We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an amazing location we got married there!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Burke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Mountain View Farm
Ranked #3 of 5 East Burke B&B and Inns
Colchester, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Such an amazing location we got married there!”
Reviewed August 28, 2009

When we first visited the Inn at Mountain View Farm we fell in love with the settting - amazing antique red barns and inn buildings, beautiful perennial gardens, and amazing mountaintop views. It's always very peaceful and quiet, especially in the hidden garden tucked away behind the barns. It's difficult to describe in a brief review how perfect the location is....but after 30 minutes of being there we decided it was where we wanted to get married - we weren't even thinking about getting married in VT prior to that!

We got married in the perennial gardens on the grounds, and had our reception in the Inn. The entire event was absolutely perfect - better than we ever imagined. Our guests loved the unique and beautiful VT countryside setting, and had an amazaing time exploring the grounds, taking pictures, visiting the animals and enjoying cocktails and dessert on the terrace with Burke Mountain as the backdrop. We were so happy to be able to share this spot with them. We have some amazing wedding pictures too!

The staff was really nice and very professional - everything went off perfectly and on-time - we would not have changed anything. Our parents enjoyed their stay - my parents stayed in the farmhouse, and really liked their room - they're very picky about where they stay, and had nothing but good things to say, especially about having their own private porch overlooking the valley and Burke Mountain.

We visit the Inn and walk the grounds every time we are in town to mountain bike, it's right on the trail systems for mt biking, hiking and winter sports, and about 1 minute from East Burke - an awesome little VT ski town. We highly recommend the Inn at Mountain View Farm to anyone in the area for biking or skiing, or just looking for a relaxing getaway.....or to get married!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
17
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

My wife and I stumbled on the Inn at Mountain View Farm while mountain biking the Kingdom Trails a couple years ago. At the time, we were not engaged but upon discovering the picturesque barns, quaint inn and farmhouse, spectacular setting, and unforgettable views of Willoughby Gap and the surrounding VT countryside we knew we had found our wedding location. And we were not disappointed. We enjoyed several weekend stays at the Inn leading up to our wedding and were continually pleased with the authentic charm of the inn, the accommodating and warm welcoming from the helpful staff and the iconic experience of the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. Our wedding guests still talk about the location and perfect VT wedding weekend. Darling HIll Road is arguably the most beautiful road we've ever traveled and the surrounding landscape and farms provide an authentic experience of rural Vermont. Outdoor activities abound and the Kingdom Trails are a must-experience for bikers (or hikers/snowshoers for that matter). The Inn at Mountain View Farm is a perfect destination for anyone looking to leave everything behind and 'unplug' for a getaway. It's nearly impossible not to relax and enjoy this incredibly special place. We hightly recommend the Inn and know that others will fall in love with the setting, the Inn and the Northeast Kingdom...just like we have.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cxrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I was a little worried based on the one bad review on here, but this place was beautiful and very clean. Staff was a little hard to find to ask questions, but when they were around they were very helpful. We missed breakfast the first morning, but the chef made us a special breakfast to go for my wife and two little girls which was incredible. As a mountain biker who likes to travel in comfort and cleanliness, this place can't be beat! A few games for the young ones were on sight, but not ideal for long stays with children, although the animals on the farm excited my 3 year old.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillBike11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Inn at Mountain View Farm. This place is truly special. The inn sits on 400 plus acres boasting perrenial gardens, picturesque barns and fields and a plethora of hiking and mountain biking trails. The rooms were lovely and spotless as was the whole inn. The staff was friendly and caring and seemed anxious to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was prepared and served in a pretty room but there are tables outside where you can take your food and just marvel at the fabulous views and peacefulness of the setting. A truly remarkable stay and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlkahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stayed herea few years ago and absolutely loved it. Our last stay was a nightmare.
Fortunately, we were given a full refund. I have never seen a hotel deteriorate so rapidly.

On our first stay, the staff was extremely friendly. We stayed in one of the cottages. It was spacious, clean and very nice.

When we arrived, we were offered brownies and tea. The brownies were stale. There was no hot water for the tea. Our hosts had forgotten to return the tea pot. When we finally got hot water, the tea leaked through the paper cups.

The hosts were never available at the desk. I would have to look for them when I had questions. They were always chit chatting with other guests. They were always doing something other then what they were supposed to be doing.

I had asked for a wooden floor. The room we were given was carpeted, dirty, dim and small. We asked for a different room. They moved us down the hall. The room was slightly better. We asked if we could stay in one of the other buildings. Our request was denied, even though another couple was moved to a different building.

There was no hot water. I do not mean lukewarm. I mean ice cold. When I went downstairs to complain, the woman that the fuse had blown. They were in and out of the kitchen all night. How could they not have known there was no hot water?

She went on to explain that the other buildings would not have hot water either since they all shared the same plumbing. The buildings are disconnected and on different parts of the property. I did not know if she thought I was dumb, or if she was dumb.

She finally agreed to let us go with no charge.

We went to the Moonlight B&B in Lyndonville. It was excellent.

If you are a biker, you will love this place. It is right near the trails, and bikers do not care about cleanliness anyway.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inconspicuous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jop2map, Owner at Inn at Mountain View Farm, responded to this review, August 9, 2009
We learned recently that a guest from October 2008 wrote a negative review of our Inn, which has had only glowing reviews on your site. Our manager told us that she remembers the guest well because another guest had complained that this couple were arguing loudly with each other and disturbing others. The manager asked them to please lower their voices and at their request moved them to another room. They were not satisfied and wanted to be moved to a third room in another building, but one was not available. Here in the country when there is a storm, we sometimes have temporary power outages which can affect the hot water heaters. We always service these issues immediately, and our guests appreciate our attentiveness to it. Regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, we consistently get the highest grades fron the VT Health Depatment, a matter of public record. We also think it unfortunate that this one reviewer demeaned mountain bikers by saying that they "do not care about cleanliness". We have found mountain bikers to be just as discriminating about such quality issues as our other guests. We are requesting that you remove this meanspirited and misleading review from your site. We do very much appreciate the glowing reviews from your other members!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We spent 10 days in New England this June. We came here to ride the amazing Mtn bike trails we heard so much about from our local bike shop. This Inn sits on Darling Rd. Which soon as you get on Darling Rd , you feel the change then you see it. The huge trees to the right along the wonderful Rd. Burke Mtn and the BEAUTIFUL FARMS on the left. One after another with emaculate kept huge barns. One after another. some Inns some Inns with Restaurants, some just private homes/farms. WOW is what we kept saying as we drove up to our Inn. Then there it was the AMAZING Inn at Mtn View!!!! What a place the beautiful huge large barns and the sweet creamery which we stayed. We were greeted and shown the place offered some tea or a microbrew, told where our breakfast would be served. In this wonderful old amazing clean wonderful comfortable place. Our room the Westmore was Perfect! the views!! The Views!! The breakfast was very good cooked in front of us by our very own chef. The room came with breakfast and trail pass each day which saved us money. We all just loved this place the sweet cats which are outside, the animals in the barns and fields. This place is a rare find.!!!! It is highly reccomended. If you get a chance to experience this place Mtn biker or not you should treat yourself to this. Again I say WOW!!!! Just one thing would of made this even better and that would of been a Hot Tub, after the day of trail ridding a soak in a Hot Tub would of been awesome. The Inn keepers here are so kind and help you in any way they can. We will be back to this place for sure.

  • Liked — The beauty, the cleanness, the service, the food, the overall feel of the place. Our Room
  • Disliked — Wished , this Inn served dinner.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NCsleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2005

Inn at Mountain View Farm was a great find in the Northeast Kingdom. We have actually been there twice and plan on going back. They are right at the beginning of the kingdom bike trails. After a long day of trail riding, the Inn is a nice welcome. Great breakfast in the morning. Very relaxing and quiet. The views are beautiful. We loved it....

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Burke
2.9 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
1.0 mi away
The WilloBurke Inn and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#1 of 5 in Lyndonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
5.4 mi away
Colonnade Inn
Colonnade Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyndonville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
16.4 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mountain View Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mountain View Farm

Property: Inn at Mountain View Farm
Address: 3383 Darling Hill Rd., East Burke, VT 05832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > East Burke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Burke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic 440 acre farm estate with miles of scenic trails that are at the heart of Kingdom Trails, one of America's premier mountain biking venues. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing