We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Vermont
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I've been coming to Rose Arbour for many years,even before the present owner.It's always a wonderful experience whether for lunch or high tea.Delicious,creative food,lovely tea,fun gift shop.Time for another outing to Rose Arbour!The scones are WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LJBVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were the only guests at Rose Arbour on the day after Christmas. Our three-room suite was a delight, with antique decor, books, a cozy stove and a view of the town. The tea room and gift shop downstairs serve a variety of treats, but the most unique is the work of the artist/inn-keeper, Suzanne Nielson. Her paintings of horses dominate, and her friendly manner makes us want to return.
The room itself, with an imposing four-poster, featured a very comfortable bed, with a private bath. We both slept well. The old Vermont farmhouse is well-maintained and comfortable, certainly worth the price of admission. We found the breakfast personalized and very satisfying.
Rose Arbour is right in the heart of Chester. And we recommend a short walk around town, as well as a visit to the Misty Valley bookstore and Country Treasures fabric shop, both outstanding.

Room Tip: Go for the suite. The three rooms make you feel special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay in the Chester area you MUST consider the Rose Arbor Bed and Breakfast. The owner/manager Suzanne keeps the house in beautiful condition, the bed room was very cozy and we loved the communal sitting area. There are all kinds of fun knick-knacks too examine and plenty of books to choose from should you want to read. She does have animals, two super friendly dogs and a very cute three legged cat, which we personally loved. If you aren't particularly fond of animals don't be put off! She keeps the dogs secured at all times (unless you make it known you don't mind them free roaming) and the cat will not bother you. Oh, and the breakfast! Everything she served us was fantastic! The only word of caution I'll give: if there is something you don't like to eat, let her know first. We liked being surprised by a mystery breakfast since we will eat pretty much anything. The dining area was very nice with large windows looking out on a few bird feeders that were never lacking activity. Suzanne was a pleasant woman. She is wonderful to talk to and very knowledgable of the area. If you're not looking for a place to stay she also offered high tea and a lunch, neither of which we had...but I'm willing to bet both are great. This was overall one of my favorite vacations, thanks so much Suzanne!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelsyB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stopped in at the Rose Arbour for a snack after a long day of cycling. It hit the spot! The decor is super cute and English-inspired. We had a pot of tea (which contained three cups), a hearty bowl of stew, and a nice scone. The pot of tea was covered in a flowery tea cozy. The hosts were very friendly. Would love to come back and stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Branden55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

One of the pleasantest bed and breakfast inns I've ever stayed in, either here or abroad, Rose Arbour was a delightful place to relax and have an enjoyable weekend with my husband and my sister and her husband. The hostess, Suzanne, is friendly without being intrusive and her food is just plain delicious. There is a comfortable sitting room for conversation or curling up on the soft couch and another small common room that's perfect for sitting and reading a good book (bookcases had a variety of literature and non-fiction to suit most tastes - a big plus, even though I always travel with one or two books just in case!). The breakfast/tea room has a bay window through which you can watch the birds coming and going to a variety of feeders - a real pleasure that added so much to breakfast time. Nice strong coffee or a variety of black or herbal teas, delectable scones, and scrumptious breakfasts - just the right amount of food to leave you feeling satisfied, but not over-full. Rose Arbour is a lovely Victorian house that has been nicely adapted to a B & B. It is just off the main street and the green, quiet, with a homey, period feel - not overdone Victoriana, but instead a gentle reminisence of an earlier, slower time. We loved the house and thoroughly enjoyed the friendly conversation with Suzanne and her parents. We'd definitely go again if we're down that way!

Room Tip: All three rooms are comfortable and cozy, excellent beds and quiet nights; BTW there are shades on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleneGMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We drive 1.5 hrs a number of times a year to get to the Rose Arbour for high tea. Suzy, the manager, is a very talented baker and a pleasant hostess and she prepares nearly everything from scratch (sandwiches, scones, fresh fruit dipped in chocolate, lemon cake). The tea is served in a dining room which also features various gift items and tea paraphernalia for sale. The Scottish Christmas high tea is a very nice experience at holiday time. Note that high tea requires a reservation in advance.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FitzwilliamTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our stay at Rose Arbour was lovely! It is a grand old Victorian home that has been converted into a tea room, gift shop and B&B. The B&B is beautifully and comfortably appointed. The common living area has the kind of feel that encourages you to tuck your feet under you on the sofa and enjoy a good read. The beds are very comfortable, sleep restful (we sleep better there than we do at home!), and the hostess gracious. The delicious homemade morning breakfast is practically worth the stay all on it's own.

The weather was a bit warm when we arrived, but our host Suzanne had a window air conditioner already in our room for us to compensate. Rose Arbour's slightly squeaky floorboards, pull-chain ceiling lamps and old doors add to it's charm. It is not new and polished like a modern hotel, but it is cozy and comfortable... just what I expect from a B&B. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CookByMarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
6.3 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Motel in the Meadow
Motel in the Meadow
#1 of 1 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fullerton Inn
Fullerton Inn
#5 of 9 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#2 of 9 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 55 School Street And Canal, Chester, VT 05143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Arbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing