We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Inviting Place for Breakfast and Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Dog Cafe

Moon Dog Cafe
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and Inviting Place for Breakfast and Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you find yourself in Chester, VT on a Sunday morning, make sure to stop at the Moon Dog where you will find THE MOST DELICIOUS FRESH BAKED BREAD PUDDING MUFFINS. These muffins are so outrageously good that it is worth a trip there just to have the muffins! Of course there are many other wonderful baked goods and delicious soups to also try at Moon Dog. My personal all time favorite soup is the chicken tortilla soup. The Cafe's vibe is very warm and friendly and the staff is eager to please and welcome you.

While you're in Chester -- don't miss the Vermont Contemporary Art Gallery down the street. There's also a great little store called ''The Pear Tree" that specializes in jewelery, gifts, home goods.

I can't wait to hang out in the Moon Dog Cafe each winter while my family is skiing at nearby Okemo!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    40
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stay at the Inn Victoria and sometimes sleep in and miss breakfast! The Moon Dog is a great backup plan! The food is amazing, the coffee is amazing and the vibe of the place makes us love Vermont that much more. Did I mention the Ginger Scones?? Oh My this is a must stop for great eats!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TopGeekNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best lattes in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We always make several trips to Moondog when we are up in the area. The cafe/shop itself is very charming and eclectic. They serve only organic foods and their prepared foods are really good. Seems like everything is locally sourced. Definitely get a latte or cappuccino - they will make you say, "Starbucks, who?"

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveleatshoprelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Healthy Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

When traveling, it is so difficult to find healthy, fresh delicious food-nevertheless a peaceful, nurturing ambiance, but we hit the jackpot at Moondog Cafe in Chester, VT on Route 11. No longer will I dread my commute between West Point, NY, and Franconia, NH! The Turkish lentil soup was perfect on a cold wintry day, the bread was fresh and warm, and the service cheery and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BARBandSTEVE471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent food at the heart of this lovely town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We always enjoy stopping in Chester on Vermont's scenic RT 11. The narrow green is lined with welcoming historic buildings, alive with shops. At the Moon Dog Cafe I had the best grilled cheese/tomato sandwich of my life - Not a panini, just great American multi-grain with a thick slice of aged Cabot cheddar and some sliced tomatoes, all nicely grilled. This was accompanied by excellent homemade soups (chicken curry and, also, tomato bisque), as well as first-rate cappuccino, espresso, and baked goods. The women running the Cafe are genuine and welcoming. A nice place to eat well, refresh, and enjoy life.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moon Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing