We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, patio and atmosphere”

Barrows House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Dorset
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Barrows House Restaurant is an American pub with a modern twist on traditional New England tavern fare that pairs great food with craft beers. Our menus and beverages showcase Vermont's abundance of local products and celebrate its farms and producers. These quality ingredients are simply prepared demonstrating classic culinary techniques offering guests uncomplicated seasonal tastes of Vermont. Set against the historic backdrop of a circa 1803 building, the ambiance is at once warm and welcoming, sophisticated yet casual featuring Dorset white marble accents and historic black & white photos from the local Norcross-West Marble Quarry, one of the oldest in the country. Paired with our large outdoor terrace and colorful gardens, Barrows House Restaurant is the ideal setting for outdoor dining and all types of special events.
Manchester, Vermont
2 reviews
“Great food, patio and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Enjoyed a great meal at the newly renovated restaurant. The outside dining on the patio is the best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do Over”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The renovations are a big improvement and the food was delicious with good service. The dining room was a bit noisy, the bar area was lively and fun but felt a little to urban for this New England area. The outdoor patio was the best and would definitely go back with a reservation on a pleasant evening again. I did not notice a wood burning fire place either in the dining room or bar/pub area which is kind of disappointing for anyone who is looking for that charm in the colder weather.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at Barrows House Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Glad your enjoyed your experience and that you thought the outdoor patio was the best. We have a wooding burning fire pit on terrace along with flame heat lamps to enhance the experience. Sorry that you did not notice, but there is a two sided fireplace that can be seen from bar and from dining area. We are enhancing the "soft goods" including new banquet in dining area --- separate dining area options that is different than bar. Yes, the bar is lively, energetic and is a bit loud, but this is also part of the vibe ---- long bar, large black and white historical photos of the local marbles, back lit marble from local quarry, craft beers on tap, good selection of small plates....Gastro Pub theme. Our sister property , The Dorset Inn, has three fireplaces that is a short walk or drive ---- we do like fireplaces. Hope to see you back at both properties.

Best,
Steven & Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice renovation”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The renovations were very nice but dining area is very noisy. Had dinner with friends and a couple of items were forgotten but corrected and the food was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobandClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at Barrows House Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Bob and Claudia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have been very fortunate to open up very busy with strong overall reviews during the "busy season." Our culinary staff is extremely strong and we are focused on improving our service dynamics through training and bringing in a strong bar manager (from our sister property, The Dorset Inn) . Service has been greatly improved over the last 10 days is getting better by the day. The bar is vibrant , energetic with a little bit of an edge and there are additional quitter dining areas along with outdoor dining ......overall vibe is youthful, hip, smaller plate options, craft beers....energy. Our Sister property, The Dorset Inn, is in walking distance is perhaps a little bit quitter .....Americana, classic, yummy. Hope to see you back and please identify yourself and would like to buy you some appetizers and/or desserts.

Warmest regards,

Steven Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, Vermont
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful renovation!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

After months of careful renovation to save the spirit but with a new vibe, the Barrows House is now the "go to" place in Dorset. Outdoor terrace seating, great menu(budget friendly) and the bar/restaurant is both updated and just a bit hip. We are going for our second time tomorrow.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmichl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic Vermont.....”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent the weekend in the main house and were very pleased with the ambiance, value, friendliness of staff and history of the inn. Undergoing major renovations this winter which should only add to the charm and beauty. Food and service was VERY good one evening and we would definately return to the chram of this historic Vermont treasure.,.....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrows House Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Dorset, Green Mountains
 

Been to Barrows House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing