve was wonderful and as diners were finishing up, their server invited them into the bar where champagne would be served to bring in the New Year. A roary fire in their large fireplace added to the warm cosy feeling. I wanted New Year's Eve to last all year. If you enjoy game, this is the place to go. It is always available and well prepared.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dinner at Chantecleer”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had dinner here having eaten the day before at Reluctant Panther, the price was not much different but this was much less of an event.Food was good quality but cooking lacked any subtlety. Over use of herbs and spices masked flavour of teh ingredients, service was very firendly and efficient but I would not eat there again (maybe personal taste)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and Fun”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I think this may become our new favorite place to celebrate special occasions. This restaurant is a bit old fashioned in their cuisine and decor but the food was excellent! They have a three-course menu sometimes that is a great value.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank charrisdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful, long-time establishment.......”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Michel has been cooking at the Chanticleer for years and maintains a consistently excellent menu. We have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. Sometimes I find the food a bit salty, but that is my only peeve. The food is classic continental and of the best quality. Local ingredients are used when available.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank melisande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chantecleer Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Chantecleer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing