We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quilter's Paradise!”
Review of Chester House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chester House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My sister and I found the Chester House Inn while on a Quilt Shop Hop. Across the street from the largest quilt shop in Vermont was what made our choice easy. But the friendly hospitality of the inn keepers is what will make us return. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. The beds were great. Breakfast was superb. Coffee, juice, warm muffins, omlets made with fresh veggies, fresh eggs and cheese neither of us could finish it all! The rocking chairs on the porch were an awesome way to start and end the day.
The stories about Chester and the history of the Inn was so interesting!
We felt like we were leaving family by the time we left! I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret9952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 150 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Chester House Inn last weekend and had a terrific time. The hosts, Bill and Paul made us feel comfortable from the time we made the reservation until we left. We wanted to find a place that my husband would be comfortable leaving his prized motorcycle overnight and the Chester House Inn was perfect. Bill let him put the bike in the barn, next to his own. They even tried to help us locate a tool to fix a part that had broken on the way up to the Inn! The Inn is very comfortable and the décor is beautiful. We stayed in a room on the second floor, and it was very quiet and peaceful at night. The breakfasts were delicious as well. We had a wonderful experience at the Chester House Inn

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacmomCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The Chester House is run by Paul and Bill, the best hosts! Cooking was great, and they are so very nice and fun to talk to. Provided everything I needed without being "there" all the time. The Inn is lovely, and the rates are quite reasonable. I appreciated the free (and fast) internet service since coverage in Vermont is pretty spotty. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My wife and I have stayed in many B&B's and thought we have had many exceptional experiences or at least what we thought were exceptional...finally we know what exceptional is......The Chester House.

First is the beautiful, quaint and well groomed exterior. Down to every detail it was beautiful and I can honestly say the photos on their website don't do it any justice.

We entered the front door to see a beautiful entrance and headed in to be met by Bill, the Inns Keeper. Bill was very welcoming and made us feel like welcome guests (friends) in his home. He asked us about our trip, told us about the history of the Inn and then asked if we were ready to see our room.

We headed to the room which was more spacious than we could have ever imagined...again, the pictures made it look smaller. We were thrilled, felt very comfortable and immediately realized that we had made the perfect choice.

Later that evening we found Bill and asked for dinner advice and he sent us to a terrific steakhouse that we thoroughly enjoyed.

The rest of our weekend was equally pleasant and we enjoyed more of Bills recommendations which included a "MUST VISIT", the Harpoon Brewery. We ended our weekend having one of the best weekends ever and will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfs1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Chester House Inn for 1 Saturday night when we took a quick weekend getaway. Our room (#4, Queen Charlotte) was clean and spacious. The jacuzzi was fun and Bill went above and beyond to find us a place to rent mountain bikes in the area. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbraun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Our stay at the Chester House Inn was wonderful. The house is beautiful and looks just as it does on their website. Bill & Paul were wonderful hosts! They took care of every detail, from the room to the delicious breakfast.

We will certainly return to see how beautiful the Chester House Inn is in other seasons. We would also highly recommend the Chester House Inn to anyone traveling to Vermont.

Thanks again Bill & Paul.

Jan and Craig Anglemire, Stroudsburg Pennsylvania

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janglemire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

House was very clean, user friendly, breakfast was wonderful and nutricious and the innkeepers were attentive to our needs and were very good at preparing what they presented to us to eat!

Ask questions of the owners as they are wel tuned to the area and what to do and see!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carefulguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
354 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
0 mi away
Fullerton Inn
Fullerton Inn
#5 of 9 in Chester
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
492 reviews
0 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
1.2 mi away
Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Inn

Address: 266 Main St, Chester, VT 05143-9768
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $127 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinguished, quiet 1780 B&B on the Village Green in quaint Chester, 44 miles from Vermont's southern border via I-91. All guest suites/rooms have private baths, phones, voice mail, free WiFi, and A/C (in the warmer months). Rooms accommodate 2-4. Available: in-room fireplaces, canopy beds, sitting areas, Jacuzzi, whirlpool, steam shower and TV. Scrumptious gourmet breakfast served daily. Private off-street parking, deck, library. Seasonal packages: Okemo Skiing, Theater, Golf. No children ( 10. Small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chester House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing