We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Everything was just lovely.”
Review of Silas Griffith Inn

Silas Griffith Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silas Griffith Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Danby B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, Everything was just lovely.”
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We arrived a bit late and were warmly received by the innkeeper. Our room shining clean and the beds very comfortable. The Inn is very inviting, warm and cozy and one can stay there for hours reading or enjoying the outdoors. The innkeeper Catherine couldn't be more caring. We love VT and the way this Inn felt reminded me of a very romantic movie: Baby Boom. Breakfast was delicious - home made by Catherine. I was sad that our visit was so short BUT I will come back - THANK YOU so much for our lovely stay !!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VTfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    1
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

This inn felt like you were relaxing in your grandmother's home. It was comfortable, warm and quaint. We traveled with two families, two kids each. We rented he third floor suite. Three teenagers slept in one room with a roll out bed, and they were quite comfortable. The other rooms were just as fine with a fire place in each room. There was a general area to convene with games and quiet time for reading in the next building a short distance away. Emma's Restaurant served made to order breakfast that was fabulous every morning. Try the pancakes, the best I've ever had! The owners are very friendly, and they make you feel like you've known them for years. Tell them your interests and their suggestions add to the fun of Vermont. Close to ski resorts and shopping in Manchester. Enjoy the Silas Griffith Inn!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewYear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Center, VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We booked the Inn for a family reunion in conjunction with a family member's birthday. The innkeepers and staff could not have been more accommodating as we worked out the details of our family's stay. All the various needs were met without any fuss, and the family was unanimous in their praise of the accommodations. The food, served buffet-style for the main meals, was delicious. I would heartily recommend the Inn for a family gathering. Everything you need is right there...

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank revbobc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Having stayed at the Silas Grffith Inn two years ago we couldn't wait to get back. The beautiful old mansion is very inviting. The food is excellent, and after sleeping in on our second day we thought we would be too late for breakfast, but Kathy welcomed us into Emma's for another wonderful meal. George's room was perfect for a stay on a rainy weekend. Our dog has a great time checking out the grounds and running around out the back. If you are in need of a clean, reasonably priced, relaxing, pet-friendly place with outstanding food, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dog7bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Im really surprised by the last 3 reviews. did they really stay at Silas Griffith. While the host was a very nice woman and knew her Vermont history this place was a mess. I did have a very nice and clean room but the common area and the restaurant were a train wreck. I've never seen so much clutter! The beautiful fireplace in the dining area was full of stuffed animals? The outside had a lawn mower stuck in a corner of the front of the house and junk everywhere. Looking in the windows of Emmas there were dead plants and one window had a shelf with junk on it! One of our rooms had no curtain or shades on the back door and no shades on the windows.. You could see right in!! The common area had many books ,alot of which were about witchcraft. And there were dragon figurines everywhere. Not very inviting. The pool area had no chairs or tables. The pictures on the website are VERY deceiving. The owners are very nice but they have alot of work to do.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Wow! We were looking to go someplace so we could be close to ski areas and found the perfect place. Our room was warm a cozy, with a great gas fireplace. Breakfast was right downstairs in a quaint little family-run restaurant. We got to join the family in the evening and watch TV on their HD set, and slept in late in the morning.

The best part was looking out the door onto the deck and seeing deer eating apples right in the back yard. So peaceful and quiet, and if we wanted shopping, we just drove down to Manchester, which only took about 15 minutes.

We brought our dog and one of the owners brought him dog bones. They even had a dish for food and water in the room when we arrived.

If you're looking for a low-key, friendly place, then stay here. I don't know how they keep their energy up running this place and the restorations they are doing are amazing.

  • Liked — cozy room with fireplace
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank GreatGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

The Inn keepers are a personal couple as is their mother. Unfortunately the website photos and brochure are NOT what we got. The inn is in disrepair, dusty and cluttered in every room including the common rooms, which are stacked with books, magazines,dungeons and dragons, star wars , bric a brac, old plants, wilted plants etc. Emma's restaurant was no exception, loaded with clutter from top to bottom and on every empty space, stuffed animals piled all over, old birthday balloons and bags, a giant green halloween frankenstein, fourth of july flags and banners, you get the idea.. There is also no heat at the inn, which the innkeepers will readily tell you.except for small gas fireplaces ! The common room was too cold to sit and read in and I needed to wear my coat for breakfast each morning in Emmas restaurant. Our room was adequate in size, but dusty on all surfaces, mirrors, tables and not at all decorated as pictured on the website.

  • Disliked — condition of inn, lack of cleanliness and disrepair
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wearytravelerNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silas Griffith Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silas Griffith Inn

Property: Silas Griffith Inn
Address: 178 S Main St, Danby, VT 05739-9658
Location: United States > Vermont > Danby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Danby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silas Griffith Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-built in 1891 by Vermont's first millionaire as a wedding present for his new bride, this Victorian Mansion features custom designed original tin ceilings, hand carved fireplaces and woodwork, and an amazing Round Pocket Door. Walking paths abound on the property, passing organic gardens and wildflower areas. A custom-cooked breakfast is included with your stay. Family owned and operated. Rest, Relax and Rejuvenate in the peaceful countryside of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silas Griffith Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing