We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in a quaint community”
Review of Chester House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chester House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 5, 2010

"Best week-end we've had in quite some time". "Never been to a B/B, now I wish we would have tried these before". ""I hope we did not set the bar too high for future B/B experiences". These are quotes my wife and I had to say regarding our experience @ the Chester Inn in Chester, Vt. Bill and Paul went above and beyond expectation and made our stay stay extremely remarkable. We were regalled by stories of local talent and famous guests who have stayed at the Inn before. 7+ rooms; well attired with comfortable furniture and in our case two separate beds; cozy fireplace. and noteworthy breakfasts. Very clean. Went to a Scottish Pub for dinner and drinks and enjoyed it so much, went back the next night.. Dined at Alices Restaurant where our hostess and her husband-chef put on a culinary extravaganza. It was a great experience and would recommend it to any traveler. Bill and Pam Lewis

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 150 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I needed a romantic getaway for a weekend and we discovered we came to the right place, the Chester House Inn. Being a former Marine I really appreciated the attention to detail that appeared to be a hallmark of Inn keepers Paul & Bill. From the facade of the 1700 year old house to the decor of the rooms I've never been so impressed. Upon our arrival we soon felt we amoung friends displayed by Bill & Paul. We were on a first name basis until we checked out. The room was so spotless that the usually apprehension disappeared. The morning breakfast that was included was done with flare and was delisious. On our way back home we were already discussing going back to the Inn for Valentines Day!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmassa3022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chester House. Bill and Paul are wonderfulful hosts and full of great ideas for dining and sightseeing. If we are in the area again we will definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveross945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We loved our fall foliage tour but our stay at the Chester House Inn was the best part of our vacation. The Inn is very charming, beautifully decorated, and clean. Bill and Paul, made us feel so welcome and at home. They shared their knowledge of their historical inn, including recommending local area craft fairs, covered bridges and restaurants, etc. My husband and I loved the delicious bountiful gourmet breakfasts with attention to presentation and detail. We definitely will return to the Chester Inn to view the 2011 fall foliage.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan021_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This is a wonderful 7-guest Inn in the center of Chester, Vermont...right on the green. Hosts Paul and Bill have renovated and redecorated this historically significant inn giving it true character while respecting its long history.

Breakfast was excellent, conversation with the hosts was interesting and enlightening.

We do think that perhaps it's time for an updated mattress in room 6, but we'll be back regardless! Thank you for a great weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHB05403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My sister and I are quilters and we were on our annual quilt shop hop adventure and happened to find the Chester House Inn which is located directly across the street from one of the biggest quilt shops in Vermont, Country Treasures. The Inn was immaculately clean. The accommodations were excellent. Each room has its own bathroom, a big plus! The room rates were reasonable and included a deliciously home cooked breakfast. The Inn Keeper was gracious and entertaining as well. The Inn is located in the town of Chester which is a quaint country town similar to Mayberry RFD. Our stay was one of the high points of our trip!!! We would definitely stay there again and have recommended it to all of our quilting friends!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuilterLady684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My sister and I found the Chester House Inn while on a Quilt Shop Hop. Across the street from the largest quilt shop in Vermont was what made our choice easy. But the friendly hospitality of the inn keepers is what will make us return. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. The beds were great. Breakfast was superb. Coffee, juice, warm muffins, omlets made with fresh veggies, fresh eggs and cheese neither of us could finish it all! The rocking chairs on the porch were an awesome way to start and end the day.
The stories about Chester and the history of the Inn was so interesting!
We felt like we were leaving family by the time we left! I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret9952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Fullerton Inn
Fullerton Inn
#8 of 9 in Chester
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
493 reviews
0 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
1.2 mi away
Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Inn

Address: 266 Main St, Chester, VT 05143-9768
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $127 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinguished, quiet 1780 B&B on the Village Green in quaint Chester, 44 miles from Vermont's southern border via I-91. All guest suites/rooms have private baths, phones, voice mail, free WiFi, and A/C (in the warmer months). Rooms accommodate 2-4. Available: in-room fireplaces, canopy beds, sitting areas, Jacuzzi, whirlpool, steam shower and TV. Scrumptious gourmet breakfast served daily. Private off-street parking, deck, library. Seasonal packages: Okemo Skiing, Theater, Golf. No children ( 10. Small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chester House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing