We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“won't go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Silas Griffith Inn

Silas Griffith Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silas Griffith Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Danby B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
newbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“won't go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful, but the inn was unbelievably run down and dirty. The inn is need of a serious renovation. The stairs did not look safe and there was bird poop and paint chips on the deck (which easily could have been swept off). Our room smelled musty and was not clean. The bathroom was clearly not cleaned well. The property was nice, but infested with weeds and overgrown grass. There were dead plants on the deck. The common areas were filled with clutter and not clean. Usually I'm not that picky, but when staying at an inn I assume it will be clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kbtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    1
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Silas Griffith Inn in Danby, VT has a story to tell. Kathy & Brian Preble, innkeepers for the past six years, are quite knowledgeable about Silas Griffith and his house which has become a 10 room inn and 35 seat restaurant. We enjoyed hearing the historical facts about Mr. Griffith, who was a true entrepreneur in Danby (and influencial with the town and with the ladies) and he built a most interesting property, complete with tin ceilings, Italian tiled fireplaces and a unique round pocket door, the 2nd largest in the country (reminded me of a hobbit house door!) My daughter and I stayed in Edna's Room which was a quaint room with two twin beds and opened up onto a wrap-around deck complete with rose bushes and black raspberry bushes. This kid-friendly inn (kids of all ages) has a large common room with TVs, books, board games and would be a haven for "gamers" complete with Xbox and more! The inn has a hot tub and pool, though we were not there long enough to enjoy them. For those who can't "disconnect" the wi-fi available at the inn was super fast! We will look forward to returning to the Silas Griffith Inn to see of the ongoing restoration and renovation being planned in the next few years.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusanofKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We chose this inn because of its location & the number of positive reviews we read. However we were very disappointed. The innkeepers are very nice but the room was dark, dingy & dirty. There is so much clutter in the public rooms & restaurant that one can see it would take a whole team of Molly Maids to get it clean but that's what is needed here.
We had dog or cat hair on our blanket, cobwebs in the corners & the towels looked like bargains from the thrift shop - nothing matched & they were very worn.
Breakfast was okay but the pancakes were not nearly as good as the reviews made them out to be & it would be nice if one could get bacon or ham with some of the dishes. There are 5 choices of breakfasts & every single one of them comes with sausage.
All in all not a repeater for us.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeniorTravelor62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Danby hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

We arrived a bit late and were warmly received by the innkeeper. Our room shining clean and the beds very comfortable. The Inn is very inviting, warm and cozy and one can stay there for hours reading or enjoying the outdoors. The innkeeper Catherine couldn't be more caring. We love VT and the way this Inn felt reminded me of a very romantic movie: Baby Boom. Breakfast was delicious - home made by Catherine. I was sad that our visit was so short BUT I will come back - THANK YOU so much for our lovely stay !!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VTfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

This inn felt like you were relaxing in your grandmother's home. It was comfortable, warm and quaint. We traveled with two families, two kids each. We rented he third floor suite. Three teenagers slept in one room with a roll out bed, and they were quite comfortable. The other rooms were just as fine with a fire place in each room. There was a general area to convene with games and quiet time for reading in the next building a short distance away. Emma's Restaurant served made to order breakfast that was fabulous every morning. Try the pancakes, the best I've ever had! The owners are very friendly, and they make you feel like you've known them for years. Tell them your interests and their suggestions add to the fun of Vermont. Close to ski resorts and shopping in Manchester. Enjoy the Silas Griffith Inn!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewYear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Center, VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

We booked the Inn for a family reunion in conjunction with a family member's birthday. The innkeepers and staff could not have been more accommodating as we worked out the details of our family's stay. All the various needs were met without any fuss, and the family was unanimous in their praise of the accommodations. The food, served buffet-style for the main meals, was delicious. I would heartily recommend the Inn for a family gathering. Everything you need is right there...

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank revbobc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Having stayed at the Silas Grffith Inn two years ago we couldn't wait to get back. The beautiful old mansion is very inviting. The food is excellent, and after sleeping in on our second day we thought we would be too late for breakfast, but Kathy welcomed us into Emma's for another wonderful meal. George's room was perfect for a stay on a rainy weekend. Our dog has a great time checking out the grounds and running around out the back. If you are in need of a clean, reasonably priced, relaxing, pet-friendly place with outstanding food, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dog7bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danby
13.0 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
10.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Dorset Inn
The Dorset Inn
#2 of 7 in Dorset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aerie Inn of Vermont
Aerie Inn of Vermont
#1 of 2 in East Dorset
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Inns at Equinox
The Inns at Equinox
#6 of 12 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
11.7 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silas Griffith Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silas Griffith Inn

Property: Silas Griffith Inn
Address: 178 South Main Street, Danby, VT 05739
Location: United States > Vermont > Danby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Danby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silas Griffith Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-built in 1891 by Vermont's first millionaire as a wedding present for his new bride, this Victorian Mansion features custom designed original tin ceilings, hand carved fireplaces and woodwork, and an amazing Round Pocket Door. Walking paths abound on the property, passing organic gardens and wildflower areas. A custom-cooked breakfast is included with your stay. Family owned and operated. Rest, Relax and Rejuvenate in the peaceful countryside of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silas Griffith Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing