We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Run-down and grubby” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Handys Extended Stay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Handys Extended Stay Suites
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
248 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Run-down and grubby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

There are a few good things about Handys Extended Stay - the suites are spacious, it's a short drive to the center of town and the maid in our room worked hard to keep everything clean. However, the whole place is shabby and the management has a questionable attitude to safety. The fire alarm in our bedroom had been removed and the door to the stairway at the end of the third floor corridor was left open during our entire stay - photos attached.

The carpets in our suite were stained, the refrigerator was very noisy, the furniture was dilapidated and there were no stoppers for the sinks in either the bathroom or kitchenette.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with functioning equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pittsburgh_cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
10
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked through Hotwire. Arrived and she said "Do you really need two bedrooms?". My husband said he wasn't aware he had booked two but no we didn't. She said good, printed off some paperwork and handed it to him to sign. Um - that wasn't us. Maybe she should have asked for our names?
She went back, found our booking, and printed it out, asking for a card to pay the remaining amount. We pointed out we'd paid in full already. Oh, yes. She printed it out again and gave us our key. SO what to say about our room? I kept my shoes on at all times as I didn't know what all the stains all over the carpets were. I'm not sure if the cracks all over the plastic doors of the fridge/freezer are legal but they are certainly germ magnets. Not that we used the fridge - we turned it off because it was so loud we couldn't sleep. There was a motley collection of mismatched crockery and glass ware (not stem ware), some of which they had apparently got from the local brewery. The floor in the kitchen area was scuffed and torn - as was the furniture. We went in to the bathroom, scuffed and with some black mould at the foot of the bath - there was no stopper in the basin. Same in the kitchen - they provided you with a tablet for the dishwasher but no way of washing a couple of glasses or a knife - incredibly wasteful. We went downstairs and asked for a stopper. "Oh some of the rooms don't have stoppers, I'll see if we have a spare". She disappeared and came back and said "sorry, there aren't any". We had already paid on hotwire which is non refundable; the only good thing about the place was it was obviously very well cleaned. We decided to stay and spend as much time out of the room as possible in our three days. Free breakfast down the road at Days Inn wasn't worth the walk. On our last morning, I suddenly noticed that the smoke detector in our room had been removed. "Wasn't going to tell you" said husband "but the fire door at the end of the corridor is jammed open".

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Booked through hotwire for a 3 star hotel, got the Sheraton, when I get there, I had booked the wrong dates. Had to call hotwire to fix up problem, spent 1 hour on phone, they cancelled my Sheraton but still needed to stay somewhere 3 nights. They booked me here, at the Handy's extended stay. Was expecting to spend some romantic time with hubby, ended up in a fight! So deceived with the room, nothng to get hot about,compared to what we had supposably booked (Sheraton). Smelly, dirty, rusted, ripped , bent, squicky,old, moldy, small... any negative adjective is common in that room. No more to say than just stay away, unless u are a party animal and already drunk when you booked, that way you don't notice anything.I would never rebook here. Sorry.

Room Tip: pics to come soon, you can deceive then!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This motel is very well located, it is at 5 minutes from Burlington downtown. All rooms are equip with full kitchenette, very spacieuse. Could be a five stars but......It is very very dirty. The stains on the carpet are all over, the microwave is probably wash once à year, you Will not feed a hogg with the pots and pan. When I asked the attendant about it Sherbrooke said thé owner refuse to buy new one. Thé oven and ventilator have not been clean since long time. There is mildew on thé ventilator.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I made several phone calls to the hotel before I arrived because I had questions about the location of the hotel. I had stayed there before but never noticed that the address on the bill was different then the address of the hotel. The staff was very nice to me and gave me directions so I knew I was at the correct hotel. The rooms were clean, they gave me lots of pillows, which is important to me and the staff that checked me in was as nice as the staff that checked me out. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They are all suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chevy4669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was one of the cheaper hotels in the area but would certainly not stay here again.
The kitchen is terribly equipped, refrigerator was not cold, no ice on premises, water was discolored when first turning it on, shower curtain was too long for shower...which meant hanging in the bathtub with some mold given it stays wet, and tv's were mounted in corner of room but were probably 13 inch screens.

Positive - plenty of room with living room and separate bedroom...but that is all I would say.

Pay the extra 25 and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Just don't choose a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at Handy's Extended Stay Suites. We had a suite with separate bedroom and kitchen-lounge. On the second floor, we had a tiny balcony, facing the back of the building, which was more pleasant than the front facing the busy road. Everything was in good working condition. The bed was more than adequate; we slept peacefully (until US army planes started taking off at around 10 in the morning from the nearby airport!). The place was clean, smelled nice, and the furniture was in good condition. The kitchen appliances were clean and functional (oven, stove, fridge, dish washer, microwave, toaster). A minimum set of utensils and dishes were available; we managed easily for a few meals. The breakfast included in the price consists of a 2 minutes walk to the nearby Days Inn. It was a very basic "continental" breakfast with no variety for the 3 times we visited. However, kids seemed to be very happy with the choices. A trip to the local market provided us with a much better breakfast in the room. The staff was agreable, courteous, always available, and ready to help. With the i89 nearby, we were always a short distance by car from our activities. It was an excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: Second and third floor rooms at the back have a balcony and are much more quiet than the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARenaud2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 14 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 14 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 14 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Colchester / Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handys Extended Stay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handys Extended Stay Suites

Property: Handys Extended Stay Suites
Address: 66 College Pkwy, Colchester, VT 05446-3011
Location: United States > Vermont > Colchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Handys Extended Stay Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Handys Extended Stay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handys Extended Stay Hotel Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing