We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aerie Inn of Vermont
Ranked #1 of 2 East Dorset B&B and Inns
Tariffville, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I can't wait to return!”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Thank you Carol, for your hospitality friendly manner and charming accommodations. I loved the early morning chats with you and the other guests over the never ending cups of Green Mountain coffee. You left me feeling as though I had just visited an old friend.
I bicycled to Vermont from Connecticut to visit the Wilson house in East Dorset. Because the purpose of bike packing is camping I set camp at one of the lean-tos in the shadow of Mount Aeolus. Each morning I was greeted by the sun advancing across the open field like an incoming tide. Serene? Refreshing? Yes! Bike riding Mad Tom Road across the ridge of the mountain? Maddeningly excellent!
If you camp here, Carol will tell you the bath facilities are just like home....she does not lie. Rooming or camping one will not go wrong staying here. Thank you Carol!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bretonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
14
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The Aerie Inn is even more beautiful in person than on the website. We were so thrilled with its beauty (even during April, which is "mud season" and not Vermont at its finest) -- and equally impressed with its cleanliness. The room was large and immaculate with a stunning view. It was a very short 5 minute drive into Manchester -- yet was hidden in the mountains: truly the best of all worlds! What made this inn stand out (besides the cleanliness, beauty, and value) was its welcoming, accomodating innkeeper, Carol -- with whom we felt an instant connection. We can't wait to book our next trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 -- which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jess333_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Enjoyed the surrounding communities and the hospitality of the owner. A wonderful selection of food and drinks were offered to all the guests on New Years eve and Day. Shopping in the surrounding communities is endless as are the choices for many fine restaurants. Skiing is within 20 minutes in any direction and hiking is everywhere. Great place to get away and relax or do any number of activities.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rojali57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This place is perfect, It offers security, privacy and the owner displays great care in making sure your expectations are met. I have read the negative feed back from the Young ladie below, All i can say is I know you got your money back. I know you did not sleep in your car. And i know the owners booked you at another motel even during the course of your ill behavior towards them.
The smell you rendered is more for our horse care. Frankly. You do us all a great diservice . Harold P.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BeJohn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

This hotel is perfect! Comfortable, well-kept and managed, homey and quiet in picture perfect location at foot of the Green Mountains. The attentive owner seems to manage to be there whenever you need her, always ready with a helping hand or just the right recommendation for sight seeing, activities, or restaurants. The Dorset/Manchester area has major list of stuff to do from hiking and skiing to theater and shopping. My favorite was being able to sleep outside in an Adirondack Lean-to and still have a bathroom, towels, continental breakfast and use of a microwave in the lobby. Wireless, great people, dog friendly...I wanted for nothing! What did I like the least? Leaving!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wayzatagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Maybe it was just my room - but the smell was terrible. I can't rate the room any higher because the smell made it impossible for me to stay in the room. My hair and clothing smelled terrible.
That said, the room was very clean and cute. It must've been the carpeting that was mildewy and smelly. It was unbelievable. I paid $149 to sleep in my car! I should have known from the moth ball smell in the office. Lesson learned.
Also, while you can walk to the VSF from the Inn, it is a bit of a h-i-k-e.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foolforahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aerieinn, Owner at Aerie Inn of Vermont, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
No complaint was made to management about the smell of the room. Our policy is to make every effort possible for the comfort of our guests. Other rooms were available, however, with no complaint made to management, we don't know that there is a problem so we are unable to remedy the situation. Upon the guest leaving her room in the morning and checking out at the office, no complaint was made, in fact a pleasant comment was made that she had a very enjoyable stay.

The room rate was $129 ($141 w/ tax), not $149.

The above review stated, that we were "clean & cute" but only reviewed us 3 stars. It would be nice to know how we could have improved upon our 'clean and cute'.

As far as being a h-i-k-e to the Vermont Summer Festival showgrounds, the guest attended to her horse, on the grounds, and then checked in. She knew the exact distance from doorstep to grounds before she checked in; a 1/4 mile driveway, 1/4 mile on Bowen, and 1/2 mile to the north entrance of the showgrounds.

We are not an inn for everyone, but we do our best to accommodate everyone's needs and concerns. We attempt this by providing accurate information on our website and during phone calls, assistance when checking in and during the course of the stay, and providing alternative rooms OR lodging when issues arise including refunds, when guests are not satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Wa.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Great place to get away from it all or to use as a base camp while touring Vermont. When I last stayed there they Airie Inn (formerly the Eyrie Inn) was just about 85% renovated. The owner/manager is very helpful and has great suggests for restaurants from Manchester, Dorset up to Brandon. I ride motorcycle and this motel is very MC friendly. Stayed there a few years ago for Foliage and the views from the property were just awesome since the motel sits at the foot of the Green mountains and Appalatian trail.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hungarianrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Dorset
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
587 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
301 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
233 reviews
6.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aerie Inn of Vermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aerie Inn of Vermont

Property: Aerie Inn of Vermont
Address: 158 Bowen Hill Rd, P. O. Box 487, East Dorset, VT 05253-9750
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > East Dorset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Dorset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aerie Inn of Vermont 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only dog-friendly hotel in East Dorset, the Aerie Inn of Vermont is your front door to experiencing southern Vermont. Whether it's the spectacle of fall foliage, the Vermont Summer Festival Horse Show, or an exhilarating motorcycle tour that brings you here, no other lodging provides such a unique, private experience. Just minutes from activities in the Green Mountains or from water fun at Emerald Lake State Park, plenty of exciting adventures are conveniently found nearby.- mountain biking at Stratton and Bromley Mountains, or fishing, canoeing and kayaking on the Battenkill River. East Dorset is close to it all! The world renowned Appalachian Trail begins nearby and winds through many acres of wilderness, perfect for a leisurely hike. Explore East Dorset, and discover the birth place of Bill Wilson. Attend an AA or Al-anon meeting at the Wilson House, or sit on the front porch of the Aerie and rest, reflect and rejuvenate your soul as Bill and Lois Wilson did when they would come home to East Dorset for a visit. Once known as Erdman's Eyrie and the Eyrie Motel, the Aerie Inn of Vermont was the favorite place to stay for Bill and Lois. Visit the marble quarry at the edge of Dorset, said to be the oldest in the country. Once a major part of Dorset's economy, the quarries provided marble for notable landmarks such as the New York City Library as well as for the marble sidewalks lacing the town and all the marble for the church next to the village green. Yesterday's quarries are now today's popular swimming holes for you and your family to create memories of your own. The welcoming character of local shops and culinary diversity will ensure that you feel right at home. Each small town and village offers a unique venue. Shop for antiques and gifts in the quaint village of Dorset. Drive north to Danby or Wallingford or south to Arlington or Bennington. The Manchester and the Mountains regional towns welcome you with all things warm and wonderful no matter when you come to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Aerie Inn of Vermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aerie Inn Of Vermont Hotel East Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing