We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, Will return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aerie Inn of Vermont
Ranked #1 of 2 East Dorset B&B and Inns
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, Will return.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

This place is perfect, It offers security, privacy and the owner displays great care in making sure your expectations are met. I have read the negative feed back from the Young ladie below, All i can say is I know you got your money back. I know you did not sleep in your car. And i know the owners booked you at another motel even during the course of your ill behavior towards them.
The smell you rendered is more for our horse care. Frankly. You do us all a great diservice . Harold P.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BeJohn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
11
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

This hotel is perfect! Comfortable, well-kept and managed, homey and quiet in picture perfect location at foot of the Green Mountains. The attentive owner seems to manage to be there whenever you need her, always ready with a helping hand or just the right recommendation for sight seeing, activities, or restaurants. The Dorset/Manchester area has major list of stuff to do from hiking and skiing to theater and shopping. My favorite was being able to sleep outside in an Adirondack Lean-to and still have a bathroom, towels, continental breakfast and use of a microwave in the lobby. Wireless, great people, dog friendly...I wanted for nothing! What did I like the least? Leaving!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wayzatagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

Maybe it was just my room - but the smell was terrible. I can't rate the room any higher because the smell made it impossible for me to stay in the room. My hair and clothing smelled terrible.
That said, the room was very clean and cute. It must've been the carpeting that was mildewy and smelly. It was unbelievable. I paid $149 to sleep in my car! I should have known from the moth ball smell in the office. Lesson learned.
Also, while you can walk to the VSF from the Inn, it is a bit of a h-i-k-e.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foolforahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aerieinn, Owner at Aerie Inn of Vermont, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
No complaint was made to management about the smell of the room. Our policy is to make every effort possible for the comfort of our guests. Other rooms were available, however, with no complaint made to management, we don't know that there is a problem so we are unable to remedy the situation. Upon the guest leaving her room in the morning and checking out at the office, no complaint was made, in fact a pleasant comment was made that she had a very enjoyable stay.

The room rate was $129 ($141 w/ tax), not $149.

The above review stated, that we were "clean & cute" but only reviewed us 3 stars. It would be nice to know how we could have improved upon our 'clean and cute'.

As far as being a h-i-k-e to the Vermont Summer Festival showgrounds, the guest attended to her horse, on the grounds, and then checked in. She knew the exact distance from doorstep to grounds before she checked in; a 1/4 mile driveway, 1/4 mile on Bowen, and 1/2 mile to the north entrance of the showgrounds.

We are not an inn for everyone, but we do our best to accommodate everyone's needs and concerns. We attempt this by providing accurate information on our website and during phone calls, assistance when checking in and during the course of the stay, and providing alternative rooms OR lodging when issues arise including refunds, when guests are not satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Wa.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

Great place to get away from it all or to use as a base camp while touring Vermont. When I last stayed there they Airie Inn (formerly the Eyrie Inn) was just about 85% renovated. The owner/manager is very helpful and has great suggests for restaurants from Manchester, Dorset up to Brandon. I ride motorcycle and this motel is very MC friendly. Stayed there a few years ago for Foliage and the views from the property were just awesome since the motel sits at the foot of the Green mountains and Appalatian trail.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hungarianrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed there during the fall foliage season. The views and the hiking are wonderful in that part of VT. The rooms at the Eyrie are clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly. They have worked very hard and successfully to convert the old motel into something that has warmth and charm.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank spoonrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

I'm not sure when exactly we stayed there. Found it in a local brochure, called and got a room. We were absolutely astounded when we arrived. The room was immaculate - its so clean it was like going "back in time" to a brand NEW motel of the '50s. It's in a secluded location and so very peaceful with beautiful views. I'm only now writing this review because we WILL be going back sometime this year and I wanted to verify the address and make sure it's still open.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, peaceful
  • Disliked — No negatives at all
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank jilNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Dorset
5.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Four Winds Country Motel
Four Winds Country Motel
#10 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marbledge Lodge
Marbledge Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Dorset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aerie Inn of Vermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aerie Inn of Vermont

Property: Aerie Inn of Vermont
Address: 158 Bowen Hill Rd, P. O. Box 487, East Dorset, VT 05253-9750
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > East Dorset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Dorset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aerie Inn of Vermont 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only canine friendly hotel in East Dorset, the Aerie Inn of Vermont is your front door to experiencing the four seasons of Vermont. Whether it's the spectacle of fall foliage, the peaceful beauty after a snowfall or an exhilarating motor cycle tour, no other lodging provides such a unique,private experience. Just minutes from activities in the Green Mountains or from water fun at Emerald Lake, plenty of exciting adventures are conveniently found nearby. Snowboarding, skiing, mountainbiking at Stratton and Bromley Mountain, or fishing, canoeing and kayaking on the Battenkill River, EastDorset is close to it all! The world renowned Appalachian Trail begins nearby and winds through many acres of wilderness, perfect for a leisurely hike.Explore East Dorset, home of the Vermont Summer Festival, and discover the birth place of Bill Wilson. Attend an AA or Al-anon meeting at the Wilson House, or sit on the front porch of the Aerie and rest,reflect and rejuvenate your soul as Bill and Lois Wilson did when they would come home to East Dorset for a visit. Once known as the Erdmans Eyrie and the Eyrie Motel, the Aerie Inn of Vermont was thefavorite place to stay for Bill and Lois.Visit the marble quarry at the edge of Dorset said to be the oldest in the country. Once a major part of Dorset's economy, the quarries provided marble for notable landmarks such as the New York CityLibrary as well as for the marble sidewalks lacing the town and all the marble for the church next to the village green. Yesterday's quarries are now today's popular swimming holes for you and your family tocreate memories of your own.The welcoming character of local shops and culinary diversity will ensure that you feel right at home. Each small town and village offers a unique venue. Shop for antiques and gifts in the quaint village ofDorset. Drive north to Danby or Wallingford or south to Arlington or Bennington. The Manchester and the Mountains regional towns welcome you with all things warm and wonderful no matter what the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Aerie Inn of Vermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aerie Inn Of Vermont Hotel East Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing