We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wonderful 4 Month Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Wonderful 4 Month Stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

As we near the end of our 4 month stay at this full service resort, we are very happy with all the amenities: a full service spa, very adequate gym and outdoor pool/tennis facilities, beautiful setting in the mountains for weddings or just for talking walks, very comfortable condo facilities for long stays and the most accommodating and friendly staff to be found anywhere. But, mostly, it is worth the trip for the excellent restaurant. We have traveled and eaten in the best restaurants around the world and The Castle ranks among them. Chef Alphonso, lovingly called "The Fonz" creates delicious dishes with such an artistic flair that you can take pictures of the food and hang it on your wall as art. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a condo up the hill. They are very roomy, perfect for families or groups. The larger on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    107
    44
    27
    21
See reviews for
54
248
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cedarhurst
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the main Castle. The building and grounds are gorgeous. Our room with a queen size bed was clean with a lovely open view of the mountains. The mattress and bedding were fabulous... slept like babies. The bathroom was small. The staff was warm, friendly and extremely accommodating. Dinner at the castle was delicious. Our massages were the best we’ve ever had ….their therapist are really skilled and experienced. Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi were perfect. Two fabulous Yoga classes in the solarium capped off a perfect weekend. We're already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billi253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for two days with a Groupon deal (I'm not sure if I would go without the deal) and really enjoyed ourselves. The pool and spa were wonderful but a little crowded. Our room was at the lower building but was really nice and big with a newer bathroom. This is the second year we have done this, Cavendish is a nice central location. This year we visited the Cavin Coolige Homestead in Plymouth along with Plymouth Cheese which is right on sight. The grounds where lovely and the tour very informative. And of course we couldn't leave without having dinner at the Downtown Grocery in Ludlow which is our all time favorite place to eat. It's a little pricey but what an experience. Oh and dinner is just alright at the Castle, it's nice that with groupon you get the $25 discount otherwise we wouldn't have dinner there.

Room Tip: While it's lovely up at the Castle we really enjoyed staying at the Pointe with the newer bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

WE recently spent two nights on the third floor of the Castle.....via a $ 129 per night Groupon deal.

Staff were great.....very friendly and helpful. Room was huge with a king bed....plumbing in bathroom was a bit dated!

We enjoyed dinner at the Castle one night....I had the $ 25 fixe prix....the food was great....well prepared and tasty.

Second night we ate a Harry's up the road past Ludlow.

We used the pool and hot tub.

Overall a nice experience.

Room Tip: No elevator....so expect a hike if you are on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Oxford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I had a dismal time at The Castle. Right from the start the entertainment system did not work, it took over 5 hours and a post 10pm visit from the staff to finally resolve.

We stayed in the midst of an oppressive heat wave in July and found the A/C to be faulty. This issue was never resolved despite multiple complaints.

The Castle markets themselves as a premium lodging facility. My wife and I have traveled the world and never found a facility to be so deaf to customers' complaints. We had to make contact with the staff on multiple occasions for multiple issues. I emailed the General Manager after my stay informing him of our experience. He was kind enough to apologize, but not an offer of concession of our $269 per night charges.
We understand things occur and mistakes will happen and we are accepting of that. The issues of our stay were well beyond acceptable mistakes. My wife and I find it appalling The Castle made no gesture based on the unacceptable conditions we stayed in.

The Ludlow region is beautiful, it’s a shame The Castle doesn’t represent the quality the region has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grafton05146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came here to celebrate a 40th birthday and it didn't disappoint. The castle and grounds are beautiful. We stayed in a 3 bd condo. Plenty of room for 8 girls. We took full advantage of the spa services which were incredible. We utilized the heated pool everyday after visiting the various shops around town.

Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My family and I stayed at Condo M (unit 2A/B) at the Castle Hill Resort and Spa. The 3 Bedroom unit could have easily slept a few more but it was ample room for my wife and I and my two teenage daughters ( 15 and 18). The condo location was separate from the other condo units ( I think there were at least 10 more options) which was up the hill from the pool. We liked the location as it was a short walk to the pool/Hot tub and the Spa.

Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The condo had 2 BR down stairs, one with a king and bathroom. The second had a queen bed and had a separate sitting area and a separate entrance that appears to be locked off if you choose the two BR option. The third BR had 2 doubles with a bathroom and was upstairs in a loft. The loft had a kitchen table and was great for my college aged daughter.

The BR's were very nicely appointed and we had maid service daily. You have ample pillows, sheets and blankets. Each BR and the living had a flat screen TV. The LR had a DVD player.

The kitchen has a Dishwasher, full size refrigerator, Microwave, electric stove and oven and is equipped with all the kitchen essentials. Including: Pots/Pans, dishes, glasses silverware and cooking utensils. Frig had a working icemaker.

We had an issue with a leaking A/C unit in the loft and they sent a maintenance person out right away. They were very nice and fixed the problem.

Pool was heated salt water and the grounds and pool were immaculate and well kept. You also have access to the inside pool which is at the Pointe about 300 Meters from the Spa and our condo unit. The Spa treatments were normally priced and the therapists were all very experienced and very good. The Spa itself was nice. They also had a full Gym with 2 Treadmills, 2 Ellipticals and few bikes in a addition to a full compliment of weight machines. In the morning you could do Yoga or Pilates for $10 a session. There are pool towels at the spa for your use.

The town of Ludlow is quaint and has several options for food and bars. There is a full super market in town called Shaw's and a Rite Aid Pharmacy. Eateries ranged from Fine Dining options to Bars and Pubs.

We ate dinner with the discount provide at check in by the Hotel at the Castle Hill Mansion. Beautiful setting and the food was good. Not a Michelin star but pretty good. With the discount and a very reasonably priced Bottle of wine, dinner for 4 was less than $250

The location of the town is great. There is a access to Parks, Streams and Waterfalls within 10 miles. We did not hike much but the options were there. All in all a great time and lovely facility and stay.

Room Tip: We were in Condo M2, 3 BR. If you want to be close to the pool/Spa ( but you can not hear any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
0.0 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
4.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
263 reviews
16.4 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
325 reviews
17.8 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Resort And Spa

Property: Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Address: 2910 State Route 103, Junction Routes 103 & 131, Cavendish, VT 05142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hill Resort And Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance are the words best used to describe Castle Hill Resort and Spa in Ludlow, Vermont. Located in the lush Green Mountains, the resort is a member of the prestigious “Small Luxury Hotels of the World” and listed on National Register of Historic Places.The full-service Castle Hill Resort and Spa features a unique collection of 10 Castle rooms, which exude timeless elegance and luxury. Each room has its own layout, architectural elements, and character, and is warmly decorated and furnished with period pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Castle Hill Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Resort And Hotel Cavendish
Castle Hill Hotel
Castle Hill Resort And Spa Vermont/Cavendish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing