We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolutely amazing experience - the PERFECT B&B vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn Victoria
Ranked #1 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An absolutely amazing experience - the PERFECT B&B vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

This was my boyfriend's and my first experience at a B&B. We were looking for a decently priced place to stay while skiing at Okemo, and came across all the wonderful reviews written about the Inn Victoria in Chester, just a 15 minute drive from the mountain. Chester is such a charming, quaint town with awesome restaurants nearby (try Inn at Weathersfield and Old Town Farm Inn), and the inn was the perfect place to stay - 100% lived up to every review we read. As a young couple, we weren't quite sure what to expect during a B&B stay, but we had the most amazing, unforgettable, romantic weekend. The Inn Victoria exceeded our expectations by a mile, and Penny and Dan were the friendliest and most welcoming innkeepers we could have imagined. The Victorian style house was beautifully and warmly decorated, our room (Prince Albert) was just perfect, and the food was to die for!

We began with high tea, where Dan greeted us in a Victorian outfit while we sipped on tea and snacked on delicious hors d'eouvres and pastries. Penny and Dan made us feel completely at home as we relaxed in the parlour, chatted with the innkeepers and other houseguests, and enjoyed a bottle of red wine. Note: if you play the piano, you will become Penny and Dan's favorite person and will be rewarded with a bottle of wine!

I honestly cannot speak highly enough about the Inn Victoria. I have no doubt that anyone would have the most spectacular time there! Penny's three-course breakfasts are amazing (highlights included mascarpone and strawberry stuffed french toast, eggs benedict on a puff pastry, and penny's last-minute caramel-apple-raisin-toast invention), and there are always goodies (ask for the butterscotch cookies!!!) in the cake tray in the parlour.

After leaving the Inn Victoria, we felt lucky to have met such kind people. We couldn't have asked for more, and my boyfriend and I cannot wait to return next winter!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jls736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
301
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Inn Victoria in Chester for a midweek ski vacation. From our first phone call to book the room until our final goodbye, everything went off without a hitch or a hassle- unusual in our experience. The inn has a number of different rooms, of various sizes and with different amenities, and Jessica, the assistant inn-keeper, took the time to walk us through our options, allowing us to find one that was right for us. When we arrived, a bit late (10:30 PM), the staff met and greeted us, and our room was more than ready. While a bit small, it was very comfortable, quiet and had lovely views in addition to its private bath.

Breakfasts were very good, generous in size, and always served cheerfully and with plenty of coffee or tea. The Inn is located near the center of the town, in a district with a number of pretty good restaurants and charming shops within walking distance. The innkeepers, Dan and Penny, were both helpful and unobtrusive- willing to make an extra effort to recommend a good place to eat, or an unusual site-seeing experience, but leaving us to have the run of their place when we returned from skiing. Fresh beverages were on hand, along with a bottomless supply of cookies and brownies on the first floor of the inn. The common rooms were comfortable, warm (it was 5 degrees F our fist morning) and tastefully decorated. Although it was not busy the midweek that we stayed, a number of other guests of diverse backgrounds were also in attendance, and all were treated warmly and with genuine hospitality/

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn Victoria, and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

What else is there to say? The Inn was beautiful, well maintained and tastefully decorated. Our room was super comfy and amazing! We loved the added touch of the rubber frogs on a lily pad awaiting us by our jacuzzi! Our room, Prince Albert was so romantic...we just loved the 2 person jacuzzi. Breakfast was wonderful, with wonderful food and conversation. The cinnamon breakfast souffle Penny tried out on us was scrumptious, but the highlight of the meal was big, fresh, plump berries with freshly whipped cream. You just can't beat that in February in Vermont!
The cookies I tried (butterscotch/coconut) were the yummiest cookies ever, just barely crisp on the outside and very chewy. They even gave us extras the next morning to take home. Penny and Dan are wonderful hosts and we can't wait to stay again! Hopefully in May for part of our honeymoon!!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank metalchick0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

This was our first time at the inn and it could not have been a better experience. My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights to simply get away from Boston and the city for a long weekend, and the Inn Victoria delivered impeccably. Dan and Penny are two of the nicest innkeepers you'll ever have the pleasure of encountering, and they are 100% dedicated to making sure you get the experience you're looking for.

The rooms are gorgeous, and everything you would expect out of a New England B&B - working fireplace, antique furniture, enormous beds with the most comfortable sheets I've ever slept on. Juxtaposed are modern amenties in the bathroom, including a luxurious 2-person spa/tub in the room in which we were staying.

Penny cooks an incredible breakfast every morning (do not miss it - stuffed french toast made with freshly baked bread, eggs benedict, baked apples - enough to keep you going all day), and they keep a fridge stocked with drinks and snacks throughout the day. There are also some great restaurant options within walking or short driving distance, and plenty of indoor and outdoor activities nearby as well.

It's obvious that Dan and Penny are extremely passionate both about the inn and their guests, and that passion is reflected in every aspect of the stay. No matter the experience you're looking for, whether it's to mingle with the innkeepers and other guests in the living room or have a more private romantic getaway (we did a little of both), the inn provides a comfortable and enjoyable environment.

I would recommend the Inn Victoria to anyone looking for an authentic B&B experience, and I will certainly be going back for another stay. There is a reason that it has earned a 5-star rating here, and I can honestly say that 5-stars is probably not enough.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradleymscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

I would like to start my review off by saying thank you to Dan and Penny , Rachel and Jessica for a wonderful stay at the Inn Victoria. This is sort of a two part review. First is the review for my very dear friends that we sent on a weekend away in early December who had never been to a bnb. They just absolutely loved it to say the least. It was so nice to see someone who is very ill come back with a smile on his face and hope and faith for his future. They are a very humble family and Penny and Dan made them feel right at home from the minute they walked through the door. If God allows they hope to return someday. Thank you again Inn Victoria !

Now for Part Two of this review. Me and my fiance finally were able to make it to the Inn Victoria for a weekend in January. Kudos Dan and Penny for being the friendliest innkeepers I have ever had the pleasure of meeting from the minute we walked through the door. Penny showed us to our room the Princess Alice. W O W very romantic and a two person whirlpool in the bathroom. Nice to soak and relax in after our day of snowmobiling. We then joined another couple for High Tea which included a library of tea choices with a wonderful array of sweets and hor'dervs. We then met Dan who came to greet us dressed in his suit with tails and top hat. PERFECT. He gave us options for dinner and made reservations for us and the other guests. Breakfast was superb. 3 courses. Sweet on Saturday and savory on Sunday. There is always sweets and goodies around when you need something to much on. The bed was oh so comfortable with the softest sheets I've ever slept on with a feather pillow topper. Sweet Dreams. Plentiful hot water for tub and shower. Just an absolute wonderful stay. This is by far the best bnb that we have ever stayed at and we have stayed at many. We felt so comfortable the minute we walked through the door and so enjoyed chatting with Dan, Penny, Jessica , and their daughter Rachel. Enjoy that Red handbag Penny and the best of luck to all of you in the future at the Inn Victoria. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joede2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

My wife and I traveled to the Inn for a long weekend in January. Simply put we loved it. From the homey feel of the Inn, to the personal service from the Innkeepers Penny and Dan to the amazing multicourse breakfasts we enjoyed it all. The Gueen Helena room was private and had access to an outdoor hottub. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

This is definitely a romantic destination especially during the winter holidays. Penny and Dan are gracious and sincere hosts, making your stay feel more like home. Fabulous three-course breaksfast fit for a king and queen. Beautiful Victorian home, with all the warmth and charm right out of a Currier & Ives print. We would highly recommend Princess Victoria as your room choice. Spacious, romantic and private.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEO51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
0.1 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#2 of 9 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
1.1 mi away
Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern
10.3 mi away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Victoria

Property: Inn Victoria
Address: 321 Main Street, PO Box 788, Chester, VT 05143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Victorian Inn located on the village green in Chester, where you'll find great restaurants and fascinating shops. We have nine romantic guest rooms and suites all with Queen or King bed and furnished with beautiful antiques. Each room has a private bathroom, (some with Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub) with quality toiletries, fluffy towels and guest robes. But best of all is the warm and genuine "Royal" welcome to your "Palace" in Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Victoria Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing