We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugg!”
Review of Old Town Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Town Farm Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
hartford ct
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ugg!”
Reviewed December 29, 2007

The resturant at this inn has great reviews! We made the assumption that the Inn would be just as nice. We were so disappointed. The room was small, the bathroom tiny without even a towel rod. No attention to minor details. Old and worn out. Would not recommend. We paid first night and check out. Owners were pleasant but must be putting all their effort into resturant. Also, tripped going in, driveway all ice and path to back door not shoveled.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpblooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chowhound, Owner at Old Town Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2008
Its really true, no matter what you do, there are some people you just won't be able to please. We've never paid much attention to this site beyond signing up several years ago. But a regular guest told us this weekend about this really unjustified review so we had to respond.

We''ve been here since 1999, and take what we do seriously. The vast majority of our business is repeat visitors. Our guest book is filled with praise about our food, our place, our service, and the entire experience. If you;re in the area, stop in take a peek. Our misson here is to provide guests a whole vermont experience, not just a place to lay their head at night. We enjoy our job immensely when our guests are having a great time! We have had people come up here on a getaway, return to get engaged, and return again for us to host their families and their wedding. There are many independant reviews by professional journalists and travel writers. We've been featured and endorsed by national magazines, and were a date location for an ABC family TV reality show. So this review really baffled us. It just ain't so, as they say up here.

We looked in the booking notes to jog our memories and things became a bit clearer. Its pretty rare that someone checks out early, unless its weather or emergency related, more about that later. But it does happen, and of course it is a concern to us being a seasonal business we really want to minimize this so we do keep notes. This person requested a less expensive available room and upon arrival asked if they could look at other rooms. This is not unusual, many people are curious about the place when they come up. So, as usual we accommodated and showed them whatever rooms that were at that time vacant. We don't show rooms that have a checked in guest, even if the guest is out, that just isnt right.

The room they saw was much bigger, and they asked for a free "upgrade' to it. They were disappointed when we told the the larger room they wanted was already booked and would not be available. At breakfast he told us they had to check out due to a friend who was scheduled to join them skiing later that next day would not be joining them due to a medical emergency and they had to go back home right away.

There was a indeed a friend who had booked to arrive the following day. they did cancel their trip up, but he cancelled before the reviewer arrived, and cancelled due to the bad weather and hazardous road conditions that day. A quick check of the history page at weather underground weather site proves that on that day, December 29 there was a freezing rain, a half inch of it recorded for our town which did give us a not so nice half inch glazing of pure ice over everything. Over the years, history has taught that bad weather can account for things like friend's medical emergency that requires urgent return home. Its an unfortunate part of outdoor recreation related lodging business.

The fact that Michiko is from Japan says all we need to about housekeeping. The towel bar comment has us baffled though. there have been times when guests (generally kids) have managed to either pull or knock a towel rod off the wall, but we do clean the rooms every day and repair what needs to be repaired, so they are there.

We, like all other licensed lodging in Vermont are subject to random, unannounced inspections by the state health department. We score very very well every time and are happy to provide copies of inspections by the official state sanitarian to anyone who requests.

As much as we try sometimes it is just not possible to stay on top of freezing rain here in Vermont. That was one of those days. Some days it falls and freezes on the cold ground faster than the sanding contractors can make their rounds re-sanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 3, 2005

We stayed at the Inn & attended a wedding. The rooms were simple but immaculate. Our hosts were very gracious & friendly. The food was out of this world!!! Everything was delicious. The wedding was perfect. We felt very welcomed & at home. Dog friendly too!!! Would highly recommend & can't wait to go back!! Definetly a place not to overlook!! Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2004

We stayed at the Old Town Farm Inn in early November 2004, and had a most wonderful stay. Our hosts were extremely friendly and our accommodations were great. We played board games in front of the roaring fire, enjoyed some quiet time by the pond, and just generally relaxed. :) We had dinner at OTFI, with AMAZING Japanese food by Michiko. The best sushi we've ever had. Breakfast was also wonderful - a traditional eggs, bacon and pancake meal with tons of fresh fruit. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 21, 2004

My now fiancé and I stayed at the Old Town Farm Inn during Valentine's Day 2003. When we first arrived at the hotel I was just a tad disappointed that it wasn't the elegant building I had imagined. However, the second we walked in the Inn and met the owners, I realized that we were in Chester to spend time with one another and enjoy the surroundings, not be lavished in a resort. We were quickly shown our way around the inn and brought to our comfortable room, the previous review is accurate, there are no fancy amenities in the room, after the initial shock of this, I began to be thankful for not having those distractions. The owners were more then gracious to allow us to use their telephone anytime we needed, which was not that frequent considering the abundance of activities in the area! We were treated each morning to an excellent breakfast and conversation with other guests and the owners. The property the Inn sits on is amazing, everything was covered with several feet of white powdery snow, we trekked up the hill in the back with our new sled from the local hardware store and sled all afternoon. We were treated with a warm fire upon our return to the Inn. My fiancé proposed to me in the common room, and it couldn't have been a more perfect location for something so special. We will return to the Inn as a married couple, there is no where else that we would rather stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 12, 2003

This is a no-frills B&B a few miles outside of Chester VT. The Inn itself is clean and the owners are nice and accomodating. Our room was very simple and small - literally a bed and a dresser. No TV or extras.
We had our own bath, but they neglected to tell us it was just outside our room, rather than in it. The breakfasts were EXCELLENT - not fancy, but filling and tasty - home cooking at it's finest. If you're looking for a simple and affordable place to stay, this is fine, but don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room. There is a common area with Satellite TV, but there is a room just off of this room, so if this would bother you, you might want to make sure you request a room upstairs.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
4.3 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
474 reviews
4.0 mi away
Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chester
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
4.7 mi away
The Karass Inn
The Karass Inn
#7 of 9 in Chester
8 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Farm Inn

Property: Old Town Farm Inn
Address: 665 Vt Route 10, Chester, VT 05143-9656
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing