We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Dream Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have vacationed in Vermont many times at various locations. This was the first resort that had it all! Every member of the Mountain Top staff went out of their way to make my stay special! The location is wonderful, our room was very comfortable with a fantastic view of the lake. The food was delicious as one meal was better than another (especially the deserts). I had fun doing yoga and the hot stone massage was incredible with Karen. Jeanine at the stable made my riding experience unforgettable. I loved the cross country jumping as well as the trail rides. I can't wait to go back. I had such a great time and will tell all my friends about the Mountain Top Inn. I certainly got my money's worth. I felt it was reasonable priced and a great value. The experience exceeded my expectations. I had the perfect dream vacation!! Truly grateful to the staff at The Mountain Top Inn !! Rosemary Z.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your vacation at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. Creating a dream vacation for our guests is what we always strive to do. You were able to take advantage of the many activities that we offer and it seems like we did not disappoint. Thank you for mentioning some of our staff specifically, as it is rewarding for them to be praised in a review.
We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 609 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had been to Mountain Top 20 years ago, and finally made our way back. Our room was charming, and the fact that it had a balcony was great. It was a very relaxing stay. The lake is beautiful, kayaking and canoeing were great fun. Even the walk down to the beach was nice. The new Barn facility is great and the pool and hot tub were clean and new. We did a horseback ride and loved it. Now we are thinking about a winter trip back to MountainTop.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieanddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Congratulations on your anniversary! We were honored you chose The Mountain Top Inn & Resort to celebrate. Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay. We hope you will be back this winter season, rather than waiting another 20 years.

Warm regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We used a groupon which made the price $119 a night with breakfast instead of $225 (not sure if that includes breakfast). If I was paying full price I would be been very disappointed. If you want to be a luxury retreat area then at least keep up your interior/exterior. The bathroom, bedroom and dinning room had wall paper peeling off. Our bedroom had a fake picture frame that was coming apart as well as our TV/ Dresser. There were large water stains on the ceiling above the bed as well. The bathrooms looked new BUT if you are over 6 feet you might have a problem fitting under the shower. They seemed to put a jacuzzi tub for one in but never raised the shower head. Also getting in is a bit tricky since they have walls on the tub because it is also a shower. I can't image an older couple having an easy time. Its an accident waiting to happen. The AC is very loud. It is a window unit fit into the side of the wall. But we were comfortable with the temperature. You can hear through the walls and when people shut the door its loud. The door handles are cheap and the key was a pain to use. If would be extremely easy for someone to break into the room.
The outside of the lodge was also peeling and wood was rotting in the back where you would sit and eat outside. They had exit doors blocked and a very large shipment that they kept in the main check in area for 2 days. We bought a $30 picnic meal to take on a hike on their property. Though they say its hiking trails it is really just unkept cross county skiing trails. The grass is very tall but at least it was well marked. The picnic wasnt worth it. Go to the corner store down the road and get yourself a sandwich instead.
You can go down to the beach and take a canoe or kayak out which was great. The pool was very nice (only 4ft deep) and so was the jacuzzi. Great little arcade area in their new Barn where they also hold a yoga class and the gym.
You are only 11 miles from Killington and really VT is so small you can drive to most of the other towns as well.
There were so many little things that just started to add up. When I pay $225 a night it better be immaculate and well maintained.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have views of the reservoirs which are very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate specific feedback and critiques from our guests; it is how we can improve the overall experience. Certainly the "little things" do count and we are dedicated to correcting each of the things mentioned. We appreciate that you added the positive aspects of your stay as well.
As maintenance and renovation of our Resort is an on-going process, we hope you will return to visit and have many more positives to report.

Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a wonderful place to visit if you want a completely relaxing stay amidst beautiful scenery and with lots of outdoor recreational possibilities. Let's start with the scenery which is gorgeous. The Inn overlooks a picture postcard pretty scene of a beautiful lake with the Green Mountain National Forest in the background. Most of the guest rooms face the lake. The sky with the clouds and the mist rising from the lake in the morning can be awesome. Outdoor recreational possibilities are huge. You can hike on miles of dirt roads and trails about and in the inn property and the National Forest, you can swim or kayak on the lake, and you can trail ride on miles of paths or take horseback riding lessons at the stable, located on the property, close enough to be convenient and far enough not to inconvenience the majority of guests who don't ride. The guides, the horses and the trails all seem to be really, really nice. And of course there is tennis, a swiming pool and more. I understand there is lots to do in the winter as well.

Most of all though, it is enormously relaxing just being here. Part of it is the scenery, part of it is the very pleasant and professional staff, but a large part of it is intangible. The place is both friendly without being pushy and refined without being even slightly snobby or stuffy. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all available and the menu is good, one can eat inside in the dining room or the tavern or outside overlooking the lake on the terrace. Oh, and the rooms are nice, too. This was my third stay here in three years and I hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: The rooms vary enormously in price and ammenities. Most, but not all, face the lake. Some have sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinny46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for the detailed review of your stay with us. We appreciate so much, that you have returned three times and we look forward to welcoming you back again in 2014. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of our many activities as well as dining with us, indoors and outdoors on the Terrace.
We know that you have many choices of places to vacation, making your return visits even more valuable to our staff.
Most sincerely,

Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Got a deal from Groupon which made it very affordable. A very nice place far from anything. The view is amazing, it's a short walk to the lake where there are kayaks and canoes available. Got there late afternoon so we got a room facing the parking lot :( the a/c is very noisy and the bed is a bit soft.
No choice but to eat at their restaurant, fortunately the food is very good. Wish they would offer a table d'hôte menu.
They have a nice pool, a bit shallow and an outside hot tub. All in all a nice place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issybella00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Vermont. It is always helpful to hear feedback regarding the Resort and we appreciate your suggestion for a table d'hôte menu. It sounds as if you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had a groupon for the Mountaintop Inn, and we used it as an overnight stay on our way to Northern Vermont. It has the typical - lake with canoeing and kayaking, a pool, plenty of hiking trails. a good workout room. I thought the staff was very nice. Breakfast was good, and the on-site restaurant was reasonable. If you are looking for a modern resort, this is not the place. With the groupon rate, we were satisfied with out stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSVinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. You touched on many of the features that we hope our guests will enjoy. We hope you will find your way to Vermont to see us again soon.

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Some things to know.

1. We rented a house that was "lakeview" only to find that our house is over a mile from the lake with no view. Nice house but no view.

2. It is a nice piece of property but everything is spread out.

3. The staff is not warm. They seem tired and frazzled. Groupon must have created too much traffic to this quaint inn.

4. There are so many little things that could be better. No alcohol at the pool unless it comes from the inn, but no wait service at the pool. No snack bar at the lake which is a mile from the inn. And the facility is there. The lakefront could use some work.

5. If you have a horse, this place is ideal. There really are no other activities. How can the activity center not have hiking maps of the surrounding areas? How hard would that be?

They need some good management. It is a nice place but there is a reason they had to do groupon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdr138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your suggestion for offering snacks at the beach is great feedback and we are already planning to include that service in the summer of 2014.
It is unfortunate that we did not communicate to you the list of activities we offer so you could have enjoyed them: complimentary kayaks and canoes, pontoon boat rides, clay bird shooting, fitness center, tennis court and sand volley ball to name just a few; all in addition to the pool and horseback riding.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again, when you can enjoy more of the options available to our guests.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
433 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range: $245 - $2,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing