We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond B&B!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Applewood Manor B&B was our first night's stay on our fall foliage trip, and Nancy made us feel like royalty! After a long and late train ride into Vermont from New York City, Nancy was there with her welcoming smile, waiting at the train station to pick us up, and then she even helped carry my way-overpacked luggage upstairs to our comfy, cozy room! We had the best night's sleep ever in the most soft and luxurious sheets we have ever slept in! Because of our late arrival, she and Ralph let us sleep in by offering us the later breakfast, which was so delicious. Thank you for making our trip so special!
Nancy & Glenn Brown

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasshopper2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
161
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent three nights in this very cozy and well kept bed-and-breakfast. Nancy was a perfect hostess, serving us on the three mornings three different breakfasts beautifully served and very tasty. The rooms are comfortable and last but not least the surroundings at this time of the year (foliage season) stunning.

We can only recommend this bed-and-breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochav-YAIR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our experience was great. Nancy and the parrot welcomed us. The room was beautiful and we felt like queen and king. Its a pity we stayed only one night. The breakfast was delicious (thank you Ralf). Thanks for a perfect stay, Dalia and Shimon, Israel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent service. Friendly patrons. Beautiful area. Go east from Castleton for trees and hikes. Even with wet weather, our tour was delightful. And since this part needs to be 200 characters I'll wander.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbkc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the smallest room , but it was magnificent !! Nancy was so social ! We got to meet Maggie the Macau !! Love this place!! Definitely going to return! Fall foliage was great. I got to visit former students who attend Castleton College!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Wamogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a perfect stay here. The only problem was that we could only stay one night! We've experienced many a B&B through the years, here and abroad, and they don't get any better than this. We also appreciated the referral to a terrific local restaurant. Thanks Nancy and Ralph.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AixTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Applewood Manor is a charming historic colonial home located in the village of Castleton VT. We have always found it to be invitingly comfortable. At all times the innkeepers Ralph and Nancy make you feel welcome. Every morning they serve a breakfast that is something to look forward to. In addition this beautiful B & B always seems to attract guests who enhance the inn experience with interesting conversation. We give Applewood Manor our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSE_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
11.0 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
10.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
12.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Rutland
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 319 North Rd, Castleton, VT 05735-9485
Location: United States > Vermont > Castleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applewood Manor is a national award-winning B&B. Situated in picturesque Castleton and convenient to Killington and other Central Vermont attractions, Applewood Manor is renowned for its comfortable elegance, excellent hospitality, and rich history dating back to the 1780's. Original brick and marble fireplaces grace the public rooms, and each of the five guest bedrooms has a private bathroom, deluxe mattresses, and nicely-appointed furnishings. In summer, the porch, patio & swimming pool are pleasant places to relax The 33-acre property offers woodland walks, snowshoe trail, and a river for trout-fishing. The area presents spectacular scenery; a wealth of activities including hiking, fishing, golfing, skiing, snowmobiling; fabulous shopping; and unique historical places of interest. Applewood Manor makes a great home base for exploring Vermont or just enjoying a getaway. You can get there by car, Cape Air from Boston, or Amtrak’s Ethan Allen express from NYC which stops at the beautifully-renovated Castleton station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing