We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Restaurant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We visited the resort for dinner after visiting Leffert's Pond in hopes of seeing moose. We were able to recover our good humor after an excellent dinner and spectacular service. We saw why so many brides choose the inn for ceremony and celebration.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at the Resort, and that we were able to quell the disappointment of not seeing a moose at Leffert's Pond. Now you have 2 reasons to return:to try again for a moose sighting and to join us for another dinner.
Many thanks,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    162
    57
    24
    16
See reviews for
192
227
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Mountain Top Inn & Resort has a beautiful lake, breath taking mountains all around the resort and speedy room/house service. The resort was extremely clean and had so much to do if you have down time. The food was also amazing. The Mountain Top Inn & Resort is a great place for a large party or just a getaway for a few, don't miss out!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive comments about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We hope you'll return soon to see us and enjoy the many fun things we have to do.
Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Mountain Top Inn is a truly magical place for us. It started with a fairy tale engagement on a horse drawn carriage in over two feet of snow this February. Even the horses were named Jack and Jill. It was such an amazing experience! The entire staff treated us like we were family, and by the end of the weekend we were on a first name basis. We knew we had to have our wedding there. We met Chelsea Howe our wedding planner. She did an amazing job helping us plan our wedding in only nine weeks. She was very professional, flexible, accommodating, and thankfully calm throughout the whole process. Due to the fact this was a destination wedding, Chelsea was very instrumental with picking the best vendors in the area. Thanks to Chelsea and the entire crew at The Mountaintop Inn, we had the most amazing wedding, well beyond our expectations! From the variety of lodging accommodations, the endless options for recreation, the most picturesque grounds, and courteous staff, The Mountaintop Inn is unmatched when it comes to a New England wedding! Our family and friends are still raving!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Congratulations on your recent wedding! It was truly our pleasure to be a part of 2 special occasions in your lives; first your engagement and then your wedding weekend.
Thank you for sharing your kind words with others who are planning a destination wedding.
We hope you'll return soon to see all your new friends at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort.
Warm regards,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We rented a private chalet (Greystone) it was amazing!! It had so much room. It also had an amazing hot tub. The staff was extremely helpful. The cleanliness of this place was top notch!! I will recommend Mountain Top Inn over and over again!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessicajoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing the fun you had at your recent 'birthday bash' at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. It is helpful for future travelers to know about our vacation homes ("private chalets") and the helpfulness of our staff. We are glad to have been part of the celebration.
Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Park, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Last September I stayed at the Mountain Top Inn with a girlfriend and it was such a wonderful experience. Last week, I happened to be in Vermont with my son looking at colleges. I decided to stay at Mountain Top Inn for the night. I received such a warm greeting. It was so wonderful to see familiar faces. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Anne at the front desk remembered that I rode horses the last time I stayed there and gave us the equus suite. I loved the suite and was touched by her thoughtfulness. My son and I had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. The desserts are especially awesome!! We really enjoyed the game room. My 16 year old son was impressed with the choice of games in the game room. We had so much fun!! I especially loved the pinball machines and we really went head to head at the air hockey! My son enjoyed the Star Wars game. It happened to be a rainy day when we checked in and the coziness of the blazing fireplaces was so inviting. Breakfast the next morning was as terrific as I remembered.
I want to thank all the staff at the Mountain Top Inn for making our stay so memorable. I had another wonderful stay and can't wait to return. My favorite place to stay in Vermont. I feel like it's my home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for posting another review highlighting your second visit to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. As before, we appreciate that you took the time to mention staff members by name; that is so meaningful to them. We are happy to hear that you found your way back up to see us and that we were part of your college tour of Vermont. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Warm regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This Inn and resort has pretty well everything you can ask for during all four seasons. A recent visit (last week of April) was too late for skiing and too early for horse back riding or pool but the quiet and serene atmosphere coupled with a warm welcoming feeling and professional staff made for a wonderful stay. Due to a major renovation and beautification project at the inn building, which is soon coming to an end, we were upgraded from a booked inn room to a free standing villa complete with 3 bedrooms, wood burning fire place and jacuzzi tub in one of the 2 bathrooms. Handled professionally and courteously at check-in, our initial disappointment of having to stay in a building undergoing construction noise was quickly assuaged by our new exquisite accommodations. Excellent WiFi at no charge in the Inn as well as in the villas is a nice feature. Dinner in the Tavern was a culinary experience, the limited menu allowed the chef to shine in the entrees chosen; the wine list is extensive and tends to be pricey; it surprisingly lacks any selection of French wines but lists many Californian and Pacific Northwest wines. The included breakfast was equally sumptuous with daily special omelets and good tasting coffee! For light sleepers the totally quiet nights surrounding the inn promise a good night's rest! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return whenever we can.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. Joining us in between seasons is the perfect time to enjoy the 'quiet and serene atmosphere' making for a 'wonderful stay'. We hope you'll return soon so you can see the results of our 'beautification' project. When booking your next reservation, let us know which French wine you prefer and we'll do our best to have it waiting for you.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Last August, I was struggling to find a place for my husband and I to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. I had just returned from a 2 week seven country European tour and preferred something a little low key. After much research, I was introduced to The MTI. Of course, I immediately referred to the traveler's bible (Trip Advisor) and was pretty impressed by the comments of past guests. Therefore, we settled on MTI.

Upon our arrival, we were blown away by the view. The lush green grass, the beautiful mountains, and the peaceful lake set the atmosphere for the serenity that we both needed. Later in the day, we decided to walk down to the lake to take in the view up close and personal. As we started to make the trek, we didn't have to walk too far because the GM Khele gave us a lift. Very kind and thoughtful!

I could go on forever about everything. The food, accommodations, service, and activities all exceeded our expectations. My husband and I left marking MTI as "our place". So, when the opportunity presented itself for us to return we did just that. We completed our second stay last Thursday-4/17.

Although there were no
activities, we enjoyed the tranquility. There was no lush vegetation and the lake was like a barren field, but the scene was still amazing. Being able to access beautiful views no matter where we were was priceless.

During our stay, MTI was undergoing extensive renovations. As a result, we were awaken by the construction the first morning of our stay. Later in the day, my husband encountered GM Khele and briefly mentioned the disturbance. Khele was very apologetic as he was unaware that the noise could be heard in the guest rooms. He immediately offered to move us away from the noise. The upgrade was amazing! He offered to help us move and provided nothing but first class service. He even remembered us from the summer!

Since our return, my hubby and I cannot stop talking about how much we needed MTI in order to de-stress and refuel.

MTI is truly a gem in VT. We are grateful to the staff for your hospitality and for always making our stay an enjoyable one. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

John & Michelle C.
New York

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with future travelers. It was our pleasure to welcome you back for a return visit in April. Providing our guests with an enjoyable stay is a team effort: I am happy to hear we did not disappoint. It's great that you have decided The Mountain Top Inn & Resort is 'your place' and we all hope to see you again real soon!
Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Property: The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Address: 195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing