We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally Located Vermont Ski Getaway, With Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A very nice hotel for a weekend ski getaway. It's located just 10 minutes away from Okemo and 30 minutes from Killington. Also a very short drive to Ludlow shopping/restaurants.

We were staying at a condo unit at the top of the hill; very quiet and secluded which is exactly what we wanted. The staff does a great job of maintaining the driveways so getting up there is easy. The rooms are spacious, clean, and modern - which is a rarity in Vermont ski areas, especially when you are trying to stay near the slopes.

We had to unfortunately leave early during our stay and Andy, the GM, went out of his way to make sure we were satisfied and accommodated. Excellent customer service, nice rooms, and convenient location make this a great place to stay if you want to ski Killington or Okemo. We'll definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the first floor so you don't have to carry your ski equipment/luggage up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theclockend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 414 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband surprised me with a weekend away in Vermont.
We stayed in the castle in room #12 on the third floor. The room was beautiful and very large!
It had gorgeous dark oak floors, a giant California king bed, which was extremely comfortable. There was also a dresser, four chairs, a small TV, and fridge. There was a faux fireplace with tea lights to provide a romantic feeling. The furniture and decor was old world antique and chic, not the usual tacky stuff at many bed and breakfasts. Our stay included a $50 credit to their onsite Aveda spa which where we booked a couples massage. The massage was good for me, but excellent for my husband who likes alot of pressure. There is also an outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and a small gym on the property which we didn't take advantage of as we didn't bring our bathing suits. For dinner there was also a $25 credit for the restaurant that they have on property. We had a three-course dinner and everything was delicious. Kudos to the chef. The portions of the dinner entree were very large so if you eat there, don't fill up on the bread as I did. The quality of the food was excellent and they have a pretty expansive wine list. While we ate dinner, there was music coming in from the library, as someone was playing piano. The library was cozy with a beautiful fireplace but it was definitely crowded while we were there so didn't get to appreciate it. You never really see any staff except for the woman who downstairs by the restaurant. So can't comment on the service, but if you want a romantic weekend away and don't want to be bothered, this is an excellent choice. Plus there are two ski resorts: Okemo and Killington cloesby. Only negative is that there is a old heater in the room that was making some noise that woke us up. We couldn't get it to stop making noise so we eventually fell back to sleep. It was a little pricey for one night's stay but it was my birthday so we indulged.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoegoddess29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently had the misfortune of falling prey to a deal falsely portrayed on the Internet. The pictures of The Castle, Point and pool fell flat upon our arrival. The rooms are what you'd expect at an average motel with views of the rest of the building. The pool was filled with screaming children. The restaurant was obscenely over priced, cramped and the cuisine was disappointingly average.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearfoxadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in a 3+br condo which offered access to the resort facilities including the outdoor pool and jacuzzi (which the kids loved). Our unit was clean and reasonably modern and included large loft space and a sitting area with a door in addition to the 3 bedrooms. Felt like a much better value than some of the on-mountain options - many of which were more expensive for dated, dingy much smaller units.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Edgingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a two night stay at Castle Hill Resort. This is a charming old home built in 1902. We stayed in Room #9 on the 2nd floor. The online photos of this hotel are accurate. The interior is warm and impressive with its dark oak floors and walls. Our room was quite beautiful, with a huge fireplace and again, that nice oak flooring and wall panels. We had dinner one evening at the resort's restaurant. I had the Ahi and it was very good. My wife had the Beef Wellington and it was excellent. Before dinner we enjoyed a cocktail in the library, which was very nice.

You should know that as an antique building, the heating system is a bit noisy. If you are a light sleeper, there is a possibility it will wake you up. Otherwise, the building is very quiet and you do not hear any of the other guests. When you check in, you have to first stop at The Pointe (their hotel at the bottom of the hill, which is basically a re-labeled Clarion hotel) and check in at their front desk. There is a desk at The Castle, but the person manning it is there to direct you to your room, answer questions, etc..

Like many hotels, The Castle has decided to switch over to CFL light bulbs in the rooms. These gastly dust-collectors never throw off enough light (or perhaps they are of lower wattage). So the lighting in our room was not adequate for reading comfortably. A few more lamps will rectify this. (And on another note, who is the genius that thinks these CFL's are a good idea? They cost 10 times as much as regular incandescent bulbs and they do not light as well. And cost savings in energy is lost because twice as many fixtures are needed.)

The spa and pool right next door is quite nice. But apparently guests at The Pointe are also invited to use the facility. On Saturday evening the outdoor jacuzzi pool is so packed with kids that other guests don't stand a chance. Additionally, the men's locker room is far too small to accomodate more than 4 people comfortably. That said, there is a lot of mens "junk" flying around in close quarters and it is a somewhat uncomfortable experience if you are not a gay man. Sunday evening was a different story, as many ski families had checked out and the facilities were not crowded. After a day of skiiing at Okemo (about 5 minutes away), relaxing in the hot jacuzzi outdoors under the stars on a cold night was quite nice.

The Castle offers a continental breakfast starting at 8am, but since I wanted to get out to Okemo to ski, that's too late. So we had breakfast one morning at The Pointe's "Sweet Brier Tavern" but it wasn't very good. Better to go to The Hatchery in Ludlow located on your way to Okemo. There is also a Dunkin' Donuts located at the Mobil station in Ludlow.

Overall, we would stay at Castle Hill again. It's close to Okemo for skiing and is an overall relaxing stay in a historic building.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmvoicever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family stayed in the Pointe Hotel portion of the Castle Hill Resort and Spa in Cavendish, VT last July (out of season). Not only was the hotel charming, the indoor and outdoor pools made the stay fabulous and truly relaxing. We swam inside when it was rainy and cool - and on our last day there, we enjoyed the outdoor pool up by the Aveda spa. While we didn't dine in the restaurant, the menu looked amazing and if you're looking for a romantic spot with history - this is the place. The gardens are also so beautiful -- definitely a place for a wedding or party. This hotel is a well located destination midpoint between sights to the south and north. This was our launch point for a canoe trip down the Batten Kill River to the south, with a stopover to see the Lincoln property and cheese farm. We also hit sights north -- a lake cruise and trip to Ben & Jerry's ice cream factory. It was a fabulous place to stay and even the condos looked decent.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor on the Pointe Hotel if you choose to stay in this part of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeValdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at Castle Pointe. Heating Controls were not working well. Needed to switch between keeping window open and turning on the heat to maintain climate control. Hotel ran out of hot water. Never experienced this at at any hotel before, "definitely not a resort". Had to get my own towels and bath amenities at the front desk, because of lack of staffing. This was an old Clarion Hotel turned into a "Resort". The problem is that it does not provide service of a resort, except for the price. Completely disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NPA1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
0 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
4.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
280 reviews
16.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
14.8 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
348 reviews
17.7 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Resort And Spa

Address: 2910 State Route 103, Junction Routes 103 & 131, Cavendish, VT 05142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range: $224 - $797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hill Resort And Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance are the words best used to describe Castle Hill Resort and Spa in Ludlow, Vermont. Located in the lush Green Mountains, the resort is a member of the prestigious “Small Luxury Hotels of the World” and listed on National Register of Historic Places.The full-service Castle Hill Resort and Spa features a unique collection of 10 Castle rooms, which exude timeless elegance and luxury. Each room has its own layout, architectural elements, and character, and is warmly decorated and furnished with period pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Castle Hill Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Resort And Hotel Cavendish
Castle Hill Hotel
Castle Hill Resort And Spa Vermont/Cavendish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing