We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful house, in a quiet and quaint little town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fot Myers Florida
1 review
“A beautiful house, in a quiet and quaint little town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

We loved the area, the house, and the hosts. The rooms were spacious and lovely, breakfast was great everyday, and they were absolutely accommodating. We will definitely be back. Thanks for a memorable time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s2rstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
159
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ilion, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

We have stayed in many B&Bs, and Applewood Manor is our all time favorite. It's beautifully done in all the rooms, and the place is spotlessly clean. Ralph and Nancy gave us excellent advice on where to dine in the area, and their breakfasts were great. Plus, they can't do enough for you, without being intrusive. Location was very good - only 15 minutes from Rutland and 35 from Killington. Great value for the price, and we look forward to returning there again.

  • Liked — Hosts and Room comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rangerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

I love bed and breakfast inns. Applewood Manor is the perfect example of why. Nancy and Ralph did a fantastic job of restoring the home. The manor is a beautiful two story house set on a lovely spacious and well manicured piece of propery. Each room is tastefully decorated and has it's own character. The interesting history of the home is reflected throughout. Cozy and inviting sitting rooms are available for lounging on the comfortable couches and well stocked with a wide variety of books and movies. The porch area allows one to take in a view of the property and the lovely pool area. Paths are cleared along the river for a little senic hiking adventure. I even did a little flyfishing in it with Ralph. Samson, the big sweet golden retriever may accompany you! When I was there in June, I don't believe I left the property I was so content. There are numerous sightseeing opportunities and activities in the area.

Ralph prepares gourmet breakfasts with a lovely presentation. During my second stay in November, we enjoyed the fireplace in the dining room. Nancy and Ralph are beyond a shadow of doubt the most hospitable innkeepers I have ever met. I have never felt so welcome and well tended anywhere else. They are perfectly attentive and their company is an absolute pleasure. We remain friends and communicate often. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Liked — Decor, comfort and hospitality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travluvr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

We found Nancy and Ralph to be warm, friendly and terribly accommodating. We enjoyed the luxury of a large, beautifully decorated, comfortable room. The Manor was clean and comfortable, all we could have hoped for in a B&B. We also appreciated the grounds and the opportunity to get out and walk. The proximity of great, affordable dining was definitely a plus. Our breakfast was thoughtful and delicious. We hope to have the opportunity to return! Thanks Nancy and Ralph!

  • Liked — lovely house and property, excelent innkeepers
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gypsyCentralNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

We have just returned from Applewood Manor and already miss
this wonderful B&B. Nancy, Ralph, and of course Sampson & Sophie. Accomidations are fantastic, scenery is just gorgeous no matter what time of the year. Rooms are beautiful, beds very comfortable. Chef Ralph's breakfasts are to die for. Nancy and Ralph make you feel right at home and can not do enough to make your stay a wonderful memory. We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Beautiful
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WileyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2008

Wonderful stay but too short! Charming guest house ! extraordinary flavored rooms ! Friendly welcome ! Our english is unfortunately not so good to explain with the right words how nancy and ralph did all that they were able to do in order we enjoyed our stay. Oh ! I just forget to mention the marvellous breakfast cooked by Ralph! don't miss it !...

  • Liked — The inviting and available hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sylviane91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2008

We loved our stay with Nancy and Ralph. They have a beatiful home and it was great to be able to stay in a place that felt like being at home.

They are great hosts who are very friendly and welcoming. I hope one day we may pass that way again and stay with them.

We have stayed in many B&B's in England and during our vacation in New England and this must rate as one of the best.

We really was sad to leave as we enjoyed it so much

Marion and Ian

  • Liked — Nancy and Ralph being good hosts
  • Disliked — Not that we used the pool, but not that keen on dog using swimming pool for hydratherapy. In the summer this would have been a pity
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
10.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
15.8 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 319 North Rd, Castleton, VT 05735-9485
Location: United States > Vermont > Castleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applewood Manor is a national award-winning B&B. Situated in picturesque Castleton and convenient to Killington and other Central Vermont attractions, Applewood Manor is renowned for its comfortable elegance, excellent hospitality, and rich history dating back to the 1780's. Original brick and marble fireplaces grace the public rooms, and each of the five guest bedrooms has a private bathroom, deluxe mattresses, and nicely-appointed furnishings. In summer, the porch, patio & swimming pool are pleasant places to relax The 33-acre property offers woodland walks, snowshoe trail, and a river for trout-fishing. The area presents spectacular scenery; a wealth of activities including hiking, fishing, golfing, skiing, snowmobiling; fabulous shopping; and unique historical places of interest. Applewood Manor makes a great home base for exploring Vermont or just enjoying a getaway. You can get there by car, Cape Air from Boston, or Amtrak’s Ethan Allen express from NYC which stops at the beautifully-renovated Castleton station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing