We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vermont Getaway with New England Charm”
Review of The Dorset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dorset Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Dorset Inn is one of my favorite spots for either a weekend getaway during the winter Ski Season, or a perfect place to unwind over a week during the summer months. Christine is so hospitable and always a pleasure to be welcomed back by! The rooms are gorgeous! Lovely updated bathrooms (if you have the option to, upgrade to a suite) as you will be impressed! The food at the Tavern is incredible, strongly recommend the Duck. Breakfast is always a delight in the morning and you can't go wrong with the Eggs Benedict or one of the Omelette specialties. Definitely a fantastic place, highly recommend!

Room Tip: Love the suites! Garden views tend to be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbm0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are always so gratified when guests come back again and again. We look forward to your next weekend getaway at The Dorset Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 267 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was the second visit for my boyfriend and me. We visited last year around the same time and had a wonderful trip. The inn has lovely New England charm and the holiday decorations only added to it. We love the breakfasts and the short distance to either shopping or hiking. We haven't tried the spa yet, but we hear good things. Maybe next year!

Thanks Dorset!!!

Room Tip: Since it's an older building, taller visitors might want to ask about ceiling height when checki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_McInerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a lovely three night stay...the inn is as beautiful as the picture and the staff is very friendly. We ate at the restaurant and the tavern...the food is excellent and the atmosphere is wonderful! Be sure to make time for breakfast...the maple syrup is divine! Thank you, Dorset Inn...we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It's better late than never, right? My boyfriend and I spent a weekend here last April, and let me tell you - it was such an amazing experience that about a year later we still talk about the Dorset Inn with alarming regularity. We were in the mood for a nice, quiet weekend away from NYC and this place fit the bill (especially with the generous LivingSocial voucher we used for the weekend). The facade of the Inn is beautiful - a very classic, beautiful home. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom was amazing! Whirlpool - we got an upgrade I believe which was very generous. The entirety of the staff was gracious, welcoming and very helpful with tips about what to do and where to go. They emphasized going to the Vermont Country Store which was a day in and of itself. The store was so interesting and unlike anything we had ever seen, that we spent literally almost an entire day there. The outlets were also recommended and proved a great outing - I got a new bag for a new job I was starting!

The food at the Dorset Inn was FAN-TAS-TIC!! The breakfasts were OUT OF THIS WORLD. The blueberry pancakes were the best pancakes I had ever had (I prefer them to the ones I make, and that's saying something!). My boyfriend and I ate in the dining room the first night, with the full intent to go somewhere else for dinner. That plan changed after eating the wonderful meal at the Inn's restaurant that night. The dinner was so good, we decided to eat at the Inn again the next night, and surely did not regret it. The Inn also introduced me to the St. Germain Cocktail, which I have since made for myself quite a few times.

All in all, the experience here was so wonderful, welcoming and amazingly relaxing that I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice weekend getaway from the hustle and bustle of busy city life.

Room Tip: I hear all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsqOnFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you so, so much for your enthusiastic review! We are delighted that we have met and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit with us and we will do everything we can to keep up the good work -- your kind words are truly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed three nights here for my Birthday in mid-December and enjoyed every moment. We were warmly welcomed by Christine who had upgraded us to a lovely Suite which was beautifully furnished complete with fireplace. We ate every evening in The Tavern, which was full of atmosphere and the food was excellent. All the staff were friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble. It would have been nice, however, to have met the Innkeepers while we were there so that we could have thanked them personally. It was a long way to travel but worth every mile ! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedbird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are delighted that you had such a lovely birthday celebration! The suites are perfect for longer stays as they offer a lovely living room to enjoy when you're not out and about! We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit with us. Happy New Year to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just a few days ago we arrived at a hotel in Vermont. Our experience at that hotel has been posted separately. We left that hotel and made arrangements at the Dorset Inn. The moment our plans at this other unnamed hotel turned sour, we called the Dorset Inn.

Our call to the Dorset Inn was answered by Kristen - she listened to my plea, advised us that two rooms were available and that she would gladly hold the rooms. We arrived just about ten minutes from the time of the call and Kathy (a senior member of this Dorset Inn staff) was at the front door greeting us with hugs and room keys. We were at our home in Vermont.

We have spent the past three days and nights at our home in Vermont. The Dorset Inn remains one of the great Inns. The staff is exceptional, the rooms clean and wonderfully appointed, and the dining offering very fine. There are very few things we don't love about the Dorset Inn.

If you are looking for an exceptional Vermont experience, come to the Dorset Inn. The staff will make you feel like you are at home.

Sincerely, Colin

Colin A, Burns
General Manager
Winged Foot Golf Club

Room Tip: We love the Saddleback Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cburnssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic review! We always strive to make everyone feel at home here and love having guests come back again and again. That is what the "Inn experience" is all about. We look forward to having you and your adorable family visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure 2 years ago to have stayed at the Dorset Inn. We had dined at the Tavern and after a couple drinks decided not to drive home to the Berkshires and spent a romantic evening at the Inn. That was a weekday off season and the owner gave us a beautiful king suite at a discount. We really enjoyed the big bath and sitting room. This time we had a different experience since we brought my kids ages 7 & 10 with us. We were so surprised at the welcome we received from Gary when we arrived. He was so nice to my kids along with the rest of the staff for our entire visit. Our dinner was very good and the Inn, this time on a Saturday night, was buzzing with many people enjoying themselves throughout all the common areas of the Inn. We enjoyed our room, the Ethan Allen, which although small, is very cozy and romantic with a pretty view of the town green. The queen bed was superb, very comfortable. Our kids felt welcome and safe in their room, as Gary made a point to tell them that if they needed anything they should contact him at the front desk. We would highly recommend the Dorset Inn for either a romantic getaway or for a family stay. We can't wait to come back, with or without the kids!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieSlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We find that kids love The Dorset Inn -- it is cozy and kids love the old fashioned games by the fire in the living room. We are so glad you and your family had a nice stay with us -- please visit us again soon! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
5.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
661 reviews
5.2 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
156 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorset Inn

Address: 8 Church Street, Dorset, VT 05251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range: $172 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dorset Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious lodging, gourmet dining, fine wines & great spirits - all trademarks of Vermont's oldest continually operating inn. Nestled on the green in a picturesque Vermont village,The Dorset Inn has offered traditional New England Hospitality for more than 200 years. 26 uniquely appointed guest rooms & three room luxury suites featuring fireplaces & whirlpool bathrooms. The Wine Spectator awarded restaurant serves dinner nightly. A long time favorite with locals, the Tavern offers microbrew & unique beers, extensive single malt scotch & Irish whiskey list & wide array of cocktails & aperitifs. From the quiet getaway to the outdoor adventure vacation...skiing at Bromley & Stratton, shopping Manchester's designer outlets, hiking & biking on local trails, golfing, kayaking & canoeing, antiquing, perusing museums...all these activities and more are located within minutes of The Dorset Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dorset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing