We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay just outside of Burlington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Burlington
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Stay just outside of Burlington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently stayed here for the Vermont City Marathon. Check in was fast and the staff very friendly. Breakfast was the typical Hampton Inn options. The breakfast staff went above and beyond to make me scrambled eggs over the omelet option which I could not eat. As a gold member, I really appreciate that especially when she could have just said "no". My only complaint is it is a bit too pricey for a Hampton and compared to other Hamptons. However, We had a great stay and will return and recommend this location to others!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runnermom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel! Marathon weekend is always a special time for us and the staff really appreciate the work the athletes put in for the competition. With all of the horrible things that happened in Boston only a few weeks prior, we were especially thankful to those who took part in our event. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    349
    111
    28
    17
See reviews for
358
240
55
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Check in was very smooth and Ashley was very pleasant. The lobby is beautiful. Ashley explained that there was parking in back but when we drove around there, it was pretty dark and not really where we felt comfortable leaving a packed car. We parked in front and went to our room. As soon as I opened the door, I was hit with an awful, musty, wet-carpet-that-had-mildewed type of smell. I went back to the front desk and was told that the a/c is on an energy-saving mode and only kicks in when someone is in the room, so the humidity builds up. We were offered another room, which I went to check out before moving. It was on the 4th floor and still smelled bad, plus it had a very outdated bathroom. At least the bathroom on the 3rd floor room had been updated somewhat, so we stayed put. Ashley offered to keep trying different rooms, but it was after 10pm at that point and we were tired. I did however cancel the rest of my reservations and moved to another hotel the next day. The staff was very nice, the breakfast and the beautiful lobby were lovely, but it doesn't make up for the overly soft double bed, dated room decor and musty smell. The 2 rooms I saw are in need of a serious make-over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPeaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of your experience at our hotel. I am very sorry you found the rooms to seem musty and it caused you to shorten your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are looking into ways to address the issue you noted. Thank you also for commenting on how Ashley attempted to assist you. We do plan to renovate the rooms in the next year, so I hope you will consider returning again to see the improvements we have in store. Again, my apologies that your stay did not live up to the standards we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The Hampton delivers again. Value of money $$, Great breakfast, clean rooms, free parking, and relatively quiet. The location is excellent with a grocery store across the street and a private restaurant in the parking lot (The lighthouse $$$$) the only thing that could be done is put some crystal clear in the pool so it wasn't so cloudy. Keep up the good work Hampton staff!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itaewandong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience and description of our property. Reviews from satisfied customers are the best advertising we could have. Thank you for choosing Hampton and I look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton and even though there was a convention there, we were taken care of nicely. We had a room near the highway and I figured it would be noisy. It was very quiet. There was no noise from the convention and the staff we very helpful. Breakfast was very good. I recommend this Hampton if you are in the Burlington area!

Room Tip: This is a split level hotel and all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosePedros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us. So often large groups can have a negative impact on other guests and I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay in spite of it. Thank you for choosing our hotel and I look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff was so fantastic. They allowed us to check in early without an additional charge. The room was clean. The pool was nice. The hotel was in a great convenient location. The breakfast and cookies at 8pm were a special bonus. The only issue we had during our stay were the groups of soccer players playing on the elevators. If that is my only complaint, I think this hotel is doing great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank canadianamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
What a great review of our property! So often a large and loud group can ruin the stay of guests that are not affiliated with them. I truly appreciate your understanding and am so happy you had a great stay with us in spite of it all. Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit and I hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nothing special about this Hampton Inn. The room was adequate and what I would expect from a Hampton Inn. No complaints with the sleep quality or the cleanliness of the room. It was in a decent location with easy access to the interstates and to Burlington.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roaddogg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I appreciate the feedback regarding your stay at our Hampton Inn. The Hampton brand has made an attempt to standardize all of the hotels so that our guests know what to expect when they make a reservation. As our hotel was one of the first Hamptons in New England, our layout and rooms are somewhat unique as compared to the newer properties. I am glad you found your stay to be typical of a Hampton and I hope that is why you have returned to the brand when traveling. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, VT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Rooms were clean. Top floor rooms with dormer windows are dark and feel small because of the dormer. They are good for one person though. The location off I-89 in Colchester means for a quiet hotel. But you are two highway exits away from any dining choices, and about 15-20 minutes from downtown Burlington in good traffic. It's a functional hotel but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank peggys491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our Hampton Inn. Our top floor "dormer" rooms can seem small to some guests. We also have several guests who like that they are unique and have a cozy feel. Luckily, we have 187 rooms to choose from so hopefully we can make all of our guests happy. I also wanted to mention that the restaurant we have on-site is excellent and of the caliber you would find of any in downtown Burlington. It makes it easy when our guests are too tired or don't want to drive. I am glad you were happy overall with your stay and hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
3.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
2.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Burlington

Property: Hampton Inn Burlington
Address: 42 Lower Mountain View Drive, Colchester, VT 05446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Burlington is conveniently located at Exit 16 off of Interstate 89 in Colchester, VT. The hotel features the complimentary "On the House" Hot breakfast buffet each morning with a brand new make your own waffle station. This great property also has free parking, complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Access and cookies and milk each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Burlington Hotel Colchester
Hampton Inn Colchester
Colchester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing