We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art show”

Vermont Institute of Contemporary Arts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vermont Institute of Contemporary Arts is an exhibition and performance space located in Chester, VT, 7 miles from I-91. Visit the rotating gallery shows of two dimensional art and sculpture. Attend dance, music and film nights. Discover a New Way of Seeing.
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Art show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very nice examples of VT art & sculptures, friendly people, excellent location, very well organized.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bulfrgblus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon P, Director of Operations at Vermont Institute of Contemporary Arts, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your glowing remarks! We hope that you plan another visit to VTica the next time you are in Chester. We have a fantastic & diverse show line up for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“VTica - an art gallery not to be missed !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Who would have thought, you would find such remarkable contemporary art, in the quaint little town of Chester, Vermont. Driving down Route 11 you are greeted by the rising sun that sits atop their building. He beacons you inside of what was once the old Legion Hall (I believe that is what they told me), which stood empty for years. Be sure to ask to see the before and after photos it is just amazing what they have done with the building. Not only is the artwork breathtaking but the building itself. They have rotating shows every few months along with gallery talks and an occasional movie. Staff couldn’t be friendlier – you have the distinct feeling that they love what they do and just want to share it with everyone. I was lucky enough to see the Jeanne Carbonetti exhibit when visiting and it was extraordinary. A must stop for your next trip down Route 11.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLS46_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbyVTica, Owner at Vermont Institute of Contemporary Arts, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for making a stop at VTica on your recent visit to the Green Mountains of VT. Please stop in on your next trip east, we have an outstanding schedule planned for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous space, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This space is worth stopping to see if only for the beautiful finishes they employed in building it. Gorgeous black walnut floors, unusual and beautiful light sconces made of sculpted banana fiber paper (I want them!), and a counter that has to be seen to be believed (courtesy of Barre Pinske, wood-worker extraordinaire also worth a visit --don't be put off by the pumpkins, mushrooms and other chain-saw stuff in front of the shop. There is some very neat stuff inside). A fiber-art show was hung when we visited, and there was a lot of talent represented. The two lovely young ladies who were "minding the store," Shannon and Emily, were friendly, enthusiastic, informative, and artists themselves. We so enjoyed meeting them and talking to them. Definitely worth a detour to visit here!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank petlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon P, Director of Operations at Vermont Institute of Contemporary Arts, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We're so glad you had such a wonderful visit with us. It's our goal to provide an inviting atmosphere where visitors feel free to take their time to fully appreciate the artwork.
If you're the Rhode Islanders I'm remembering, you were all so enthusiastic and such a pleasure to speak with. Thank you for showing us that our vision is reaching people in the ways we hope it will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great Artwork,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Really awesome showcase of artwork. We were drawn to a sumo wrestler sculpture that had a surface texture of camouflage .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg_and_Bonnie_WHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An absolutely wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

On a road trip from the midwest to the east coast and back, I got a little lost on SUNDAY and left the freeway to get my bearings. Thank goodness I did! Driving through town, I noticed this beautiful artsy building and just HOPED it was open. It WAS! Don't miss the opportunity to take this detour, if you hadn't planned to. The couple who own the business are lovely and personable and love what they do. Also check the website to see what other fabulous activities they have going on!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaraVegas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermont Institute of Contemporary Arts also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing