We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Coventry, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a charming place!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay in the Chester area you MUST consider the Rose Arbor Bed and Breakfast. The owner/manager Suzanne keeps the house in beautiful condition, the bed room was very cozy and we loved the communal sitting area. There are all kinds of fun knick-knacks too examine and plenty of books to choose from should you want to read. She does have animals, two super friendly dogs and a very cute three legged cat, which we personally loved. If you aren't particularly fond of animals don't be put off! She keeps the dogs secured at all times (unless you make it known you don't mind them free roaming) and the cat will not bother you. Oh, and the breakfast! Everything she served us was fantastic! The only word of caution I'll give: if there is something you don't like to eat, let her know first. We liked being surprised by a mystery breakfast since we will eat pretty much anything. The dining area was very nice with large windows looking out on a few bird feeders that were never lacking activity. Suzanne was a pleasant woman. She is wonderful to talk to and very knowledgable of the area. If you're not looking for a place to stay she also offered high tea and a lunch, neither of which we had...but I'm willing to bet both are great. This was overall one of my favorite vacations, thanks so much Suzanne!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelsyB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stopped in at the Rose Arbour for a snack after a long day of cycling. It hit the spot! The decor is super cute and English-inspired. We had a pot of tea (which contained three cups), a hearty bowl of stew, and a nice scone. The pot of tea was covered in a flowery tea cozy. The hosts were very friendly. Would love to come back and stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branden55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

One of the pleasantest bed and breakfast inns I've ever stayed in, either here or abroad, Rose Arbour was a delightful place to relax and have an enjoyable weekend with my husband and my sister and her husband. The hostess, Suzanne, is friendly without being intrusive and her food is just plain delicious. There is a comfortable sitting room for conversation or curling up on the soft couch and another small common room that's perfect for sitting and reading a good book (bookcases had a variety of literature and non-fiction to suit most tastes - a big plus, even though I always travel with one or two books just in case!). The breakfast/tea room has a bay window through which you can watch the birds coming and going to a variety of feeders - a real pleasure that added so much to breakfast time. Nice strong coffee or a variety of black or herbal teas, delectable scones, and scrumptious breakfasts - just the right amount of food to leave you feeling satisfied, but not over-full. Rose Arbour is a lovely Victorian house that has been nicely adapted to a B & B. It is just off the main street and the green, quiet, with a homey, period feel - not overdone Victoriana, but instead a gentle reminisence of an earlier, slower time. We loved the house and thoroughly enjoyed the friendly conversation with Suzanne and her parents. We'd definitely go again if we're down that way!

Room Tip: All three rooms are comfortable and cozy, excellent beds and quiet nights; BTW there are shades on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleneGMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We drive 1.5 hrs a number of times a year to get to the Rose Arbour for high tea. Suzy, the manager, is a very talented baker and a pleasant hostess and she prepares nearly everything from scratch (sandwiches, scones, fresh fruit dipped in chocolate, lemon cake). The tea is served in a dining room which also features various gift items and tea paraphernalia for sale. The Scottish Christmas high tea is a very nice experience at holiday time. Note that high tea requires a reservation in advance.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FitzwilliamTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our stay at Rose Arbour was lovely! It is a grand old Victorian home that has been converted into a tea room, gift shop and B&B. The B&B is beautifully and comfortably appointed. The common living area has the kind of feel that encourages you to tuck your feet under you on the sofa and enjoy a good read. The beds are very comfortable, sleep restful (we sleep better there than we do at home!), and the hostess gracious. The delicious homemade morning breakfast is practically worth the stay all on it's own.

The weather was a bit warm when we arrived, but our host Suzanne had a window air conditioner already in our room for us to compensate. Rose Arbour's slightly squeaky floorboards, pull-chain ceiling lamps and old doors add to it's charm. It is not new and polished like a modern hotel, but it is cozy and comfortable... just what I expect from a B&B. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookByMarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkinsville, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This will be our 3rd or 4th trip to Rose Arbour - a regular stop whenever we visit the area. Being British, it's lovely to find somewhere with "proper" tea (Fortnum's), AND excellent home made scones. This time my wife and I also had lunch, fresh garden vegetables in my wife's salad and a excellent cheddar Ploughman's for me - we tried to resist the scones, but failed. We have also stayed overnight in the past and find it a homey little corner of Vermont. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth_of_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I waited a week to write my review, because I wanted to make sure I wasn't just writing out of exhaustion. Pros: My husband and I booked a night at the Rose Arbor last minute for only $90 which included a full breakfast, and everything seemed like it was going to be perfect, the place looked quaint, the hostess was very sweet, and there were adorable animals everywhere. Cons: There was only a small screen for one of the two windows, and no fan for air flow, so we were baking all night. There were bug skeletons in the bed, lady bugs, which was weird but totally gross. There were no blinds on the windows, so at about the hour it cooled down enough to sleep, the sun was beating in on us. We ended to bolting at 8am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne_Nielsen, Manager at Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I am so very sorry to hear that your stay was so uncomfortable for you. If only you had asked, I could have provided for all of those needs. Sadly I couldn't offer my hospitality to you because no mention was ever made to me. Not even when you left. I am always happy to do whatever I can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. For me you are a guest in my home, not just a business. I do apologize if there were ladybugs, as this time of year they do come out. However, as the sheets were freshly laundered and the bed freshly made everything should have been ship shape. Is it possible it rode in on you from outside? Again so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Next time in your travels, give the host a chance to rectify the situation to your satisfaction, and I bet your stay will be wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.3 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chester
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
0.7 mi away
The Karass Inn
The Karass Inn
#6 of 9 in Chester
8 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 55 School St, Chester, VT 05143-9242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Arbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing