We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for their cancellation policies!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Watch out for their cancellation policies!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had to cancel my reservations a full 6 weeks ahead of my reservations and they required me to pay a 10% refund fee from my reservation total. Although I just now found this policy on their website, I don't recall being told about it at the time of the reservation. They also told me that if I had to cancel within 30 days they would not have given me any kind of refund at all!

I realize they are a small hotel but policies like this are not very guest-friendly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank suzanne2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It is unfortunate that you had to cancel your reservation with us, as we know how disappointing it is when we are unable to take a trip that we have planned. As you mentioned we detail our cancellation policy on our website and it is stated on the confirmation letter that our guests receive; we will make every effort to be more consistent about telling guests when they book a reservation with our staff. Thank you for your feedback which will help us communicate more clearly with our guests.

Regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    164
    57
    24
    18
See reviews for
198
229
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed the Mountain Top Inn so much that we will make it our annual vacation spot.
We have visited multiple times, staying in various vacation rentals, the cabins as well as the Inn rooms and they never disappointed. There are many reasons to be impressed by the Inn and its staff but here are a few points that have stood out to us during our stays:
• We have never experienced a friendlier, more heartfelt and accommodating staff anywhere. This goes for everyone from the front desk, housekeeping, wait staff bartenders and management. They truly make you feel like friends.
• The rooms and houses have always been extremely clean, including the pet friendly ones.
• At full occupancy, the Inn remains surprisingly peaceful and private; never feeling crowded. The Inn has been completely booked, yet we still felt as if we were staying at our own private resort.
• The Mountain Top does a remarkable job maintaining its beauty by keeping the grounds well manicured and seasonally decorated. Lunch on the outdoor patio is really an experience with the breathtaking views that are accompanied by the unusually common humming birds that buzz around the patio flowers in the summer months.
• The Inn and staff are attendant but non-invasive and they pull it off extraordinarily well. For example, canoes and kayaks line the beach and are available to explore the reservoir at any time. There is no need to have to “check them out” before your excursion giving a sense of having “free-range”
Again, just a few qualities noticed at Mountain Top that keep us coming back. We’ve had such positive experiences that we chose to get married here. Other venues we interviewed with were all trying to fit our wedding into a “box” and Mountain Top was the first place to ask how they could customize the day to our needs. This attitude is a small taste of what you’re in for if you choose to stay with them and if you don’t, you’re missing out!

Keith, Kristin & Maybelle

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review of The Mountain top Inn & Resort. We certainly appreciate your positive comments and the details of why other travelers would enjoy staying with us. We are excited to hear that we are your vacation choice for your annual trip and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a great experience this was. We attended a wedding on the grounds of this Inn. We stayed in a hotel the night before the wedding, and the quality just wasn't there. We drove to the Inn in the morning, walked in and Ellen was there to greet us with open arms. We explained that we would like to stay the night as we were attending a wedding there. Not only did she get us a beautiful room, she went out of her way to let us get in there earlier than check in. The entire staff of this resort was polite, accommodating and made us want to plan a trip back. I would advise and encourage anyone visiting this area to stay here. There is just no comparison to anything else in the area.

Room Tip: Overall, this is a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. We are always happy to hear that our staff offered polite, accommodating service throughout your stay. We shared your comments with them so they are aware of how important great service is and that their attentiveness means you want to return to see us again at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort.

Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Our wedding was yesterday (May 17th) at this venue. My wife and I were extremely impressed, and could not have asked for a better day.

We had two ceremonies (we are multicultural) and a reception, all at different sites. We can say White Birches, the knoll where the altar is, and the beach pavilion all have stunning views (assuming you love mountains and lakes)! We had the smaller reception site, the pavilion at the beach, which is on a gorgeous lake surrounded by mountains. We cannot attest to the Barn, (which is where larger ceremonies are held), but the views from there are also nice. Everywhere near these three sites is gorgeous. Im sure it helps we had excellent weather though. If you are searching for a Vermont wedding for picturesque views, I'm not sure you can beat this place. And our wedding is in May; if you can get a fall wedding here it's probably even more gorgeous.

The staff at this resort execute smoothly and professionally. Our wedding coordinator Lauren was fabulous; whatever we needed she arranged. She even called in a favor to a friend to open the town hall when I lost our marriage license the morning of the wedding! No matter what we needed she took care of. One of the most helpful people I've ever met.

The waitstaff was also professional, friendly, and executed beautifully.

The White Birches house is gorgeous, as our family rented it for the night. There's a hot tub in almost every bedroom and there's one on the main deck, and the whole thing overlooks a nice pasture surrounded by mountains.

The Beach pavilion was an excellent reception site. The windows are huge, there's a great breeze, and it's very "Vermonty" (cabin like). It's also on a lake packed with kayaks; our guests loved using them at various points!

All in all, with the staff, views, and quality of the facilities on site, I could not have asked for a better day.

One minor negative note: if you rent one of the private houses, that does not include breakfast in the lodge. Our family of 9 rented a house (the Horsehoe) for two nights (roughly 1000$) were charged to eat breakfast in the lodge.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank counterweight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding! Thank you for allowing us to play a major part in your special weekend. Your positive review is certainly appreciated; in particular thank you for mentioning your wedding coordinator. We appreciate your feedback and we all hope you'll be back again to celebrate your anniversary with us.

Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Vermont, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We dine in the Tavern quite often and always enjoy it.Great food super service . Have only dined
there and have not stayed there but the place is really beautiful all the way around.One of the best views anywhere.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your excellent dining review. We appreciate hearing from our neighbors in Mendon.

Regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I and also our Golden Retriever Sampson stayed here for two nights in March. We had booked a dog friendly room but when we checked in, they had upgraded us to a huge vacation rental, Wintergreen North! We drove the two minutes away from the lobby, and WOW! We couldn't believe our eyes, that place is huge and beautiful, we suddenly wished we had brought more people along with us to enjoy it. The kitchen is huge and beautiful with a nice island, living room with a fireplace, dining room, family room, two nice bedrooms upstairs, and two bathrooms, one with a Jacuzzi style tub with a window overlooking the snowy woods! It was breathtaking, and we didn't want to leave! There are also extra rooms that they can unlock if you need more that the two bedrooms. We took out all of our meals from the restaurant, and all of the food was delicious! The mac and cheese with Vermont cheddar was my favorite! There are many activities to do as well, we snow-shoed with our dog through the woods, it was so nice! I was disappointed though that we could not take a ride on the horse drawn sleigh as it was a day off for the horses, and I understood completely. They need a break too! Maybe next year I will get to do that. We will be back for sure. Very friendly service all around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are pleased that we were able to upgrade you to one of our vacation homes and apparently exceed your expectations! Your comments have been shared with our staff so they know how much their efforts were appreciated. Glad to hear you'll be back again (with Sampson) for another vacation at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. Let us know in advance so we can ensure your arrangements for a horse drawn sleigh ride.

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for a wedding this past weekend and it was a really wonderful experience. The staff was nothing but courteous and extremely helpful; the grounds are so vast and and beautiful and there is an amazing view looking out from the lodge!
We stayed in the main lodge which was very nice (may need a little updating in the rooms but still very nice and no complaints). I got a chance to look around some of the houses where our other guests were staying and they were gorgeous! The wedding reception took place in the barn which is also stunning.
Its a little bit out in the middle of nowhere (which certainly adds a lot especially if you are looking to escape the stresses of everyday) so not sure how soon we will get back there but nevertheless I would certainly recommend the MTI to anyone who appreciates the beauty of the NE region and needs a real breath of fresh air.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aronyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your observations of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort with other travelers. We know it is a long trip from FL, however we hope you'll find your way back up to Vermont to once again see the beauty of the region and enjoy "a real breath of fresh air".
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
21.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
414 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
22.8 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
582 reviews
22.2 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Property: The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing