We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the last drive-in movie theaters in VT”

Sunset Drive-In Theatre
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
jericho, vt
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the last drive-in movie theaters in VT”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Make your way to Colchester! VT. Bring a blanket or lawn chair, your own picnic and cold refreshments and sit back to enjoy the night air and a newly released movie or two. The price per person is similar to the local cinema. $7 to $8, but you get 2 movies and can bring your own refreshments. A great summer night of entertainment!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Welcome back to a great movie experience.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The classic experience of a drive in is something that many baby boomers grew up enjoying. And Sunset delivers a good one by offering many of thing things that make a drive-in work. Under each screen there is a playground to keep the kiddos happy leading up to the film. The snack bar has a grill so you can get you fried happiness along with the popcorn, candy, and soda. Most of the spaces are car audio via FM station but there are a few that still have the vintage hang in the window style of speaker. The double feature makes for a nice marathon of watching goodness.

There will definitely be some challenges for drive-ins in the coming years with the end 35 mm film and the switch to digital only format. The investment of about $75K for the new equipment will be a real hurtle for every owner who has to balance his business against the modern economy. So come out to the Sunset while the watching is sweet and in the open air.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jordanvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Totally Rocks!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is like the old drive in, but you get 4 choices. We go and set up lawn chairs in the back of my Baja and love it. Cheaper than all the local theaters...obviously you pay by the person. Also...since gone are the days of the audio that hooks onto your car, you will use your car radio (and battery) to hear the movie. It's not a bad idea to start your car for a few minutes mid-movie just to make sure you'll make it through the night. (There was also a very nice guy who went around at the end of the night and jump started cars, although I don't know if that's a nightly event.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great drive inn with lots of choices”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great drive in theatre. We loved it, but do take some stuff with you to avoid being eaten by mosquitos.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babarage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First drive-in for grandkids”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Took my grandkids to Vermont this past weekend and had to bring them to the drive-in on Saturday night. They had never been to a drive-in so this was great to see them getting excited about their adventure. We pulled in and lifted the tailgate and got them all set to see Planes. It was a great night and although we left after the first movie we could have stayed for all three. We don't have any drive-ins left in our area so it was real fun to sit back and enjoy ourselves.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkJameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Drive-In Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing