We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College Visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Applewood Manor for one night while our son was visiting Castleton College. Great room, wonderful breakfast and a great hostess. Didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 341 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were looking for a nice, relaxing place to stay a few days a week during my husband's busy tax season. We found more than we ever bargained for in the Applewood Manor. Nancy and Ralph made us feel at home from the first day we met them. The Manor is charming, comfortable and tranquil. Imaging sleeping in a soft comfortable bed, then being greeted for breakfast by the fireside, with soft music playing in the background, and a delicious fare of blueberry pancakes, sausage and fresh fruit. That's the Apple Wood Manor. For once we will be sad for tax season to end, well, at least I'll be. Looking forward to making this an annual tradition. Jim and Scout

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scout11258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Peaceful and charming. Unbelievably hospitable innkeepers. We've stayed at Applewood three times already - its our first choice for our annual trips to Vermont, whether summer, fall or winter. We've loved the place so much that the last two times we stayed, we booked the entire house and made it a couples ski retreat with a bunch of our friends. I give Ralph and Nancy my highest recommendation...

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asadh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Applewood B&B in Castleton is the perfect getaway! It is just seconds from the college and "downtown" Castleton, as well as only minutes from Rutland and Killington. Our hostess, Nancy, was a dream come true. So kind, compassionate, accommodating, and just plain nice! We stayed in the HANNAH Room - a wonderful room with ensuite bathroom, king sized, canopied bed, wonderful furnishings and comfortable environment. The facilities were grand; the house was incredible.

Breakfast was incredible. Ralph stayed in the kitchen and prepared the most delicious blueberry pancakes. The coffee was fresh and hot and delicious.

We are looking forward to another visit very soon. KUDOS to Ralph and Nancy for being such wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Nancy and Ralph are wonderful. Breakfast was delicious and the house is absolutely beautiful. Afternoon tea made my day :) Would highly recommend Applewood Manor to anyone. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitzan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife and I stay at Applewood anytime we visit our son at Castleton State College. The location and the accomodations are five star!
We look forward to each and every visit!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stayed at Applewood over Thanksgiving weekend to visit family. I am a retruning visitor - I love the place. The rooms are lovely, and so comfortable. I had aluxurious bathroom. The decor of the whole house is perfect in all the deatils The hosts Nancy and Ralph are most gracious, warm and hospitable. I was offered tea and chocolates in one of the two llovely sitting rooms. I have been there during the summer as well, and I think it is great in all seasons.

Room Tip: I have stayed in Noah's room which is loveley, is on the second floor and has a very large bathr...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
10.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 12 in Rutland
28 reviews
10.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
10.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Rutland
254 reviews
11.0 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 319 North Rd, Castleton, VT 05735-9485
Location: United States > Vermont > Castleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range: $85 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applewood Manor is a national award-winning B&B. Situated in picturesque Castleton and convenient to Killington and other Central Vermont attractions, Applewood Manor is renowned for its comfortable elegance, excellent hospitality, and rich history dating back to the 1780's. Original brick and marble fireplaces grace the public rooms, and each of the five guest bedrooms has a private bathroom, deluxe mattresses, and nicely-appointed furnishings. In summer, the porch, patio & swimming pool are pleasant places to relax The 33-acre property offers woodland walks, snowshoe trail, and a river for trout-fishing. The area presents spectacular scenery; a wealth of activities including hiking, fishing, golfing, skiing, snowmobiling; fabulous shopping; and unique historical places of interest. Applewood Manor makes a great home base for exploring Vermont or just enjoying a getaway. You can get there by car, Cape Air from Boston, or Amtrak’s Ethan Allen express from NYC which stops at the beautifully-renovated Castleton station. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing