We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel. We stayed here mainly because the room had a king bed with bunk beds. They have a pool so it seemed like the logical solution for an overnight stay until our condo on the mountain was available.

Like many others have said on this site, the rooms are ok and the walls are very thin. I will say that the addition of a kureg was pretty nice. The free coffee in the lobby was not very good but it's free. We skipped the breakfast but it seemed to be reasonably priced. There is a game room which occupied my kids for a while. The pool is on the small side and since the hotel was packed we skipped it.

In all the price was "fair" and the hotel served its purpose but I would likely not stay there again. Its too far from Okemo for me and the options on the mountain are similar in price to this hotel. Our 3 bedroom condo was actually cheaper on a per night basis and that was ski in/out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Univax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 431 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

The price definitely is the tipping point here. Close enough to the mountain, comfortable enough accommodations, with full kitchen and washer-dryer (which I didn't realize was there until it was too late).

Unfortunately the pull out couch mattress in our suite was not something my 16-year-old could sleep on, but was ok when we moved it to the floor. The first day housekeeping made the bed, but not the second day. Guess they figured it was too much trouble.

We did not eat at all at the hotel, remembering an awful breakfast the previous year. But the kitchen was well stocked and we made our own breakfast. We bring our own coffee, but didn't realize we needed a filter too. We improvised with paper towels, but filter is better, if available. They provide coffee prepackaged in a filter but we couldn't figure the strength ratio of water to coffee. It's one of those things we are picky about.

Heating system is unrelentingly noisy, so we ended up turning it off at night, which was fine for us, as we prefer to sleep in a cool room. If you need it on, just tune it out.

Hot tub was crowded but comfortable. Chlorine from the pool permeates the first floor, but didn't bother us much. I didn't go into the pool though, put off by the intense smell.

We'll be back, because it's still the best deal in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

First, this review is the Pointe Resort, not the Castle Hill or the resorts homes (which are part of the hotel complex). The biggest problem is the noise. The room door in slam when they close and mean SLAM not normal hotel door slam. walls also thin too. makes it impossible to sleep, especially in the morning. Bathrooms not very nice. Place needs an update. I would not stay here again.

We ate at the restaurant at Castle Hill. That was nice and not too stuffy, although it looks a bit stuffy. Didn't try the breakfast at the Pointe since it looked bad and over priced.

Place advertises a game room and fitness center. Fitness center is very disappointing. One bad treadmill and not a lot of other stuff. game room is a joke. pool table that costs money and some video games.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I have been going to this hotel for almost 20 years and have had varying experiences. We went midweek the first week of February for the $99 per person ski and stay special (2 night min). Keep in mind mid week tickets at Okemo are $80 so this is good value. We were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel completely renovated- new carpeting/ furniture/ paint. The rooms are very large with good sound proofing. Bathroom had new shower/tub, toilet and marble top sink. Even the hallways had new carpeting and somehow the chlorine smell from the indoor swimming has been eliminated from the hallways. Nice TV, large couch, large upholstered chair, breakfast table with refridgerator in room. Everything clean. Staff pleasant. Excellent experience.

Room Tip: Most rooms are huge - many with two kings - you can ask for a room with one bed and then you get lar...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selake92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from a very satisfactory stay at a very reasonable price - $188/night which included 2 lift tickets at Okemo which is a quick 5-7 minute drive. We have stayed here almost every year for 20 yrs w/ another couple - w/ our respective children for many yrs and now as two couples who travel and ski together. The property has had its ups and downs but this recent stay was wonderful. The rooms have been recently renovated and our king room w/ pull out sofa was spacious. The small in room fridge is convenient for cheese, wine etc. Although some are enthralled w/ in-room Keurig coffee makers, I find the coffee a mere step above instant but there is a large coffee pot in the lobby each morning for guests. The lobby has a huge fireplace that is lit each afternoon and is a nice space to enjoy a beverage. We had plenty of bath towels and complimentary shampoo/conditioner/bath gel refreshed daily. An error was made by the receptionist when our friends booked and they were place in a suite w/ full kitchen/dining table, laundry facilities, jetted tub and gas fireplace for the same price - we had room envy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is located just outside of Ludlow and is convenient to Okemo Mountain for skiing. The staff was polite, professional and helpful. The lobby’s lounge area with fireplace made for a nice place to relax. Our room, however, was decorated in dark and bland colors that made it feel quite drab. The bathroom was small and lacking enough towel racks and hooks. The workout room at the hotel was small with no windows or TV. My husband enjoyed using the pool and hot tub. We both got massages at the spa that we enjoyed very much. The workout room in the spa building was well appointed though kept quite chilly. The spa building is located about 250 yards from the hotel which isn’t convenient – especially in the winter. Not sure we would return unless the rate was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We rented a one bedroom suite at The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort over New Year's week. We were extremely pleased with the accomodations and the staff. Our one bedroom suite was clean, well appointed, and spacious. We had a king bedroom and two pull out couches in the living room, a large bathroom, washer and dryer, and full kitchen. The Pointe provides daily housekeeping. There is a small workout room, a pool, and a hot tub. We did not eat at the restaurant within the hotel. The staff made excellent recommendations for local dining and shopping. The hotel is a short, 10 minute drive to Okemo ski hill.
The room rate was very reasonable. We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momofsamiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
4.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
270 reviews
16.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
424 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
13.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
289 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort

Address: 2940 Route 103, Cavendish, VT 05142
Location: United States > Vermont > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range: $161 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the natural beauty of the Green Mountains in southern Vermont, and just a short distance from Okemo Mountain, the contemporary and family-friendly The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort and Spa, offers one of Vermont’s most picturesque yet intimate settings for a family vacation, meeting, conference, or ski getaway.With a choice of recently renovated, comfortable and spacious accommodations — rooms with queen or king beds, extra-large family rooms, or family suites — all of our guests at The Pointe Hotel will enjoy the modern conveniences and wide variety of amenities we offer, including flat-screen TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, and bathrooms with complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe, a Castle Hill Resort Hotel Cavendish
Pointe At Castle Hill Hotel
Clarion Cavendish
The Pointe At Castle Hill Resort Vermont/Cavendish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing