We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our local Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Country Girl Diner

Country Girl Diner
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: An Authentic 1940's silver, Silk City Diner. Booth or counter service for great homemade soups, meals and desserts. Breakfast & lunch 7 days. Prime Rib Friday nights. Friendly atmosphere, great prices, Superb Coffee! Don't miss their Smash Burger! Cash or local check only...ATM available locally.
Chester, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our local Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

If your driving through Chester on a Friday night and want to enjoy a consistently good quality meal with a very friendly staff that wont drain your pocket book, make it a point to stop in at the Country Girl Diner. Everything is made fresh and their coffee finishes off a good meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    40
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

I've been to the country girl diner numerous times while visiting friends in Vermont and have never been disappointed. I've never had to wait to be seated and it's always been clean. Staff are always friendly and although busy, usually are kind enough to strike up a conversation and are very welcoming. They've never made me feel like I'm from out of state or an outsider. Orders are taken quickly and served promptly, hot, and accurate. Food is always excellent and very filling. I can eat more than my fair share and have never left hungry. You can tell everything is fresh and home made. If you're in the area, I highly recommend this diner.

Helpful?
Thank rmdatc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint place, good food, great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We ate breakfast in this diner. It is small, and a throw back to another time. The menu was limited, but had enough variety to allow you to make a choice as to what you wanted for breakfast. I had the traditional eggs, bacon, home fries and toast, while my husband had the special of French Toast, eggs, and bacon. Both meals were very tasty, and the waitress was beyond friendly. The prices were about what you would expect to pay. Our two meals, plus endless cups of coffee for each of us, came to about $20.00 However, they had added a sticker to the front of each menu advising their patrons that with the recent rise in grocery prices, they had tried to hold the line on prices for as long as possible, but just recently conceded to the economy and raised prices to these amounts. Well worth it, I assure you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnieb338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's a good diner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Classic diner. The coffee is good and the food is good. We tried the pulled pork hash omelet, very interesting and worth a try once. We also had lunch here and it was good. Prices are reasonable but this area tends to be expensive unless you are from NYC. I would go for breakfast any day but be aware that it is a busy place because the locals love it too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TroyV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a chicken salad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on our way back to Albany just by accident! What a lucky turn! Great food and very friendly service. I would eat here every day, if I lived here. The place just makes you feel happy, body and soul.

Helpful?
Thank Seyfollah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Girl Diner also viewed

 

Been to Country Girl Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing