We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming Inn in Vermont”
Review of The Dorset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dorset Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Dorset Inn has everything you could want on your visit to Vermont. Beautifully appointed rooms, warm and cozy tavern, lovely dining room and very hospitable employees. Our room was very comfortable and we loved our dinner in the dining room. However, we loved eating in the tavern at the bar and talking with Patrick. If you are travelling to or through Southern Vermont, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannep_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 272 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Dorset Inn is a well run establishment. Our room was top of the line with king sized bed, large HD TV, and jacuzzi tub. We arrived late, but were not rushed at dinner. Our service was professional. There were plenty of options, contrary to a prior review, and everything was excellent, including dessert. The wine list is extensive and VERY fairly priced. Breakfast in the morning (included in the price of the room) was very good as well.

Dorset is a much better base than Manchester as it is laid back and what we like about Vermont.

Give this inn a try and you will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We are longtime residents of the area and have visited the restaurant many times. This past Sunday after a play we stopped in for a glass of wine with friends and wound up staying for dinner. Although the restaurant was very accommodating with respect to providing a table for an enlarged party (6 total), the lack of professionalism of the service staff was a huge disappointment considering the high prices. The bartender was gruff and unfriendly. The waitress got our food orders wrong, brought extra drinks not ordered, charged us for her mistakes and added gratuity for writing separate checks for different couples (3) in our party without advising us in advance. The food is average and the prices high so we won't be going back. There are better options a few miles down the road in Manchester.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank natasha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

We would like to apologize for your disappointing experience at The Dorset Inn. We greatly appreciate the feedback and sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you once again. Please know that we do expect every one of our staff members to provide the most pleasant experience possible for every guest of the Inn. Unfortunately, we sometimes fall short of our goal of 100% guest satisfaction. We assure you that this is distressful to us as well and that each of your points will be discussed with our staff.

We truly wish that these problems had been brought to our attention in real time when we would have been able to address them immediately. One of our owners was available and we would have been more than happy to have bought your dinner as well as presenting you with a gift certificate for a future dining experience. You would have been more satisfied and we would have been made aware of the situation as it was happening. As TripAdvisor provides anonymity we are not able to make amends as we would like. We do hope you will give us another opportunity in the near future to prove that your situation was the exception, and not the norm. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from a mid-week stay that we found on Groupon - two nights for the price of one.
The inn is very nice. The main common areas show the age of the inn with creaky floors, but rooms are in tip top condition with HD TV and the bathrooms was newly tiled.

The stay comes with breakfast that was well above average; includes your choice of a dozen menu options with juice, coffee, bacon or sausage and a little fruit cup.

We also had a nice evening meal in the dining room. Menu is a little limited, but both choices were prepared well and service was good.

Very easy to recommend, especially on this groupon offer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed_Kal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just to clarify...this is an Inn not a B&B. Much much nicer than a hotel, but not the same warmth as a B&B. The room was lovely, breakfast was delicious, but I missed the personal attention. But it was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zisahmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I decided to get away for an overnight stay at the Dorset Inn because we had heard about the great food and it was close to the outlet shopping in Manchester. We had a nice room on the ground floor, but right next to busy road. It would have been a problem with noise except we had the air conditioner on all night. Don't know if it would be a problem in winter. We ate lunch and dinner on the front porch which was nice. Did have a small issue with landscaper mowing at dinnertime 10 feet from our table, but staff spoke to him and he left. Food was outstanding as was the wine list. After dinner we sat in their cozy bar for a drink. The three rooms were pretty full for dinner as I think this is a favorite with the locals. Breakfast was included with a nice selection and some seasonal offerings. Disappointed only in our trip over to Manchester which used to be a wonderful shopping destination. Most stores are vacant and now the only draw would be the Northshire Bookstore and Orvis except it is a bit far to make a trip just for that. All in all it was a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Take advantage of the onsite spa, but book well in advance.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher level room away from road. We used travelzoo coupon and upgraded, but didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeGeorge_NYHappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I brought my mom and two sisters to the Dorset Inn for lunch. It was so pleasant sitting outside the Inn. We received a warm welcome and excellent service. Each of our lunches were presented beautifully and had top quality meat and produce. Very impressed! I proud to call Dorset home. Thank you Dorset Inn staff. L.M.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetinnkeeper, Owner at The Dorset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely comments. We appreciate the positive feedback so much! We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed a lovely outing at The Dorset Inn. Our front porch is very popular in the summer time. The Dorset Inn enjoys being in the center of the village and a place that our local residents can frequent and be proud of. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
5.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 17 in Manchester
696 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
6.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 17 in Manchester
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrows House
Barrows House
#1 of 7 in Dorset
167 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorset Inn

Address: 8 Church Street, Dorset, VT 05251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Dorset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range: $172 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dorset Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious lodging, gourmet dining, fine wines & great spirits - all trademarks of Vermont's oldest continually operating inn. Nestled on the green in a picturesque Vermont village,The Dorset Inn has offered traditional New England Hospitality for more than 200 years. 26 uniquely appointed guest rooms & three room luxury suites featuring fireplaces & whirlpool bathrooms. The Wine Spectator awarded restaurant serves dinner nightly. A long time favorite with locals, the Tavern offers microbrew & unique beers, extensive single malt scotch & Irish whiskey list & wide array of cocktails & aperitifs. From the quiet getaway to the outdoor adventure vacation...skiing at Bromley & Stratton, shopping Manchester's designer outlets, hiking & biking on local trails, golfing, kayaking & canoeing, antiquing, perusing museums...all these activities and more are located within minutes of The Dorset Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dorset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing