We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will enjoy a peaceful and relaxing visit.”
Review of Squire House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Squire House
Ranked #2 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A stay at the Squire House Inn is like a home away from home.

The Squire House has 3 rooms and all are lovely, 2 of the rooms have real fireplaces.

We have stayed during all four seasons. In the cooler weather, the fireplaces on the main floor are inviting. In the warmer weather there are 2 terraces to enjoy.

We have been to many B&Bs; Roger and Gay are, by far, our favorite Innkeepers.

Room Tip: Alice Wolcott Room has a fireplace at the end of the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 130 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife, daughter and I have had the opportunity to stay with Roger and Gay at their lovely B&B in Dorset, Vermont several times now. We have never been anything but completely pleased with the beautiful accomodations and the sumptuous breakfasts prepared by "the kitchen staff". The hosts are wonderful, friendly people who are very welcoming to their guests. I can't recommend The Squire House highly enough. By all means, stay here if you have the chance; unless your trip is planned for a week that we want to come back! Ken and Ruth

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our Christmas with family in Dorset, Vermont was made very pleasurable with accommodations at the beautifully decorated Squire House. The sitting rooms available for our comfort with glowing fireplaces made us feel right at home. Our bedroom , beside being very comfortable, was furnished with loving care and thought. We enjoyed their delicious breakfast, prepared by Gay and served by Roger in the formal Dining Room. We are looking forward to our next visit to the
Squire House.

Room Tip: Every room is pleasing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We discovered Squire House a few years ago and have been returning ever since. We've stayed in all three authentically furnished rooms (one is a suite); our favorite, the Alice Wolcott, has its own wood-burning fire-place. The three common rooms are comfy and beautifully-decorated, each with its own character. Tea and sweets are an enjoyable afternoon treat. The dining room is a delightful location for delicious home-made breakfasts and a good place to watch birds feeding nearby. The spacious grounds are immaculately kept. Roger and Gay are cordial and considerate hosts, always available to provide information and suggestions. Staying at Squire House is like visiting old friends at their delightful country home. It's an ideal home base for visiting the area in any season.

Room Tip: Alice Wolcott room has a wood-burning fireplace; Sally Cowles room has nice day-light; the Elisabeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Have stayed here for some years now and consider it to be our home in Vermont! Roger and Gay are the nicest couple and they really do run a first class Inn. Very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Breakfasts to die for! Lots of common rooms to relax in and the wood burning fireplaces make it very cosy.

Not your average Inn, and most certainly the best in the Dorset area.

Maryann & Peter Grierson

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

In what was meant to be a bucket list 2 weeks in upper New England during fall foliage, we discovered a perfect B&B in a perfect village and are planning a return visit next year. Squire House is a lovely large country home in an idyllic woodsy setting a mile from charming Dorset village with its country stores, gift shops, performing arts playhouse and historic inn for a special dinner, all postcard worthy but not one bit too cute. This is the real-deal New England of your dreams. Squire House has only four large and nicely appointed guests rooms and three appealing public rooms: one for reading, one for TV (if you must) and another for afternoon tea and visiting with other guests. Roger and Gay are delightful and gracious hosts, Roger with his suggestions on making the most of your stay and Gay with her delicious regionally-inspired breakfasts. Try to stay three nights, as we will next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottE-SallyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We have now stayed 3 times at Squire House and each time I fall in love with it all over again. The hosts Roger and Gay cannot be beaten for personal attention to guests and for grace, humour and warmth. We are relative newcomers compared to the other guests we have met there and I completely understand why they all keep coming back. Afternoon tea is a treat and breakfast is fantastic as Gay is an exceptional cook. The house is filled with beautiful furniture and artifacts, many of which are mellowed with age, and with lovely paintings. Fires are lit when the weather requires it and dear Roger was kind enough to light a fire in our bedroom this year when I had to stay in bed with a fit of the shivers and a bad cough. If I could have such a comfortable day in bed whenever I am unwell I would develop a Victorian fit of the vapours regularly! Roger has a wealth of knowledge and suggestions as to how to spend each day and spending time in his company is a real pleasure. Everything about squire house is pleasing and creates complete relaxation for the guests, as does the beautiful village of Dorset of which I never tire. If you are visiting Vermont Dorset is a must and, if you can, stay at Squire House, you will not regret it.
Thank you Roger and Gay for another lovely visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmshenley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
5.8 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 17 in Manchester
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dorset Inn
The Dorset Inn
#3 of 7 in Dorset
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Marble West Inn
The Marble West Inn
#4 of 7 in Dorset
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Squire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squire House

Address: 3395 Dorset West Road, Dorset, VT 05251
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range: $165 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant but informal, built in 1918 and carefully restored, Squire House is a luxurious B&B on eleven private acres in a classic Vermont village. With only three guest rooms, Squire House is never crowded or commercial. Each guest room has a modern private bathroom, nine-foot ceilings, large windows and central air conditioning. There are five wood-burning fireplaces. Full three-course breakfasts are served on English china in our paneled dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing