We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Craftsbury Outdoor Center
Nearby Hotels
Pine Crest Motel and Cabins(Barton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/28
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jay Peak Resort(Jay)(Great Value!)
$119
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Edson Hill(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Field Guide(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$131
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$125
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Smugglers' Notch Resort(Jeffersonville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
26
10
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
10
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscross country skiingski trailsexcellent instructionx countryoutdoor centertwin bedsnight lifesnow conditionsfirst floorget awaycedar lodgeteachinggroomingwoodsskierswinterlodging
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 41 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have been to CSC three times in the last two years. The location is wonderful as is the food. Rooms are basic. The big disappointment is the sculling program. If you are a beginner or an advanced rower then you will certainly benefit. But for those in the middle, the program is not worth the money...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pthahn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is a great place to bring a family, especially if you want to learn to X-country ski. It is a place to do something with your kids, not a place to send them off with babysitters. The rooms are comfortable and clean, but rustic.
Between skiing, snowshoeing, and sledding there is lots to do for both young and older children.
The new owners have added lots of new rental equipment, wider trails, and a new lodge. There is also snow making, so the skiing is good there when other X-country places have nothing open.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vermontsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Craftsbury Outdoor Center is in rural (as in remote) Vermont. It's beautiful. We rented Cabin B on the lake. 2 bedrooms. One with a full bed and one with two twins. One bathroom and one room that was a living room/kitchen combo. Never used the kitchen because all meals are include in the price. Cabin was spotless but not fancy. There are other bigger cabins on the lake and a lodge with rooms with shared bathrooms. Everything is spic and span.
But the reason to go to Craftsbury isn't for the rooms. It is in the name: Outdoor. We spent every minute we could outdoors because it is spectacular. The trails were not crowded; they were well groomed. You can ski all the way around a big lake right outside your door or go on trails through woods or pastures. The snow laden trees are beautiful. The small farms you ski by are perfectly Vermont. There is always someone to talk with in the dining hall. The instructors are helpful and fun. You can ice skate right outside the area where they rent the ski equipment and give lessons. There are serious ski instructors here for experienced athletes as well as beginners. We wish we would have spent more of our time here. At night, we enjoyed reading by the fire we built in our cabin and talking! Great way to get away from the ubiquitous presence of screens (TV, computer, cell phone). It's rare to find a place where you can unplug and not be camping. I would recommend checking snow conditions because VT often holds snow around Stowe first but even with just 25% of the trails open at Craftsbury, it was plenty to ski on. I heard the ideal time to go is later in January and February.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jude1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I took part in a week-long sculling programme at Craftsbury and was very impressed.
It's basically like a summer camp for grown ups, so expect things to be a bit rustic. Everyone was very friendly though, and the food was fantastic!
They put in lots of extras with the sculling camp as well, like core stability, yoga, lectures, video analysis, possibility of doing VO2 max and lactic acid threshold testing, massage etc.
No mobile phone reception, but satellite wi fi in the main dormitory building.
I would definitley go back for another sculling camp!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coolcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Craftsbury is an excellent cross country ski and sculling center. As noted in the previous review, hospitality can be missing at times. Skiing the last few days of the year can be ragged at many XC centers. Hopefully the new ownership will take this diamond in the rough to new levels.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NEasternUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews