We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at The Squire House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Squire House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Squire House
Ranked #3 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Sun City Center, Florida
1 review
“Christmas at The Squire House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our Christmas with family in Dorset, Vermont was made very pleasurable with accommodations at the beautifully decorated Squire House. The sitting rooms available for our comfort with glowing fireplaces made us feel right at home. Our bedroom , beside being very comfortable, was furnished with loving care and thought. We enjoyed their delicious breakfast, prepared by Gay and served by Roger in the formal Dining Room. We are looking forward to our next visit to the
Squire House.

Room Tip: Every room is pleasing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
73
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We discovered Squire House a few years ago and have been returning ever since. We've stayed in all three authentically furnished rooms (one is a suite); our favorite, the Alice Wolcott, has its own wood-burning fire-place. The three common rooms are comfy and beautifully-decorated, each with its own character. Tea and sweets are an enjoyable afternoon treat. The dining room is a delightful location for delicious home-made breakfasts and a good place to watch birds feeding nearby. The spacious grounds are immaculately kept. Roger and Gay are cordial and considerate hosts, always available to provide information and suggestions. Staying at Squire House is like visiting old friends at their delightful country home. It's an ideal home base for visiting the area in any season.

Room Tip: Alice Wolcott room has a wood-burning fireplace; Sally Cowles room has nice day-light; the Elisabeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here for some years now and consider it to be our home in Vermont! Roger and Gay are the nicest couple and they really do run a first class Inn. Very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Breakfasts to die for! Lots of common rooms to relax in and the wood burning fireplaces make it very cosy.

Not your average Inn, and most certainly the best in the Dorset area.

Maryann & Peter Grierson

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

In what was meant to be a bucket list 2 weeks in upper New England during fall foliage, we discovered a perfect B&B in a perfect village and are planning a return visit next year. Squire House is a lovely large country home in an idyllic woodsy setting a mile from charming Dorset village with its country stores, gift shops, performing arts playhouse and historic inn for a special dinner, all postcard worthy but not one bit too cute. This is the real-deal New England of your dreams. Squire House has only four large and nicely appointed guests rooms and three appealing public rooms: one for reading, one for TV (if you must) and another for afternoon tea and visiting with other guests. Roger and Gay are delightful and gracious hosts, Roger with his suggestions on making the most of your stay and Gay with her delicious regionally-inspired breakfasts. Try to stay three nights, as we will next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottE-SallyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We have now stayed 3 times at Squire House and each time I fall in love with it all over again. The hosts Roger and Gay cannot be beaten for personal attention to guests and for grace, humour and warmth. We are relative newcomers compared to the other guests we have met there and I completely understand why they all keep coming back. Afternoon tea is a treat and breakfast is fantastic as Gay is an exceptional cook. The house is filled with beautiful furniture and artifacts, many of which are mellowed with age, and with lovely paintings. Fires are lit when the weather requires it and dear Roger was kind enough to light a fire in our bedroom this year when I had to stay in bed with a fit of the shivers and a bad cough. If I could have such a comfortable day in bed whenever I am unwell I would develop a Victorian fit of the vapours regularly! Roger has a wealth of knowledge and suggestions as to how to spend each day and spending time in his company is a real pleasure. Everything about squire house is pleasing and creates complete relaxation for the guests, as does the beautiful village of Dorset of which I never tire. If you are visiting Vermont Dorset is a must and, if you can, stay at Squire House, you will not regret it.
Thank you Roger and Gay for another lovely visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmshenley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having heard such positive things about Dorset, I thought I would start out there on Friday and Saturday and then make my way to the purpose of my trip to the antiquarian book fair in Brattleboro, Vt. on Sunday morning. I called and reserved a room by phone for two nights at the Squire House. What a wonderful place. Roger and Gay are charming hosts and it was like staying in an exclusive private residence setback a few blocks from the center of town on 11 acres. They were very accommodating and recommended and made our restaurant reservations (AT&T is the only cell service which works in Dorset), and provided several insider suggestions of things to see and places to go. Breakfast was great and very carefully prepared after inquiring about preferences; their WiFi worked fine and was very useful for an occasional connection to the world. Dorset has an interesting history and is idyllic in its beauty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I took a 12 night cruise to Italy for our 40th anniversary. We came back to the states via Boston then to Vermont to see our son in a play at the Dorset Playhouse. We are Texans and this was our first trip to Vermont, but it won't be our last. We stayed 2 nights at Squire House and what a treat it was. Roger and Gay have turned thier labor of love into a true, peaceful paradise. They welcomed us as if we had known them all our lives. We cannot say enough about our fabulous stay! Our room was spacious, bed was heavenly, and breakfast was delicious! What a great town to just get away from it all and relax. Stay at the Squire House, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
5.8 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dorset Inn
The Dorset Inn
#2 of 7 in Dorset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squire House

Property: Squire House
Address: 3395 Dorset West Road, Dorset, VT 05251
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant but informal, built in 1918 and carefully restored, Squire House is a luxurious B&B on eleven private acres in a classic Vermont village. With only three guest rooms, Squire House is never crowded or commercial. Each guest room has a modern private bathroom, nine-foot ceilings, large windows and central air conditioning. There are five wood-burning fireplaces. Full three-course breakfasts are served on English china in our paneled dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing