We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner substandard; rooms and ambiance adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
253 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Dinner substandard; rooms and ambiance adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visited here the busy week leading up to New Year's. Inn was full. Bar was packed with diners. Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby and lounge area so it was full as well. The room had a sitting area with fireplace, a mini bar with sink and refrigerator, and comfortable king bed. Bathroom had a recent makeover with upgraded Kohler fixtures and included a shower and large, soaking tub. Views from the room were gorgeous.Room downsides were grimy wall paper and large dark pieces of furniture. A reservation was definitely needed for dinner and we were a bit ahead of the crowd at 6:30 PM. Our group ordered salads and French onion soup (all tasty) followed by entrees. The entrees were problematic. The blackfish special was a very small serving, much smaller than the other plates. The salmon on a cedar plank was a generous piece of farmed salmon but the cedar aroma was overpowering and had spread to the meager serving of accompanying vegetables. One guest's clams and linguine dish was the largest plate, but 4 clams had not opened and had to be discarded. One guest had sheperd's pie and it was very tasty but in a crock and unaccompanied. Desserts of peanut butter explosion and a cheesecake were vastly overshadowed by homemade espresso heath bar crunch ice cream. The ice cream was the hit of the meal. If you visit with with kids, bring their plastic sleds for sliding on the great hill behind the Inn and ice skates for the little rink across the road. Great outdoor fun center.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
It is disappointing to hear of your displeasure with your recent stay. We appreciate that you took the time to share specific areas that we need to reassess, since that helps us to review things like decor and menu items. Thank you for mentioning the positive aspects of your stay as well; that way we learn what we are doing right, in addition to what we need to improve. Since Middlebury is a short drive away, we hope you'll come back and give us a second chance, and perhaps have a dish of our homemade ice cream. Thank you again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    162
    57
    24
    16
See reviews for
192
227
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the Mountain Top Inn back in October, I had planned to review this beautiful place sooner but it slipped my mind!
Our stay began with a warm greeting by a receptions whose name escapes me for the moment, it started with an M. Regardless, she was wonderful throughout our stay-- our first room had an unfortunate temporary issue with the jacuzzi tub and she moved us quickly to a much nicer lodge room with a fully functional hot tub in the bathroom, we were so pleased!
The next morning we both awoke to watch the sun rise over the beautiful mountains while enjoying hot coffee on the back patio, and then enjoyed a hot breakfast inside while chit chatting with the friendly guests who joined us.
I cannot say a sufficient amount of positive things in regards to this hotel, Im excited to return in January to enjoy a winter retreat.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. For a real treat, choose a lodge room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our front desk staff. It is rewarding to know that the way they greet the guests and handle 'issues' is what keeps guests returning time after time. We appreciate your taking the time to post a review and we look forward to seeing you for your winter retreat.
Warm regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I went here for an event and was a little disappointed. Totally cute location, building and ambiance, but it fell behind in some of its basic functionality. The rooms I looked in were total cabin in the woods, what you should expect from a New England Lodge Resort. I had quail wallcovering with matching window treatments. The bathroom had a nice size jet tub enclosed with a overhead shower.
The problems were discovered upon closer inspection and over time. The room was uncomfortably warm and dry which made it somewhat difficult to sleep. I am usually always cold but this was one of those rare instances where sleeping above the covers still didn't satisfy. I overheard my neighbor at breakfast say they had to open their window to cool off (40 degrees and raining outside). I did not see any controls in the room so that did seem like their only option.
I thought it would be fantastic to take a big bubble bath, but I noticed a good deal of what appeared to be black mold on the tub surround wall tile. I decided to stick with a shower for fear that the bath experience would be disturbing. Not that it was, I just had a fear to find out. The last disappointment was that the fire alarm went off at 6:30am and again at 6:45am in the hallway, for unknown reasons. I knew the sound transmission to the corridor was bad the night before when I mistook house keeping knocking on the door next to me as being my door, but it was even more evident when you are tucked under your pillows hiding from an alarm that the front desk informs you is some sort of false alarm.
I may have just had a bad experience, and like I said the place was really cute and cozy. The breakfast buffet was small but tasty and the service was friendly. If they can tackle the dry heat issue and the black grout at the shower tile it would make guests, at least me and my talkative neighbor's stay much more pleasant.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator so if you are staying more than a night and have large luggage, pack lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Specific comments such as yours can help us to implement procedures that will create a more positive experience for future guests. Making changes to how the fire alarm system works is prohibited, due to fire safety regulations; however we can take steps to make the in-room thermostat more obvious as well as including instructions for operation. Additionally we have advised housekeeping about the grout in the room where you stayed.
Thank you for your positive comments as well, and we hope you will find a reason for a return trip soon.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Could not be more happy that my daughter and son-in-law chose VT as their venue and the Mountain Top Inn instead of a typical "NY" style wedding. The scenery is beautiful, the food is delicious, the wedding coordinators, manager and the staff were a pleasure to work with and did everything we asked for. We love the Inn and the 2 houses we rented. We all want to go back and do it all over again!

Room Tip: You will need to keep the drapery open for more light as the rooms are slightly dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the resort and our staff. Weddings are very important to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, so it is rewarding to hear that we created a memorable experience for you, your guests and of course the bride and groom! We all look forward to welcoming you back to see us.
Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We used a package deal to stay three nights. Although it rained around the clock we totally enjoyed ourselves. Our room was absolutely beautiful and looked out on the lake and the mountains. On our last morning, the rain had cleared out and we saw the most beautiful sunrise as the sun crept up over the mountains. The food and service was quite outstanding and we found all of the wait staff to be extremely effective and most friendly. My only complaint was that the swimming pool heater was broken the whole time because the water temperature unswimmable. We shall always remember our 46th wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Lake-side rooms are the clear choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing for feedback with fellow travelers. We are happy to hear that you chose The Mountain Top Inn & Resort for your anniversary get away; and pleased that we made it a memorable one for you. We are sorry that the new pool was not available while you were with us. The issue with the heater was addressed and it was used regularly all summer. Perhaps a return visit next summer is in order so you can give it a try!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Mountain Top Inn & Resort. It was beyond our wildest dreams! Our guests were all able to stay at The Inn or one of the rental houses on the property, so once they parked their car they were able to stay put all weekend and experience all that the resort has to offer! When we initially expressed interest in having our wedding there, Khele Sparks hosted us and both of our families and gave us a thorough tour. Once we set a date, we were put in touch with a coordinator on site. We had the pleasure of working with Leah Boyer, who coordinated every vendor and decoration with great ease and precision. Whatever we wished, she helped us make a reality. The food was delicious- from the pizza and wings at the Meet 'n Greet, to the passed appetizers, to the reception dinner (herb roasted chicken, prime rib, vegetable risotto), to the late night sliders and fries, and then the breakfast - all of our guests were happily fed! One even said, "this is the best wedding food I've ever had," after having the prime rib with horseradish sauce. There is so much to do right on the property- everyone went for a hike, my cousin taught a private yoga class in the gorgeous studio, they made snow on the hill so everyone reverted to childhood and went sledding, and the horses were an added attraction. The ambiance at the Mountain Top Inn in the shared spaces and the rooms/houses and the barn, combined with the professionalism of all staff members (Anne at the front desk, Ashley serving food, and all bartenders) made every single guest's experience at our wedding weekend a total blast! We highly recommend this quaint and beautiful Inn for a weekend getaway, an overnight trip, or a wedding! Thank you, Mountain Top Inn!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Your thoughtful and thorough review of your visit to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort for your wedding is sincerely appreciated. We are proud to have had the chance to host you and your family & friends for such an important occasion. Thank you for mentioning staff members who were particularly instrumental in providing professional service and friendly hospitality. Be assured that we will share your review with our staff.
Congratulations and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I visited the resort for a 2 night stay for a wedding weekend. I shared a lovely house with seven friends- cozy with big fireplace and comfy lounge, nice kitchen, private outdoor hot tub with pond and lake view. We visited the rustic lodge for a dinner and breakfast (fabulous made to order pasta bar as part of pre-wedding dinner). Staff were friendly and helpful and multiple people remarked on an especially awesome older bartender. We drove down to the lake's beach, just a mile from the lodge, and would be great to use the canoes and kayaks in fairer weather. Despite a popular wedding venue (3 weddings our weekend), it felt like we were the only people there. They did a great job of organizing events so each group felt they were the only guests. Also lots of activities available- clay bird shooting, horseback riding, etc. The cute college town of Middlebury is an hour drive, two hours to funky Burlington, and Rutland is quite close in case you forgot something. It's an amazing place to relax away from it all (but free easy wifi in cabins if you just can't). Enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended, as well as your stay with us. Your positive comments have been shared with our staff. We hope you will come back again for a 'non-wedding' vacation.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Property: The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Address: 195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing