We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay for skiers at Okemo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay for skiers at Okemo”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We rented a one bedroom suite at The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort over New Year's week. We were extremely pleased with the accomodations and the staff. Our one bedroom suite was clean, well appointed, and spacious. We had a king bedroom and two pull out couches in the living room, a large bathroom, washer and dryer, and full kitchen. The Pointe provides daily housekeeping. There is a small workout room, a pool, and a hot tub. We did not eat at the restaurant within the hotel. The staff made excellent recommendations for local dining and shopping. The hotel is a short, 10 minute drive to Okemo ski hill.
The room rate was very reasonable. We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momofsamiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    150
    80
    22
    19
See reviews for
110
221
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we stayed here for the second year in a row. We booked the one bedroom suite - the den has a queen sleep sofa and a chair (single) sleep sofa, which eliminated the need for a roll away bed since my 9 and 7 year old cannot sleep in the same bed without fighting. The single bed was new from last year; it replaced a cabinet, so a nice swap.

First two days, when returned from skiing, housekeeping had been there, done bang up good job. Day three, very crappy job, crumbs everywhere still, etc., but we let it slide as a one off. However, upon returning on day 4, at 5 pm, and finding place "cleaned" but worse than the last day, we called the desk and complained, and asked the manager to show up. She came up with the housekeeping manager, who said that she had just been told by the cleaning "girls" that they were done and she was on her way to check when we called. I asked who checked the work the day before; there was a strange silence and no answer. The manager acknowledged that the cleaning was unacceptable, and offered to get them back in. However, as we had been out since 730 am, we had no time to vacate the room.

the manager did come back and offer the four of us two free breakfasts for the last two days. I appreciated that - I expected something, and the offer was sufficient for our purposes.

The pool area is superchlorinated - probably a good thing based on the use, but i would never enter that pool. While I did enter the hot tub, it was essentially a kiddy pool (based on both the temperature, not too hot, and the amount of kids in it). It would be nice to move the temperature up to regular hot tub levels and prohibit/limit use by children (the hotter temperatures should do that on its own).

The "gym" is sad. Once 1970's station, which was out of order - one treadmill (acceptable), one elliptical (wife said it didnt work right) and one really old bike. Also, despite cable hook up, no tv in the room. Really need to update this room.

the location is great, about 4 miles from Jackson Gore and 2.5 from Okemo - right around the corner from the Vermont Apple Pie Factory (see my review!) and close to Sam's Steakhouse (havent tried it), Mr. Darcy's (loved it) and a little vermont country store with a smoker out front (couldnt time my trips to get smoked meat).

Our main issue is that we end up paying (over Christmas week) around 450 per night with tax here - I think next year, if we come up, we will price out a condo on the mountain - if its close, or even 50-100 more per night, the convenience of ski in/ski out might outweigh what is really a glorified motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuckinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I am at the Pointe right now.The slamming of doors is ridiculus. I never heard such a racket before. Why are they so loud at this place? Beware if you are bothered by noise.
I stayed at this hotel (definately no resort) 15 years ago right before it was a Clarion or it was a Clarion. Same basic layout, same tiny pool.
Midweek rate is $169 which is way overpriced.

Pros: Hotel is about 4 miles to okemo access road and downtown Ludlow.
Large rooms,plenty of parking. Wireless internet, Keurig coffee maker, plenty of bureau space.

Cons: noisy, noisy road, cold tiny pool, icy sidewalks not maintained, refrigerator doesn't work, internet weak, way overpriced.
It's very hard to find decent lodging in Ludlow that is budget friendly. If you must stay here priceline a room for half of what they are asking.
If you must spend $170 go to a nice Inn in the area and maybe you'll score free breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raineday33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was a very uncomfortable experience for us. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over New Year's while visiting family in the area.

We found our room to be very uncomfortable for several reasons. The decor and furnishings are quite tired and dull, in dire need of being updated. However, what was worse was the cleanliness factor. This just was not good. Surfaces of dressers and desks were sticky and stained. Toothpaste actually remained from the previous guest in the sink. There was a stale odor in the room. The climate control unit was a very old one that could not be well regulated and was noisy. The room was either too warm or too chilly. The TV was not one of the large screen ones that most hotels have now ( and I guess we have become accustomed to a larger screen) so that was not too pleasing. However, in the end it did not matter much as the channel selection was so minimal that we did not find much to watch (no HBO or any channels offering movies). Though the bathtub was fine and there was a hand grip very low down for a bather to use, the shower had no grip whatsoever and the tub/shower bottom was so slippery that I was afraid to enter it. I spoke with a manager regarding this and in spite of his being rather defensive on this issue, he did offer to provide us with a bath mat the very next day. I thanked him but we did not receive this mat until late on New Year's eve and did not get to use it until just before our check out.

The room was not cleaned well each day and they kept removing the second blanket from my bed so that I had to redo it each evening. They did not replace paper cups that we had used for the coffee maker as well as washcloths in the bathroom.

We had a 3 nite minimum stay at $299/nite and this did not include breakfast. Breakfast was $11.95/pp and, unfortunately, not very good. The worst part of that was the inability for the breakfast room staff to comprehend that my husband needed to be gluten free and could not eat items from the chafing dishes that had bread on the bottom to absorb grease (eggs, sausage and bacon). Though they could deliver to him a separate order, it turned out to be cooked on the same surface as their french toast, so he could not have that.

The indoor pool was small and many families use this, so I could never find a good time to get in and actually do a little swimming. They did have a hot tub, but also small, only 3 jets so you might not get any bubbles during your time in this tub.

We will definitely not ever stay there again.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is out third year in a row at the Pointe and perhaps our most disappointing. For the second year in a row, there is little/no hot water between 5-8pm during peak booking times. Clearly, they need to invest in a larger hot water tank. The breakfast is poor. Go to the Hatchery in town or Vermont Apple Pie for a much better offering and experience. It is perhaps the second best place to stay near Okemo (with the Jackson Gore Inn being the best, but double the price). The rooms need to be maintained better....carpeting is filthy, bathrooms dated, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a wonderfull stay here, clean and roomy.
I would ask for the back side of hotel as the front
is close to the road.The restauant is very good and
worth the higher then normal price, be carefull of the
drinks as they are over the top!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived at 2.45pm, just 15 mins before their "official" check-in time and were told that our room was not ready. I asked if there was another room ready as I we had travelled a long way (from the UK!). Receptionist immediately said "NO". It was obvious during our stay that they were not full.
It was clear that the receptionist regards guests as an inconvenience. Pity, because the room was fine. We stayed in lots better during our trip but I have no complaints about it. We will be returning to New England but will choose a different hotel in the same area, one where we are made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredandhappy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
4.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
271 reviews
16.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
414 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
13.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
288 reviews
14.8 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort

Property: The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Address: 2940 Route 103, Cavendish, VT 05142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the natural beauty of the Green Mountains in southern Vermont, and just a short distance from Okemo Mountain, the contemporary and family-friendly The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort and Spa, offers one of Vermont’s most picturesque yet intimate settings for a family vacation, meeting, conference, or ski getaway.With a choice of recently renovated, comfortable and spacious accommodations — rooms with queen or king beds, extra-large family rooms, or family suites — all of our guests at The Pointe Hotel will enjoy the modern conveniences and wide variety of amenities we offer, including flat-screen TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, and bathrooms with complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe, a Castle Hill Resort Hotel Cavendish
Pointe At Castle Hill Hotel
Clarion Cavendish
The Pointe At Castle Hill Resort Vermont/Cavendish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing