We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was our best B&B experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn Victoria
Ranked #1 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was our best B&B experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2006

We just spent a weekend (September 9&10) at this lovely Bed & Breakfast in the picturesque town of Chester, VT. The Inn itself is lovely and well maintained. We had a mid-range price room which was very comfortable and super clean. What really makes this B&B special are the Innkeepers', John and Julie. They are very interactive and provide a family style atmosphere. We had lots of fun getting to know them and other guests over the wonderful breakfasts that Julie makes every morning. There are also lot's of small things that they do that add to the experience. Freshly baked pastries during the day, access to the internet on a central computer, the latest dvd's. The local is great. Located in the center of Chester and within easy driving distance to many Vermont attractions.

We have stayed at a number of B&B's over the years and this was our top experience. We would highly recommend this Inn.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank dharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
301
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belchertown, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

My husband and I just spent a very relaxing weekend at the Inn Victoria. The accommodations were just as they were depicted on their website (and similar to how they were described on other tripadvisor reviews). - The room we had was large and comfortable - very romantic. The jacuzzi was a great feature! Breakfasts were fantastic and the morning conversation with the owners and other guests was thoroughly enjoyable. The innkeepers were as warm and inviting as their B&B! Chester is a great location - quiet and uncongested, yet close to many of Vermont's great attractions. We would highly recommend this B&B! We certainly plan to make a vist to the Inn Victoria an annual event!

  • Liked — Comfort, room-wise and warmth of innkeepers
  • Disliked — No in-room fridge. We would've liked to have been able to keep beverages in our room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Consider summer travel to VT - off season rates, less congestion.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank needstorelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

My husband and I spent a weekend at with Jon and Julie Pierce at Inn Victoria during a recent biking trip through Vermont and had a wonderful time. Jon and Julie were fabulous hosts, with an interesting background. (Don't forget to ask them how they ended up in Vermont.)

Throughout the weekend they made us feel very welcome and the service was incredible - we enjoyed (too many of) Julie's cookies our first afternoon, browsed through their library, borrowed one of two of their DVD's and the next morning enjoyed a wonderful breakfact - which included the kind of omelettes I wish I could make myself :-) Our room was lovely, with french doors onto the back porch and whirlpool, and we loved the soaking tub in our room.

Inn Victoria is a charming Inn in a charming settting with charming hosts. We will certainly return to Inn Victoria if we happen to be anywhere near Chester in the future!

  • Liked — The Hosts
  • Disliked — we only wished it cooled down enough in the evening to enjoy the hot tub.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cathleentravelbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham NH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

We loved the Inn Victoria so much after our first stay, we returned there on our honeymoon! Jon and Julie are such warm and wonderful hosts, they made us feel like royalty. The rooms are elegant and spotless, decorated in fine fashion, with all the details it takes to make for a truly enjoyable stay. The gourmet breakfasts are also amazing, a perfect way to start the day. Sincerely, Janice and Greg H.

  • Liked — The warm atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

My wife and I have been regular customers at Inn Victoria for eight years now. What we find most difficult about staying at the inn is leaving. We’ve been to a number of Bed and Breakfasts throughout New England and Inn Victoria is the only one we can recommend to anyone we know without hesitation. Jon and Julie are the most gracious of hosts. Their proactive approach to caring for their guests continues to amaze us each time we visit. It is obvious that Jon and Julie love what they do. The food, the rooms and the hospitality continue to exceed expectations on every visit.

The area around Chester offers so much including great food, art galleries, playhouses, shopping, farmers’ markets, hiking, skiing and even live music. No matter what your tastes, you’ll find something you love.

If you’re looking for a place to lay your head, stay in a motel. If you’re looking for a place to truly relax and get away from all of life’s worries, go to Inn Victoria! Be careful – you may not want to leave!

Thanks Jon and Julie for another memorable stay!

Jeff and Dorothy Turner

  • Liked — The room and the hosts
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — Try all the different rooms!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTurners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2006

Our first trip to New England was a delight from the start, the warm welcome and exceptional service we received from our hosts John and Julie was second to none. The hotels tasteful decor and romantic setting echoed by the awesome beauty of the countryside that surrounds this peaceful, friendly village. For those couples in need of some together time and relaxation the Inn Victoria is the perfect location. I know that we shall be returning again in the near future. Many thanks John and Julie for a wonderful holiday!

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Leaving it
  • Tips/Secrets — Most restaurants close early.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Newcastletyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2006

Were it not for Inn Victoria's splendidly enchanting presence along the main road of Chester, this tiny town in Vermont could easily go unvisited. Blink, and you'll miss it. In fact, "welcome" and "goodbye" are on the same road sign! OK, enough silliness...
My wife and I decided to visit Chester en route to Manchester, which is a 25-minute drive away. Ah, but we discovered Inn Victoria, and what a discovery! From the intimate decor to the bottomless supply of Cherry in the living room to the mouth-watering breakfast, Inn Victoria is a B and B worthy of our five-hour drive from Montreal. Owners Jon and Julie are two tireless and friendly Brits, who made our brief stay an unforgettable one. Jon's clever sense of humour and Julie's charm and wit are perfect blends for anyone who likes their B and B experience real and invigorating. My wife and I clicked immediately with J and J, and they actually e-mailed us a few days after our visit! We fully intend on returning to Inn Victoria, as we always do whenever we experience something special at a B and B. Visit them. Take in some of the local restaurants (as recommended by Julie) and you will not be disappointed. I know we weren't.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank FSI-MEDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
0.1 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#2 of 9 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
10.3 mi away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Inn at Weston
The Inn at Weston
#1 of 3 in Weston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Victoria

Property: Inn Victoria
Address: 321 Main Street, PO Box 788, Chester, VT 05143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Victorian Inn located on the village green in Chester, where you'll find great restaurants and fascinating shops. We have nine romantic guest rooms and suites all with Queen or King bed and furnished with beautiful antiques. Each room has a private bathroom, (some with Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub) with quality toiletries, fluffy towels and guest robes. But best of all is the warm and genuine "Royal" welcome to your "Palace" in Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Victoria Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing