We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best wines in Vermont” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boyden Valley Winery

Boyden Valley Winery
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Making Vermont Famous for Wine"Located in a restored 1875 carriage barn on our 4th generation family farm, the Boyden Valley Winery is steeped in the culture and agricultural heritage of Vermont's Green Mountains. From 8000 grapevines and 100 acres of maple trees we craft wines that feature only the finest locally grown fruit. The care with which we've nurtured the Boyden Farm for 100 years lends itself to traditional winemaking techniques, producing wines clean to the palate and balanced.We produce elegant, lively whites, and medium bodied reds full. Boyden Valley Winery is open year round and visitors are invited to come share our passion for making wine. Hours: Daily 10am - 6pm
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best wines in Vermont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I discovered Boyden Valley Winery many years ago. We strongly feel it has the best wines available in VT. If you like small, local winerys, this is the one.
Their ice and dessert wines are to die for.
Do not get me wong, there are many other fine, small winerys in VT but Boyden gets the most kudos.
We never fail to purchase at least a case per trip to the area!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    48
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Enjoyed the rustic look and feel of this place. We were able to see where/how they make their wines, liquors and ciders. We were also able to taste 7 different wines while we were here -- we recommend the Glogg!
Quaint, fun place to stop if you have the chance. I'll be ordering more of their products online!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Boyden Winery - call it lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Well worth a trip to the Burlington VT area... A lovely winery, beautiful both outside and inside at their tasting rooms... A great tasting deal - you get to choose ANY 7 samples out of 17 for $7.

They also offer a delicious local cheeses sampler plate with bread and salami, plus a glad of wine of your choice for only $19.95, and you keep the glass. We ended up splitting a single cheese plate for 2 women and just ordered an additional glass of wine. Very yummy and plentiful, call it lunch!

The Glogg is a must-try, along with their ice wines. Both the red and white Ice wines were lovely, very soft and round, along with the Gold Leaf, Cranberry and Cassis. So hard to choose, I bought each of them!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Found this picturesque winery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Friends & I were taking a drive during our ladies weekend and came upon Boyden Valley Winery. Try the wine tasting - $7 to sample 7 wines. Bought their Cranberry wine for my Thanksgiving dinner. Also enjoyed their cheese plate with a glass of wine - makes a great afternoon lunch with friends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Vermont Ice (maple cream liqueur)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

They offered a good variety of wines to choose from. I believe we sampled 7 wines for $7.00 which included the souvenir wine glass - very reasonable! The Vermont Ice (cream liqueurs) are very smooth and creamy & taste good over ice or in coffee for a delicious nightcap. Unfortunately, the tour was a bit of a let-down. Maybe a "heads-up" regarding the tight quarters and water everywhere would've helped. Also, there was scalding hot water flowing out of a tank to a floor drain without being shielded which could have potentially caused a serious injury. It may have been better just to see the video while tasting the wines. Overall, a good place for wine tasting - just skip the tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoydenValleyWinery, Manager at Boyden Valley Winery, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Sara. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the wine tasting and our cream liqueurs. I apologize that you were not properly warned before heading downstairs on the tour. We try to explain prior to taking a group downstairs that the tours is a brief 15 minute look into how we operate; that it is a small family-owned working winery, and the floors are wet when production is taking place. However, we do have some new staff members and I will be sure to review this with them thoroughly to make sure all guests are aware of what the free tour entails. We appreciate your feedback, both positive and negative, so we can embrace the opportunity to improve. We hope you will come back and visit us again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyden Valley Winery also viewed

 

Been to Boyden Valley Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing