We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day Weekend Trip 2012”

Emerald Lake State Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Dorset
Attraction details
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Labor Day Weekend Trip 2012”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a nice state park for camping for a weekend. Access to the lake is very convenient and they rent boats. We drove down to the beach from the campsite because it is a lenghty and hilly walk. The water is very clean and the beach front has a nice lawn where you can spread out blankets and get under some tree shade. We ventured out for a hike but the trail was not in the best of shape and appeared to be an old logging path. It was fine for an hour and a half excursion with children. Do some homework on the area trails before you come if you plan on hiking because there was not much in the way of maps. I am sure there were other trails in the area but we didn't have time to venture out too far with the kids. I would strongly recommend Area A, instead of B/C if you have small children on bikes. Those areas abut extremely steep terrain that would require you to keep a very close eye on them if they tend to wander. Overall, it's a nice campground.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All in all a fun day out.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Two words: rope swing. Okay, this probably doesn’t seem that cool to most people, but having gone 33 years without having a go on one, this pretty much made my day. In fact, my week. (Top tip: it’s a little tricky to find, on the side of the lake nearest the train track, and to get to it we swam and kayaked). Beyond the amazingly cool rope swing, this is just a nice, clean, pretty lake. Yes, it’s close to the road and the train track so it’s not the most tranquil of soundtracks. But the upside is it’s very accessible and really once we were there we didn’t notice because the scenery was great. The water was nice to swim in and there were a range of kayaks and boats to rent. All in all a fun day out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to spend the day”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is truly a beautiful place to spend the day. Stunning scenery, pedal boats and canoes to rent, small beach and very gently sloping water into the lake. There is a little shop to buy crisps, drinks and ice creams and good toilet facilities.
People swim out to the island to play, boat round to the rope swim and launch themselves into the lake. We saw terrapins in the water too which was a treat. Great day out for my family (8,6&4)

Helpful?
3 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great facility for children, restrooms, snack bar, sand beach, boats, etc. Nice place to bring young children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RaeNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This state park is a gem. Quite a walk to the water area but very nice. They rent boats or you can sit and relax in the shade of some big trees or bake out in the sun. The lake water is spring feed so it is refreshing on a hot day. We also camped in the campground for a couple of days. Nice leanto. Very clean and well kept. Rangers are pleasant and helpful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyloveschocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Lake State Park also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Peru, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Emerald Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing