We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dorset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dorset Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mill River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My Wife and I just spent two nights at the Inn. We've eaten dinner there before but never stayed. Upon arrival we were up grated to the Saddleback Suite. Wow, we couldn't ask for anything more comfortable. The first night we had dinner in the dining room and the next night we ate in the bar. Both great. Good food, great wine list, and super staff. If you are looking for a wonderful, quiet, get away this is it!

Room Tip: The Saddleback Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripMember07022015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    42
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
32
166
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southport CT
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The front desk staff belong in the gold star category of customer service. They catered to our every request and even sent some forgotten items home. Chef is also a stand out with a grown up menu with things even the most discerning gourmand would appreciate. As far as the brick and mortar goes, while the Inn had provenance, it does show signs of wear and tear one wouldn't expect with such a highly priced rate. Our suite had a super bathroom and two sided fireplace but lacked a fridge. At comparable inns, the dinner is included as well as brunch. A room at the Ritz goes for the same rate.... all said, the staff made our stay an outstanding one!

Room Tip: Saddle Back Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions of The Dorset Inn. We are delighted that you felt welcome and attended to while you were here and that you enjoyed your dining experiences. The people really make the "Inn Experience" for our guests! We would have loved to have heard your suggestions while you were here as far as recommendations for making your stay even more enjoyable. We have two maintenance men on staff as this is a large building and we are constantly fixing and upgrading. The Inn was built in 1796, so it does have some Colonial "charm" which we strive to maintain while offering 21st century amenities . If you saw something which needed improving we would love to have heard so we could take care of it. We do have fridges available and would have been happy to put one in your suite. We feel that the rates for our suites are justified with the luxury bath, fireplace and large living rooms, especially when compared to other Inns in the area. Our full country breakfast is also a plus. Once again, thank you so much for your feedback and we do look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Background: My husband and I are currently in our 30s. We usually plan at least one bed and breakfast weekend each year. We stayed at the Dorset Inn in January 2013. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast in the New England area.

Booking/Arrival: We purchased a great voucher from Living Social for a weekend stay at the inn. We called the inn directly to book our stay and to apply our voucher. Upon our arrival, we checked in and were given a tour of the inn by Gary (who was very welcoming!)

The Inn: The Dorset Inn is the oldest continuously operating inn in Vermont. (The inn was first established in 1796.) Thus, we found that the building had a lot of character but also offered a number of modern amenities, such as flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi, updated bathrooms, etc. The inn included a breakfast room, a tavern, a formal dining restaurant, a business area and a spa. Additionally, there was a common area on the main floor where you could sit by the fire, play some games or just relax. The inn was clean throughout and all of the employees that we encountered were very friendly.

Food: Breakfast was complimentary for all guests and included tea or coffee, a juice selection and an entrée from the inn’s breakfast menu. This was definitely one of our top breakfast experiences at an inn, the breakfast was great! Afternoon refreshments were also complimentary and included hot apple cider, tea and cookies. We did take advantage of the on-site formal dining restaurant and our dinner was excellent!

Spa: I booked a one hour massage with Phillipa. It was one of the better massages that I have had recently and I would recommend taking advantage of the spa during your stay. (Note: Your spa service and tip will be billed to your room, so no need to carry money with you.)

Notes: While the inn is in the quiet town of Dorset, it is a quick drive into neighboring Manchester where there are a number of restaurants, shops, etc. The inn is also within a half hour drive of several ski resorts.

Overall: We would recommend this inn to others and would consider staying again when returning to the Dorset/Manchester area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CherryTravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Manager at The Dorset Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Wow! You should be a travel writer! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complete overview of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again when you are in southern Vermont!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I recently had a wonderful experience at the Dorset Inn. It had that wonderful New England charm that we both love so much. We purchased a voucher on Living Social which made it an amazing deal. My husband was able to enjoy skiing at nearby ski slopes with friends who joined us while I was able to relax at the inn with a massage. Phillipa was a great masseuse. It was one of the better massages I have had in a long time! Gary was very welcoming and so accomodating when we first arrived at the Inn giving us a tour. He even went to get some honey for tea for my husband when he wasn't feeling well and called the pharmacy for us to find out about store hours. The breakfast in the morning was amazing and we were all commenting on how it was probably the best breakfast we have had staying at a B&B/Inn. The selection for breakfast was great. You were not limited in your selection. We also enjoyed dinner at the Inn. The food was delicious and the wine list more than met our needs. We all were wishing that the weekend would not end! We look forward to going back to the Dorset Inn soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Dorset Inn is one of my favorite spots for either a weekend getaway during the winter Ski Season, or a perfect place to unwind over a week during the summer months. Christine is so hospitable and always a pleasure to be welcomed back by! The rooms are gorgeous! Lovely updated bathrooms (if you have the option to, upgrade to a suite) as you will be impressed! The food at the Tavern is incredible, strongly recommend the Duck. Breakfast is always a delight in the morning and you can't go wrong with the Eggs Benedict or one of the Omelette specialties. Definitely a fantastic place, highly recommend!

Room Tip: Love the suites! Garden views tend to be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbm0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are always so gratified when guests come back again and again. We look forward to your next weekend getaway at The Dorset Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was the second visit for my boyfriend and me. We visited last year around the same time and had a wonderful trip. The inn has lovely New England charm and the holiday decorations only added to it. We love the breakfasts and the short distance to either shopping or hiking. We haven't tried the spa yet, but we hear good things. Maybe next year!

Thanks Dorset!!!

Room Tip: Since it's an older building, taller visitors might want to ask about ceiling height when checki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_McInerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a lovely three night stay...the inn is as beautiful as the picture and the staff is very friendly. We ate at the restaurant and the tavern...the food is excellent and the atmosphere is wonderful! Be sure to make time for breakfast...the maple syrup is divine! Thank you, Dorset Inn...we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
5.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorset Inn

Property: The Dorset Inn
Address: 8 Church Street, Dorset, VT 05251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dorset Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious lodging, gourmet dining, fine wines & great spirits - all trademarks of Vermont's oldest continually operating inn. Nestled on the green in a picturesque Vermont village,The Dorset Inn has offered traditional New England Hospitality for more than 200 years. 26 uniquely appointed guest rooms & three room luxury suites featuring fireplaces & whirlpool bathrooms. The Wine Spectator awarded restaurant serves dinner nightly. A long time favorite with locals, the Tavern offers microbrew & unique beers, extensive single malt scotch & Irish whiskey list & wide array of cocktails & aperitifs. From the quiet getaway to the outdoor adventure vacation...skiing at Bromley & Stratton, shopping Manchester's designer outlets, hiking & biking on local trails, golfing, kayaking & canoeing, antiquing, perusing museums...all these activities and more are located within minutes of The Dorset Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Dorset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing