We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst dining experience ever!”

Fullerton Inn Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 23 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
bakersfield,CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience ever!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I have been married 45 years, and have NEVER walked out of a restaurant, mid-meal. Until tonight. The Fullerton Inn was, without question, the worst dining experience, or should I say 'lack of a dining experience' we've had. Ordered a glass of wine before ordering our entrees...after 20 min the bartender came by and asked if we wanted something from the bar. Hmmmm. Should have been a clue. The waitress brought the Chardonnay in tiny port-type glasses. OK, we've seen that before, ie $14 for less than 4oz of wine. We now sat for another 20 min, before the waitress took our entree orders..chicken and beef. We ordered a bottle of Malbec, and asked that it not be room temp. About 20 more minutes passed and the bartender arrived w an open bottle..and said all his wine is like this (room, not cellar temp).We tasted it. Geeez, Ok, we'll live with it, cause we are needing a drink after this frustration. The wine bottle arrived. Now at 90 min after sitting down, our wine is just about done, and our 'complex order of chicken and steak' still has not arrived. We confronted the waitress with this fact, and she said she'll talk to the kitchen. Hmmmm. After another 10 min we threw $40 on the table and left. We've never done that in our lives, but the total absence of service or courtesy, was just overwhelming. Please...if you are thinking about going to this restaurant...have an auto accident or get mugged. Those will be much more pleasurable experiences.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
conn.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“menu”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

limited menu, staff not very friendly, and on the expensive side for what you recieved , all sides were seperate even the salad

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cruiserpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Hudson Valley Region
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice but Not Great”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were two couples vacationing in VT. When we came in, we were asked if we wanted to eat in the restaurant or on the porch. We chose the restaurant where we were the only occupied table for most of the night. The menu and the evening specials were not very tempting so 3 of us had the Onion Soup and a salad - the other chose the pork chop special (which he later said wasn't very special) The soup was uninspired but the salad fresh and crispy. The bread basket contained a white county bread and a delicious cranberry bread that would have been great with coffee in the morning. The entrees averaged $20 and my husband's martini was $11.50. The service was very good , quick and accurate. As we were leaving, we walked around the inn and noticed the Bradford Tavern right inside the entrance. There was no one eating there but the menu was much more tempting than that of the restaurant --and less expensive. I wish someone had shown us this menu when we arrived - it was lighter fare but included interesting choices like Shephard's Pie which wasn't an option in the restaurant.
There are several other choices on this street - shop around before making your decision.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do not go here.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I went with my husband for our tenth anniversary and had a horrile expereince. Too much to go into here but it took over 2 hours to complete our meal due to slowness and mistakes and there was no compensation for our misery even though they knew it was our anniversary. We are local people and will not go there again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyLoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, KY
Level Contributor
510 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Sit on the porch for lunch.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Bradford Tavern is attached to the Inn and seems to be the daytime restaurant for the Inn. The porch was full when we got there so we sat in the warm Tavern until we noticed a table was free on the porch. We'd already ordered so we took our iced teas outside on a glorious August day in Vermont. Just sit back and ignore the street and cars right in front of you. You may be sitting a while before your food arrives. Our server said we'd come at the end of a rush so things were behind in the kitchen. However, several diners had left by that time so we were unsure why our simple orders (fish & chips and pizza) took so long to prepare. The food was good (the fish was perfectly cooked but I expected either a bigger piece or an extra piece for the price they charged). But the delay was more than offset by the enjoyment of sitting on the big porch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CovingtonCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fullerton Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fullerton Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing