We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Eh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. I booked using a groupon deal. If I paid full price I would have been very disappointed. The deal came with a voucher for dinner in the castle which was very expensive but very very good. It is a very elegant and intimate place to eat... The pointe is very close to okemo which made it very easy to get to the mountain in the morning. The side doors do not lock, though it does seem like a safe area I still would have preferred if the doors has locked so not just anyone could walk right in. The beds were so uncomfortable and the pillows were awful! The pool is nice, clean. Over all the hotel is nothing to rave about. I would not pay full price to stay there. Would consider returning only if it were for a discounted rate.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank BMCBNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    144
    79
    21
    19
See reviews for
105
207
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell. MA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Check-in was painless, desk staff made it a point to tell us about the Castle and dining options. We had an even numbered room that faced the road, with a fair amount of road noise as a result. Sonic insulation was not great - when people were coming and going during the day we heard everything, though people were quiet at night. Bed pillows were a surprise - tiny things that one has to use both of to make a regular bed pillow. Room was very clean, coffee maker worked fine in the morning. We had the "full breakfast buffet" at $11.95 per person - scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes. Food tasted OK but was lukewarm at best, but again the staff was friendly.

I agree with Brian H's review - the property bills itself as a resort based on the castle up the hill, I would consider this hotel on part with a Holiday Inn or Ramada - basic, dependable, clean, but nothing special. At $250 discounted for one night, seemed a little pricey.

Room Tip: Get an even numbered room that doesn't face the road, or a room in the back wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WinterVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Love the place for our ski trip to OKEMO..CLEAN ROOM close to the mountain but for the internet it's not very efficient to say the least,slow..very slow..very very slow..impossible to stream
films.HOPE THAT IN THE FUTUR Pointe Castle wifi access will joint the 21 century.

DIANE & Phil returning customer for years.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louphil9980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephentown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We lost our camera while we where there this weekend. They found it and are sending it back to us. There is nothing more important than feeling like your belongings are safe when you stay away from home. Also, the rooms were kept very clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Slightly better than average hotel. Our room was fine, though not a bargain given the nightly rate. The hot tub was a big disappointment. Small (8 person capacity), given the size of the hotel, it can get crowded, especially with noisy kids. And on two nights out of four the water was lukewarm due to malfunctioning controls and inadequate maintenance. On one occasion I had to visit the front desk twice to get someone to come and reset the system and still the water temperature did not come up significantly 20 minutes later. The restaurant, a short drive (or hike) up the hill, is quite nice (we had live piano music) and has good food and excellent service but is expensive (we had a coupon which helped offset the cost a bit) but there are better choices (value wise) in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rxk2rxk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our trip over President's day weekend started off rough:
1. No heat
2. No water
3. Once water was turned on there was a leak
4. found a pair of someone's dirty underwear under the chair in the room!

Overall, the resort relies on the images of the beautiful castle up the hill to sell their overpriced motel rooms down below. There is a $15 (daily) charge to use the gym and nicer pool and hot tub. There seems to be a lack of attention to the motel rooms and it shows...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The suites at The Pointe are great for families with a fully functional kitchen as well as laundry machines in the suite. Staying with children here is easily accommodated with the arcade and pool. Extra closet space for ski equipment also a great help. Perfect for a ski stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tbeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
4.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
2.6 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
0.0 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort

Property: The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Address: 2940 Route 103, Cavendish, VT 05142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the natural beauty of the Green Mountains in southern Vermont, and just a short distance from Okemo Mountain, the contemporary and family-friendly The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort and Spa, offers one of Vermont’s most picturesque yet intimate settings for a family vacation, meeting, conference, or ski getaway.With a choice of recently renovated, comfortable and spacious accommodations — rooms with queen or king beds, extra-large family rooms, or family suites — all of our guests at The Pointe Hotel will enjoy the modern conveniences and wide variety of amenities we offer, including flat-screen TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, and bathrooms with complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe, a Castle Hill Resort Hotel Cavendish
Pointe At Castle Hill Hotel
Clarion Cavendish
The Pointe At Castle Hill Resort Vermont/Cavendish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing