We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fullerton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fullerton Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Fullerton Inn is a nicely kept hotel. The staff did their best to keep the guests comfortable. The rooms were clean thanks to a terrific housekeeping staff. The couches by the fireplace were a source for good conversation and exchange of vacation ideas between guests. However, the bathroom was tiny and the shower was even smaller. The innkeepers did their best during breakfast but overheard by them was the comment that the guests had too much orange juice. A very poor selection and quality of food choices was offered. When asked about the history of the inn, they had very little to say. As a traveler, this is important. We like to know the history and stories of a place, especially in New England. Good French Onion Soup. Otherwise, the restaurant was empty. Again, nice folks, but not passing by here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boulderskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
20
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just spent a wonderful fall weekend based at the Fullerton Inn. The weather was damp and drizzly all weekend and it was heavenly to come home each evening to the inviting lobby with its comforable couches in frount of a warm fire in the stone fireplace. Our spacious third floor corner room exuded the same coziness with its lace curtains and quilted bedspread. Friday night, having had a scrumptious and all too big lunch at the Moon Dog Cafe just a few doors away, we opted for some light pub fare in Fullerton Inn's tavern. The food was good and the singer/guitarist was a pleasant bonus. Saturday morning's continental breakfast buffet was excellent with fresh fruit, make your own waffles and a variety of homemade pastries. Despite being extremely busy with the inn and tavern and dining room, the owners, Brett and Nancy Rugg, always managed some time to chat and make us feel welcome. There is a price to be paid for all the quaint Vermont ambiance in that the heat can't be cranked up high enough to reach the thrid floor until after the dinning room is empty but it does eventually get there. We plan on making the Fullerton Inn our base for future Vermont weekends.

Room Tip: Third floor corner rooms are especially nice...16 and 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipelak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We declined a stay at a nearby hotel ( what a dive and not what we expected) and fortunately we were able to secure reservations here last minute. What a piece of luck! The hosts were so nice! I'm not sure what some of the other reviewers were talking about? We sat on the surrounding porch that was beautifully decked out with Fall decorations and had a wonderful steak dinner with cocktails and wine. Don't skip dessert either! They brought a tray of chocolate concoctions, cheesecakes and a Somemore-type dessert that all looked like something out of a magazine! Added bonus were the lovely Fall colors if the area. An excellent experience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

After camping in the area for many years, and then -- after the kids grew up -- patronizing the same bed-and-breakfast in Weston, we decided to move our act to the Fullerton Inn on the commons in Chester. We're more than happy with the decision. The third-floor rooms, which we had checked out a couple of years ago, were large and comfortable and the accommodations in general were down-to-earth and friendly. Brett and Nancy Rugg, who own the place, are amiable folks, and Nancy has a real flair for decor. The lobby with its overstuffed couches and huge fireplace is a great place to meet people -- and we did. We didn't eat in the main restaurant, but we did have dinner and beers in the tavern, and that was fine. We looked at another nearby inn, which was more elegant than this one but seemed a little stiff and forbidding by comparison.By the way, if you stay here, be sure to have lunch at the Moon Dog Cafe that's just a few doors away.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the two largest rooms, both on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeaconCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The word isn't out, but this 2012 season's fall foliage is off to a brilliant start. The low lands are already nearing peak in southern Vermont and New Hampshire. The Fullerton Inn in Chester, Vt is in a perfect location to take "leef peeping" day trips. Our corner room on the third floor was very comfortable, clean and had good natural lighting. Located in the heart of the town, the inn gives you a real feel for Vermont. We ate in the tavern rather than the main dining room. The meals were good with great presentation. Our waitress was attentive and we had a very pleasant time. The continental breakfast, which is included in the room charge, offers a wide variety of choices and fills you up for the day ahead.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skipperCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I went to the Inn for our 10th anninversary on 8/10/12. We are locals and always try to "buy local". Never again. There was a group on the porch and we were the only ones inside. The waitress said she would put our order in first to avoid a wait. After ordering and waiting a while, the waitress came and said she was sorry but our order did NOT go in first but it would not be too long a wait. We waited. She then came back and said they were out of my husband's order (pork chops) but to pick something else and she would "comp" the meal. He does and she leave. We wait. We are now on our second drink. Waitress comes back and says they, in fact, did have pork chops and gives my husband a very over cooked meal. Mine was better but not great. He tells her this is our 10th anniversary and we had wanted a nice meal so chose close to home. No response. In all. the meal took 2 HOURS with all the waiting. THEN, we get the bill (high) with 18% added on. I would have thought the Inn would have given us a piece of pie or a drink to celeberate our anniversary and to make up for the misery of waiting and waiting for our meal. But no. So we will never go back there again unless new owners buy the place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyLoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed one night. The room was clean and everything was adequate but nothing special.
Was disappointed because the pictures present a much more charming atmosphere.
We were on the second floor with a door to the balcony. The balcony and all the chairs were dirty
it looked like it had been some time since it had been cleaned. They had live music that night in the bar area which was pleasant and the contential breakfast in the morning was good.
All and all I would try another inn next time I go back up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
8.6 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
0.1 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hugging Bear Inn & Shoppe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Chester House Inn
Chester House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel in the Meadow
Motel in the Meadow
#1 of 1 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fullerton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fullerton Inn

Property: Fullerton Inn
Address: 40 The Cmn, PO Box 968, Chester, VT 05143-8323
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fullerton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Vermont country Inn. Charming yet modern. Huge Stone fireplace in lobby. Spacious common areas. All rooms have private baths. Near skiing/hiking/shopping areas. In-house fine dining restaurant and pub. Great place to stay! Available for weddings, conferences and reunions. Internet access available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Fullerton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fullerton Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing