We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Wonderful Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I am not one to write reviews, but after our fourth stay at the inn, I finally had to give it the credit that it's due. Each time we have stayed the staff (from front desk, to house keeping, to the tavern staff) has gone above and beyond to meet our expectations. The rooms are exquisite and the views are spectacular. I highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimieG204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for rating us as a "Wonderful Resort", for taking time to highlight your comments about our staff and for returning to see us four times. We look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth visit real soon!
Warm regards,

Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    162
    57
    24
    16
See reviews for
192
227
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I went with a group of friends the last weekend of March. We stayed in a beautiful home, dined at the Inn, scrumptous, skied, went sledding, relaxed a tad by the outdoor fire and the list goes on and on. We are looking forward to another awesome time at Mt. Top.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with future travelers, regarding your recent stay at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.
Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I needed to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life, and returned to Vermont, a perfect location to do so. This was our first stay at the MountainTop Inn. We were greeted by a friendly, knowlegeable staff that was more than eager to please with bag assistance, room upgrades, and info on the local scene. Room was clean, well appointed, and offered spectacular views. Far enough off the beaten track to give you the solitude you want to decompress, close enough to make short trips into town and the surrounding countryside to explore shops, towns, breweries ad vineyards. A great deal of activities were also on site, sledding, cross country, etc. We will return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leonidas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to create the ambiance of a place far from home, 'away from the hustle and bustle'; yet easy to get to with plenty of fun things to do. Your review indicates that our staff was successful in creating that for you. Thank you for sharing your experience with future travelers. We look forward to seeing you when you return!
Best regards,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill Center, VT
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you are a nordic skier and thinking about getting away for a skiing vacation, you can't beat the Mt Top Inn and Resort. The cross country skiing is superb with over 50 kms of trails to suit every ability. Whether you are a elite athlete or a beginner skier, you can choose from wide trails with sweeping views of the surrounding mountains to the more intimate trails that wind through the expanse of the Green Mountain National Forest land. We had a beautiful room overlooking the Chittenden Reservoir and the surrounding mountains. The staff was very friendly and made you feel right at home. We had a delicious dinner in the tavern located within the Inn and enjoyed the many choices of food at the breakfast buffet in the dining room the following morning. We only stayed one night and skied about 30 kms per day so we didn't have time to try the horse drawn sleigh ride or a snowmobile tour.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimFred_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our Nordic Ski Center was a focal point of your experience. We hope you'll return next winter for another xc ski getaway.
Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was a 3 day/2 night Mom/Daughter get away! We read good reviews so thought this would be a nice place. They were wrong...this is a FABULOUS to stay!! The staff is friendly and like family. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and comfortable! And the food...breakfast was definitely like Mom was making it and dinner was such comfort food! The local ingredients added to the wonderful taste at both meals!!
The property had so much to offer!! We visited in 03/18-3/20. The hot tub was incredible, the trails for cross country and snow shoe were so well taken care of and amazing! My daughter and I enjoyed the backgammon game as well as the tea/coffee/hot cider offered 3-5pm! We wanted to enjoy the yoga classes and the spa but didn't have the time!
Relaxing at the bar, enjoying finger food as we were talking to the other guest was so much fun! The staff had a wonderful way of making everyone feel like old time friends!
We look forward to returning!!

Room Tip: All rooms are GREAT!! bring your own pillows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We appreciate the excellent review that you posted regarding your recent stay. It is always rewarding to know that we exceeded the expectations of our guests. We know that a 'Mom/Daughter' getaway is very special and we are happy to hear we could make yours memorable. Looking forward to welcoming you when you return.
Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
328 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Spent a fine March weekend enjoying the facilities and grounds at this idyllic, Green Mountain gem. Though we didn't stay at the Inn we our son and friends did, rooms and Houses were great. Stunning views from all around the facility. Great groomed XC ski trails. Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful peaceful spot. Well off the beaten path.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We appreciate your positive review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. Although you did not stay with us, we're glad to hear you had the chance to 'check out' our accommodations and use the xc ski trails. Your comments will be shared with our staff so they know how much their efforts are appreciated. We hope you'll be back again and decide to stay with us on that visit.
Best regards,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I brought my husband here to celebrate his birthday. I think we uttered the word 'perfect' at least 1,000 times during our 3 day/2 night stay. :) We loved everything about our stay. The food was great, the snowshoeing was terrific and everyone on the staff was so kind and accomodating. Our room was very nice with a beautiful view. We loved having use of so many trails to snowshoe and explore. The sledding hill isn't just for kids - we had a ball zipping down it (walking back up made us realize we aren't kids anymore, though! Haha) It was exactly the trip we needed to recharge our batteries and to celebrate his big day. Rare is a place that we both say we want to return to before we've even left, but we will be back next year. Truly a beautiful, charming place to enjoy, refresh and renew!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGiocoZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your many compliments. We are pleased to learn that your stay was "perfect' in every way and that we were able to help create birthday memories for you and your husband. We look forward to seeing you again on your return stay.
Sincerely,
Khele T. Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Property: The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Address: 195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing