We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone to the Dogs!”
Review of The Dorset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dorset Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is another hotel with great potential, but the owners are so intent on accommodating dogs, they are alienating their 2-legged guests!
As with most dog-friendly establishments, the furniture looks like it was picked up at the local second-hand store and the decor is tired and worn. (This is understandable because what owner would waste money on furniture, carpets, etc. that are going to be ruined by dogs?)
Our room had such a strong "dog" odor, the scent had permeated everything. In the short amount of time we were there, like the extreme BO in that memorable "Jerry Seinfeld" episode, the stink had attached itself to our clothing, luggage and everything else. When we returned home, every piece of clothing we had taken with us had to be either laundered or dry cleaned to remove the smell and we ended up spending close to $100 on dry-cleaning! I now know why someone at the wedding we were in the area to attend asked if we had a dog -- because we smelled like one! Of course, had we been able to take a shower, the smell probably would not have been quite so overpowering, but there was no hot water!
Another couple staying at the inn said they were disturbed by a whining dog in a nearby room, which management refused to do anything about. No surprise there! Owners who welcome dogs are always inattentive when it comes to the comfort of their 2-legged guests! But we learned our lesson. We now know where NOT to stay in southwestern Vermont!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calgarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for The Dorset Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2010

We were looking forward to a wonderful stay at the Dorset Inn but instead experienced a run-down room and a facility in need of a facelift. Several family members stayed at the inn in different rooms and we were all shocked by the vast difference in levels of quality from room to room. Our room had an air conditioner from perhaps the first year the appliance was invented. The bathroom was not dirty, but it was really lame with fake wood laminate countertops. The bedding was very cheap and cheesy: the sheets looked like hospital sheets, with writing down the edges. Very industrial. For $300/night, I expect more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bailey0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed at the Dorset for several days while attending a wedding weekend in nearby Manchester, VT. We gloried in the quiet charm of both the inn and the little town, especially after experiencing the traffic in Manchester. Dorset's staff is very accommodating, responding to all requests with smiles and immediate attention. Ask for the large corner room upstairs named "Cephus" -- it overlooks the village green. Breakfast was included, with several good choices each morning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is a special place in a special location of Vermont. It is close to Manchester, where all of the outlets are, and one of the best bookstores around, Northshire. You could spend a day there. The inn is small and very cozy, probably 20-30 rooms in total. Some of the floorboards are crooked as the building is over 200 years old, but don't worry, it has had multiple renovations. The beds are comfy and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Very accommodating, and the tavern for breakfast is a treat. Cinnamon french toast, eggs and all sorts of things await you. Note: If you do have a room facing the "green" (small strip of grass), it can get noisy. For a very small town, there are an awful lot of trucks, but in the summertime people can be outside as well. Hopefully, this will not bother you, but if you can, try to request a room in the back as the street can get quite busy. Great atmosphere, and this is the spot to be in Vermont, Manchester is a gem. Try to drive up Mt. Equinox or take in some of the sights, but either way, you're sure to have a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brotsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Staff was very helpful in accomodating our party, including children, with 3 rooms close together. The inn is extremely clean with large rooms and bathrooms and comfortable bedding. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the inn and both meals were terrific. Grounds are beautiful and staff is wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Dorset Inn is a lovely 200 year old structure and is not large therefore not noisy. The rooms are clean, the restaurant is excellent and the package deals they offer are generous. The room we had was on rt. 30 so a bit noisy overnight with traffic sounds. Nice to have an open window rather than AC but we had to close the window which made it better but still somewhat noisy, nonetheless, I would recommend this inn to anyone traveling the Vermont area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We were looking for a place to spend our 40th Anniversary and came across the Dorset Inn. It looked wonderful online and the Romantic package seemed to be exactly what we were looking for. Our decision to book the weekend was made solely on the information we saw on their web site. It was a risk but looking at other reviews on this site we decided to give it a try. From the time that I called until we left, we could not have been happier with the service and our stay. They made reservations for a sleigh ride that we wanted to take, our dinner reservations, massages, and even our skimobile excursion. They made sure that everything was taken care of. The suite was beautiful and exactly what you see on the website with a few pleasant surprises. They have put a lot into "personal touches" that make all the difference. The food was awesome! The staff was great. The massage was one of the best I have experienced. The only down side to the entire weekend was that we had to leave! We will definately return and have recommended the Dorset Inn to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
5.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
639 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
152 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorset Inn

Address: 8 Church Street, Dorset, VT 05251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range: $192 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dorset Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious lodging, gourmet dining, fine wines & great spirits - all trademarks of Vermont's oldest continually operating inn. Nestled on the green in a picturesque Vermont village,The Dorset Inn has offered traditional New England Hospitality for more than 200 years. 26 uniquely appointed guest rooms & three room luxury suites featuring fireplaces & whirlpool bathrooms. The Wine Spectator awarded restaurant serves dinner nightly. A long time favorite with locals, the Tavern offers microbrew & unique beers, extensive single malt scotch & Irish whiskey list & wide array of cocktails & aperitifs. From the quiet getaway to the outdoor adventure vacation...skiing at Bromley & Stratton, shopping Manchester's designer outlets, hiking & biking on local trails, golfing, kayaking & canoeing, antiquing, perusing museums...all these activities and more are located within minutes of The Dorset Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dorset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing