We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and relaxing vermont inn...”
Review of The Dorset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dorset Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

we enjoyed a thoroughly enjoyable weekend at the dorset inn, a gift from my very thoughtful children :) although i have spent much time vacationing in vermont, i had never been to dorset. the inn itself was very cozy and welcoming on the chilly first weekend of spring, with fires blazing in the many impressive fireplaces throughout the historic building. there was a very relaxed atmosphere about the place, and we found our room, the myrick, to be attractive, clean, and comfortable. when i asked about some bed pillows more similar to mine at home, a very accommodating member of the good-natured staff brought me a sampling of choices to my room, which i very much appreciated. the bathroom was impressive and tastefully decorated, with a large and deep jacuzzi tub. we dined in at the restaurant both nights, and the filet mignon was one of the best i have ever had. anywhere. portions were perfect, in my opinion, and service was excellent. breakfasts were just as good, and served in the lovely sun room area. really very nice. we found proximity to manchester quite convenient, and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teenootahnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 269 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We recently made our annual trip to the Dorset Inn and are always taken by the warmth of the atmosphere and the kindness of our hosts. We stay once a year and they treat our family like royalty. It's wonderful, and though I want to keep it all to myself, I would be remiss in not sharing this experience. Enjoy your visit in this bit of Vermont heaven.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABCD2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a very nice stay in Dorset. When making a reservation be sure to ask for a room not on the main road(quite loud). The food was amazing. We had both dinner and breakfast and had nothing but positive things to say about both. Our stay was a great little get a way. While there be sure to visit the Dorset Playhouse. They did an amazing job and we were pleasantly surprised at how good the acting was.

Room Tip: Not a room on the main road or by the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Jody, thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as your dining experience. The Dorset Playhouse is a little gem in our village -- we are so lucky to have it here and thriving --- the local players are great through the winter months. Do come back this summer for one of the "professional" performances with equity actors. We have done our best to muffle any street noise, with new windows and insulation, but we are in the village so there is some activity. We do have lots of garden-side rooms which are the quietest. We hope you will visit us again soon when time allows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We moved to the Dorset Inn from The Equinox Resort and Spa, which was overpriced and disappointing. The inn was a huge relief - very cozy, warm and inviting, especially to our dog, who was treated to her own "pet guest" bed and welcome treats. Our bedroom on the third floor was small but clean and really comfortable, though not the quietest due to street noise. The tavern downstairs was lively, the food was very good, and the sitting room with fireplace was a great place for a cocktail. The management and staff clearly make a huge effort to keep the inn feeling authentic and running well. Great location too - about a ten minute drive from the center of Manchester.

Room Tip: Rooms that look onto the back yard rather than the street are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DC2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My Wife and I just spent two nights at the Inn. We've eaten dinner there before but never stayed. Upon arrival we were up grated to the Saddleback Suite. Wow, we couldn't ask for anything more comfortable. The first night we had dinner in the dining room and the next night we ate in the bar. Both great. Good food, great wine list, and super staff. If you are looking for a wonderful, quiet, get away this is it!

Room Tip: The Saddleback Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripMember07022015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The front desk staff belong in the gold star category of customer service. They catered to our every request and even sent some forgotten items home. Chef is also a stand out with a grown up menu with things even the most discerning gourmand would appreciate. As far as the brick and mortar goes, while the Inn had provenance, it does show signs of wear and tear one wouldn't expect with such a highly priced rate. Our suite had a super bathroom and two sided fireplace but lacked a fridge. At comparable inns, the dinner is included as well as brunch. A room at the Ritz goes for the same rate.... all said, the staff made our stay an outstanding one!

Room Tip: Saddle Back Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions of The Dorset Inn. We are delighted that you felt welcome and attended to while you were here and that you enjoyed your dining experiences. The people really make the "Inn Experience" for our guests! We would have loved to have heard your suggestions while you were here as far as recommendations for making your stay even more enjoyable. We have two maintenance men on staff as this is a large building and we are constantly fixing and upgrading. The Inn was built in 1796, so it does have some Colonial "charm" which we strive to maintain while offering 21st century amenities . If you saw something which needed improving we would love to have heard so we could take care of it. We do have fridges available and would have been happy to put one in your suite. We feel that the rates for our suites are justified with the luxury bath, fireplace and large living rooms, especially when compared to other Inns in the area. Our full country breakfast is also a plus. Once again, thank you so much for your feedback and we do look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Background: My husband and I are currently in our 30s. We usually plan at least one bed and breakfast weekend each year. We stayed at the Dorset Inn in January 2013. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast in the New England area.

Booking/Arrival: We purchased a great voucher from Living Social for a weekend stay at the inn. We called the inn directly to book our stay and to apply our voucher. Upon our arrival, we checked in and were given a tour of the inn by Gary (who was very welcoming!)

The Inn: The Dorset Inn is the oldest continuously operating inn in Vermont. (The inn was first established in 1796.) Thus, we found that the building had a lot of character but also offered a number of modern amenities, such as flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi, updated bathrooms, etc. The inn included a breakfast room, a tavern, a formal dining restaurant, a business area and a spa. Additionally, there was a common area on the main floor where you could sit by the fire, play some games or just relax. The inn was clean throughout and all of the employees that we encountered were very friendly.

Food: Breakfast was complimentary for all guests and included tea or coffee, a juice selection and an entrée from the inn’s breakfast menu. This was definitely one of our top breakfast experiences at an inn, the breakfast was great! Afternoon refreshments were also complimentary and included hot apple cider, tea and cookies. We did take advantage of the on-site formal dining restaurant and our dinner was excellent!

Spa: I booked a one hour massage with Phillipa. It was one of the better massages that I have had recently and I would recommend taking advantage of the spa during your stay. (Note: Your spa service and tip will be billed to your room, so no need to carry money with you.)

Notes: While the inn is in the quiet town of Dorset, it is a quick drive into neighboring Manchester where there are a number of restaurants, shops, etc. The inn is also within a half hour drive of several ski resorts.

Overall: We would recommend this inn to others and would consider staying again when returning to the Dorset/Manchester area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CherryTravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Manager at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Wow! You should be a travel writer! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complete overview of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again when you are in southern Vermont!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
5.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
682 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
362 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
162 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorset Inn

Address: 8 Church Street, Dorset, VT 05251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range: $170 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dorset Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious lodging, gourmet dining, fine wines & great spirits - all trademarks of Vermont's oldest continually operating inn. Nestled on the green in a picturesque Vermont village,The Dorset Inn has offered traditional New England Hospitality for more than 200 years. 26 uniquely appointed guest rooms & three room luxury suites featuring fireplaces & whirlpool bathrooms. The Wine Spectator awarded restaurant serves dinner nightly. A long time favorite with locals, the Tavern offers microbrew & unique beers, extensive single malt scotch & Irish whiskey list & wide array of cocktails & aperitifs. From the quiet getaway to the outdoor adventure vacation...skiing at Bromley & Stratton, shopping Manchester's designer outlets, hiking & biking on local trails, golfing, kayaking & canoeing, antiquing, perusing museums...all these activities and more are located within minutes of The Dorset Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dorset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing