We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice pizza”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Castleton Pizza Place & Deli
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Castleton
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
albany ny
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“nice pizza”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

we often stop for pizza for lunch and the pizza is always good.we see people eating this pizza at the Castleton concerts.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank maryfemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bomoseen, Vermont
1 review
“Thanks for nothing!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Pizza was dry! Served with half the crust gone. Only option was cheese or buffalo chicken and since there were three of us, two got cheese and one was stuck with buffalo chicken (more options please, its friday night!!). After attempting to swallow this concrete block, I brought the pizza back up to the counter and explained how dry it was and that we are not going to eat it. I showed the guy how dry it was and he just starred blankly at me. He did not offer a refund, and when I asked for one he was very rude and told me he doesn't do that. We left our pizza on the counter and will never return to this place again! Bad news travels much quicker than good news and this is a small town! Learn to treat your customers better and provide better product and you might actually have more than one other customer in your restaurant on a Friday Night!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalPatron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut,USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“blue cat restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a nice addition to the restaurants in Castleton- Small and intimate in the back of Castleton pizza, the Blue Cat is a real find!
Food was great and the menu had nice selections. Try the Mediterranean special if on the menu- it was a pasta dish that was soooooo delicious, my friend went to the kitchen and complemented the chef!! Really really good!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ffldbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“great place for a college town”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

stopped by here before delivering our daughter to the Governor's Institute at Castleton State College. It has all the pizza and sub selections that college kids would like, at very reasonable prices. Pizza slices were HUGE, but the price fit the size. Wraps were good as well. Got the Mexican wrap. I was a little nervous watching the obviously new worker making the wraps. But she did a fine job as she stared at her cheat sheet. One complaint is the garlic bread is bathed is some kind of mystery grease. Really quite awful, although I wonder how many kids like it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carefultraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Blue Cat, an unexpected treat”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

If you are looking for pizza, a sandwich, or a salad, then the Pizza Place is a great place to eat in or call ahead for pick-up. BUT, if you are looking for a dining experience in Castleton, then you need to walk through to the back of the deli to the Blue Cat. Here you will find a full menu of great appetizers (we love the calamari, stuffed mushroom caps and bourbon chicken wings) and yummy entrees. My husband's favorite is the lasagna and I usually go for the Blue Cat Burger which is covered with fried onions, bacon and cheddar cheese. The menu has something for everyone and Josh is a great chef. Our times here have been an unexpected treat and not anything that we were expecting in a small town. We have recommended the Blue Cat to friends and family and no one has been disappointed. Couple of pointers, the Blue Cat only serves wine and beer so if you are looking for a shot of Southern Comfort you will have to stop by the Castleton Village Store first. Also, the wait staff is made up of local college students, they are not professional waiters but make great Trival Pursuit partners (card are available at the bar).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scout11258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castleton Pizza Place & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Castleton Pizza Place & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing