We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't ever stay there again! I ended up sleeping in my car!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aerie Inn of Vermont
Ranked #1 of 2 East Dorset B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Maybe it was just my room - but the smell was terrible. I can't rate the room any higher because the smell made it impossible for me to stay in the room. My hair and clothing smelled terrible.
That said, the room was very clean and cute. It must've been the carpeting that was mildewy and smelly. It was unbelievable. I paid $149 to sleep in my car! I should have known from the moth ball smell in the office. Lesson learned.
Also, while you can walk to the VSF from the Inn, it is a bit of a h-i-k-e.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foolforahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aerieinn, Owner at Aerie Inn of Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2010

No complaint was made to management about the smell of the room. Our policy is to make every effort possible for the comfort of our guests. Other rooms were available, however, with no complaint made to management, we don't know that there is a problem so we are unable to remedy the situation. Upon the guest leaving her room in the morning and checking out at the office, no complaint was made, in fact a pleasant comment was made that she had a very enjoyable stay.

The room rate was $129 ($141 w/ tax), not $149.

The above review stated, that we were "clean & cute" but only reviewed us 3 stars. It would be nice to know how we could have improved upon our 'clean and cute'.

As far as being a h-i-k-e to the Vermont Summer Festival showgrounds, the guest attended to her horse, on the grounds, and then checked in. She knew the exact distance from doorstep to grounds before she checked in; a 1/4 mile driveway, 1/4 mile on Bowen, and 1/2 mile to the north entrance of the showgrounds.

We are not an inn for everyone, but we do our best to accommodate everyone's needs and concerns. We attempt this by providing accurate information on our website and during phone calls, assistance when checking in and during the course of the stay, and providing alternative rooms OR lodging when issues arise including refunds, when guests are not satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

Great place to get away from it all or to use as a base camp while touring Vermont. When I last stayed there they Airie Inn (formerly the Eyrie Inn) was just about 85% renovated. The owner/manager is very helpful and has great suggests for restaurants from Manchester, Dorset up to Brandon. I ride motorcycle and this motel is very MC friendly. Stayed there a few years ago for Foliage and the views from the property were just awesome since the motel sits at the foot of the Green mountains and Appalatian trail.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hungarianrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed there during the fall foliage season. The views and the hiking are wonderful in that part of VT. The rooms at the Eyrie are clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly. They have worked very hard and successfully to convert the old motel into something that has warmth and charm.

Stayed: October 2008
8  Thank spoonrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

I'm not sure when exactly we stayed there. Found it in a local brochure, called and got a room. We were absolutely astounded when we arrived. The room was immaculate - its so clean it was like going "back in time" to a brand NEW motel of the '50s. It's in a secluded location and so very peaceful with beautiful views. I'm only now writing this review because we WILL be going back sometime this year and I wanted to verify the address and make sure it's still open.

  • Stayed: July 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank jilNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 107anne2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aerieinnofvermont, Owner at Aerie Inn of Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aerieinnofvermont, Owner at Aerie Inn of Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank France D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AerieInnOfVermont, Manager at Aerie Inn of Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aerie Inn of Vermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aerie Inn of Vermont

Address: 158 Bowen Hill Rd, P. O. Box 487, East Dorset, VT 05253-9750
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > East Dorset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Dorset
Price Range: $112 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aerie Inn of Vermont 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aerie Inn of Vermont is East Dorset's only dog-friendly motel. We are minutes away from Emerald Lake State Park, and all that Manchester has to offer. The Appalachian Trail is nearby, as well as summer activities at Bromley and Stratton Mountains. Nestled on a hillside off of the highway, we have great mountains views in a quiet setting. We look forward to welcoming you to our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Aerie Inn of Vermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aerie Inn Of Vermont Hotel East Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing